We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Picture Perfect Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Picture Perfect Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I was always on the lookout for a non-hotel kind of a getaway. Having heard some good reviews about Hill Country, I decided to stay there for a few days. The experience was just awesome. What strikes you the moment you enter the resort, is the feeling of peace and tranquility. The gentle layout of the resort, the attention to detail, the beautifully manicured lawns and beautifully constructed cottages takes your breath away. An absolute oasis of peace.

My objective of a short trip is to rejuvenate, chill and be pampered by nature. All this was possible at the resort. Their Ayurvedic treatment is a balm for your battered body; the beautifully laid out resort gives you the feeling that you are overseeing acres and acres of lush gardens when you sit around the cottages or the main verandah - a clever and thoughtful touch by the owner and the abundance of trees, space to walk around the resort and the sheer joy in lolling about the fresh lawns does bring back magical childhood memories.

The service is warm and unobtrusive. The ambience elegant. The obvious love and care for the property by the owner is evident at every stage. The beauty of the resort was reinforced when i took a walk around town and saw some garish holiday hotels.

Hill Country looks new and imagine my surprise when I found that it was almost 15 years old.
The rooms were neat and clean.

Hill Country is definitely one of the places a person must visit atleast once. It is one of my favourite resorts and one, that I intend to visit many more times.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VijayChacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    128
    61
    14
    13
See reviews for
200
87
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

My husband and I and a bunch of our friends planned a quick getaway to Kodai and it turned out to be one of our most memorable vacations ever. The resort is tucked away from the touristy hustle of Kodai town and offers some of the best views from the rooms, which I must add did not wreak of any 'mossy' or 'wet' odours that you are generally greeted with at such hilly resorts. The staff was extremely friendly and efficient and all our requests were met promptly and adequately. The recreational facilities available at the resort make it possible for families and people travelling in groups to make evenings memorable after a trip around town. The landscape is impeccably maintained and makes for picturesque mini private gardens. The buffet spread was lavish and the food came tempered with 'homely' flavours and taste and we even commended the chef on this. Overall a very fulfilling and rejuvenating trip where everything exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MariaT210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai/Pitt/Hartford/Startford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

The resort is set in the outskirts of the Kodai town, so the ambience and the viewpoints are great from the resort, so one would be tempted on reaching the resort. The excitement turns into minor disappointment once the front desk finds out you are part of the Club Mahindra membership and allocates you to a corner apartment building with no great views and no real options. The resort has a lot of good neat rooms but that cant be allocated to CM members even if there is vacancy. The food is average and the karoke singing facility is decent. The play areas for kids and family is large and nice.

The spa with the massaging facilities is something to write about. But the views of the valleys can be got from the car trips to various places and the rooms for CM members are just average and not the class that we are typically used to. The staff in the kitchen are friendly and in the calming weather, even ordinary becomes extra-ordinary.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IndianSocrates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherene G, General Manager at Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
Thank you for feed back. We would like to inform you that we are a mixed resort, having a majority of our rooms on hotel basis. We have leased out 16 units to Mahindras for their timeshare guests, which also has their furniture in place. Hence it will be difficult to compare those rooms with our hotel wing. As far as view is concerned, there are two sides to the buildings giving two different views - one into the resort and one looking outside the resort, hence it depends on individual likes and dislikes on the different views. As for our guest we treat them with utmost curtousy, immaterial of where they come from- A guest is a guest and they are important to us, but we would like you to know that we have fixed units leased to Mahindras and we will not be able to shift accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Its scenic landscaping and the wonderful fragrance of nature definitely assaulted our senses. It was a beautiful getaway and definitely a more memorable one. The service was very good and we had a pleasant that was quiet comfortable and warm. The beautiful monsoon weather left the air moist with assorted fragrances of the gardenia outside and pictures of flowers carefully studded with dew droplets left images that serves as sweet nostalgia. The place was quiet and serene and well equipped for a nice holiday. Not far from the main city area, we were able to do our shopping and collect memorabilia.The ambiance at Kodai was enchanting to enter into but entering the resort held us spell bound. A must visit romantic place for all honeymooners.& a wonderful getaway for Families :)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredwin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

My friends and I stayed in this resort on the recommendation of another friend. Nestled in the hills, the resort can boast of an amazing view into the valley below which definitely is a beautiful sight when mist covers the hills. We were lucky to get the Executive cottage overlooking this wonderful view. The rooms were clean and the service was excellent. The staff are extremely warm and friendly and ready to cater to your every need. The food is very good and I could not find much fault with most of the dishes, however, it would be a stretch to compare it to gourmet quality and frankly, I dont think it should. The resort has a quaint charm, which adds to your overall sense of comfort when staying there. The experience as a whole is value for money. I dont think I would go to any other place when visiting Kodai again and would heartily recommend this one to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SonyKPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
4.2 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
4.5 km away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.3 km away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#14 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.6 km away
Great Trails Kodai By GRT Hotels
0.4 km away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal

Property: Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,797 - ₹ 17,373
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip and Yatra so you can book your Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing