We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 77 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Villa retreat seemed to have the best views in Kodai, it is right on Coakers Walk and as long as there is no mist you can see for miles. The staff were excellent, friendly and accommodating. We stayed in the cottage which I felt needed freshening up but as there were 3 of us it was very spacious. Bathroom was very clean and 24hr hot water. We saw the other rooms and the best were definitely the classic rooms (just too small for the 3 of us). I felt that even in low season the rooms were slightly overpriced though. The food was nice and if the weather is ok you can sit out and look out over the hills - beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ranjitarane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    331
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
471
513
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My husband, I and our daughter left Kodai a full week ago but the total experience of the place, especially of Villa Retreat is still fresth in our minds. We rented their family suite, which was luxury indeed as it was very spacious and felt almost like home because of the layout and the thoughtful furnishings.

Their hospitality is almost flawless, the Zohaib and Javed team aiming for perfection in whatever they do. They not only splendidly took care of all our usual routine needs, but also reacted without batting an eyelid to some of our unusual requests. For instance, to our utmost horror we discovered immediately upon arrival that our house key had to be despatched back to Delhi most urgently. Zohaib and Javed immediately took this job on, and we were really impressed to find that within an hour of our arrival the key had been sent to the courier and then duly delivered within 36 hours to Delhi! They also made sure that for sight seeing, and then the long drive back to Coimbatore airport, we got a driver who (as requested) did not overspeed or made us feel more mountain-sick than necessary!

There were a dozen such touches which we have not forgotten and which means that we will go back to Villa Retreat if and when we go back to Kodi. Of course, as promised on Trip Advisor, the view of the mountains from this hotel sit-out was most enchanting, and the upkeep of their rooms, the food, the service (both inside the rooms and outside)was excellent. The unexpected facility of a wi-fi connection available near their restaurant was an additional boon. But it was really the young, courteous, troubleshooting, unruffled Zohaib, and the pleasant, obliging, ubiquitous Javed who made this visit most comfortable and memorable.

Thank you, all, at Villa Retreat.

Room Tip: Family suite recommended for those who have children who does not want to go to bed early, as the si...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Meena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Visited kodaikanal the first time with my parents. Our room had a commanding south east view of the valley, just like what one sees from coakers walk. The sunrise, the raising fog, the rolling clouds, the clearing sky, the golden sunset and the night lights of the distant city in the plains ... All in one day, visible from the room / dining hall!!! Loved the nature hideout tucked away in the blue mountains, made even more memorable with the excellent service of Mr. Saravanan and his staff. In particular Satish was always ready to make our stay more comfortable by his attention to our needs. The rooms were immaculate and there was significant attention to all details by the hotel management (Javed and Zoheb). Will never stay anywhere else in kodaikanal.

Villa Retreat will no doubt be the only place I will consider staying in kodaikanal, when I return. I hope theycontinue to maintain.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kailash K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I travelled their last year but till now my memories are still fresh....situated in a very good location.
Food was very good just homely.I loved the parathas.Service is very nice.We used to have breakfast in the lawn with an awesome view and chilled wind.
Since the location is near Coaker's walk we used to go every evening.Rooms were very nice spacious and comfortable.With a nice balcony view our stay was really relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosey_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I went to Villa Retreat this May for my honeymoon after hearing a lot about it from my family members and also from trip Advisor.
Waw!! Villa Retreat is a great place to stay at Kodaikanal. Wonderful and calm place even during the peak summer season. Javed and his team were very great in taking care of all the guests. Every day was a new and pleasant day for us. It is a very safe place to stay.
Even Kodaikanal sight seeing was arranged and it was safe and a nice memorable one.
Food was awesome and we never went out for breakfast,lunch and dinner. Food was ready everytime within 20 mins and served at doorstep. I have seen reviews in TA about Villa retreat. They all are true and I strongly recommend it to everyone.
Only complaint is about the insects that enter the room some how at night. There needs to be some measure taken to control it.
I will visit Villa Retreat next year for my anniversary.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mahesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.1 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 77 in Kodaikanal
660 reviews
1.5 km away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.6 km away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 77 in Kodaikanal
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 77 in Kodaikanal
528 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#4 of 77 in Kodaikanal
392 reviews
4.3 km away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Property: Villa Retreat
Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,225 - ₹ 8,836
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Retreat Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing