We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilly's Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Karanja,Maharashtra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A beautiful resort”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This resort is located in a beautiful setting in Kodai. Even though it is only 1.5 km from the town center, it seems to be virtually inside a forest. It is laid out very well and appears to be lovingly maintained. The cottages are old-fashioned and not very posh, but they are nonetheless very comfortable.

The service is excellent - in particular Mr Ruban. He allowed us a quick refund of a part amount, when we had to curtail our stay short by a day due to "Bharat Bandh". The hotel provides good reading material also - which is quite unusual.

To sum up, do stay there! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PradeepTA60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    208
    32
    11
    11
See reviews for
266
248
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

Pleasant stay = Lilly valley resort. Flora & fauna are simply awesomee... Worth for money paid. Everyone here are so helpful and wonderfully assistive. If you want to stay in kodaikanal you should stay in this resort . As a couple we had a nice time ..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leojairaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I and my family had spends 4 nights at lilly valley resort in the month of may. I should say i am completely satisfied with the type of services offered by the staff. They had arranged for any mid night pickup for my family from Kodai Station which left me totally impressed with the hospitality shown by the courteous management.
All the arrangements for tours, food were very prompt. One memorable experience was the staff was able to arrange for a bonfire for us at a very short notice.

In short one of the best place to spend your holiday amidst nature.


Anil DSouza

Room Tip: We had booked a old bungalow in which my entire family was accomodated...great service....great hosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil_Dsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed here as a couple for two nights and the experience was very good. Right from the pickup to reach the place as it z lil far from the city centre to taking care of minor issues..we had a splendid time..Would love to be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vidya_Sreeram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I recently stayed at Lilly's Valley resort from 24th May until 26th May.....and it was a very memorable experience, that left me and my family happy and rejuvenated. Said to be the oldest resort in Kodaikanal, Lilly's Valley has a pleasant ambience and friendly staff.
As stated by some others, hot water is an issue for such a cold place, but the staff ensured that it is available for around 2 hours in the mornings and evenings respectively. Obviously, it is not possible spend a relaxed morning in bed and one has to be up and awake, and finshed with the bathroom before it is 9:00 AM. This can be a problem to those wanting to spend a relaxed morning in bed.
Breakfast is excellent....and the staff are among the friendliest that I have seen among several hotels that I have stayed in. This is applicable to all the staff - including the Kitchen staff.
While there were very minor issues...which are probably experienced in any hotel .....a call to the reception provided a solution almost immediately. I was impressed by the response.
A unique feature is the availability of several good books in the reception, for those wanting to spend some time reading. I have never seen this in any other hotel.
The resort is a little away from the town centre (about 1.5 km), but that makes the stay all the more peaceful and relaxed. The staff arrange travel services to the town and back ( and also for site seeing services) at rates that are lower than charged by others.
For me, importantly, we stayed as a family in one cottage, that gave us a feeling of home.
My special thanks to Reuben and Nagendra for making our stay so pleasant, and also to Inba who showed us Kodaikanal, without a frown or a complaint, irrespective of the time we took at each stop or location. Thanks also to the Kitchen supervisor and staff for the lovely food.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpadmanabhan58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.6 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
629 reviews
2.9 km away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
2.6 km away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
340 reviews
1.0 km away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#6 of 75 in Kodaikanal
639 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#14 of 75 in Kodaikanal
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly's Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly's Valley Resort

Property: Lilly's Valley Resort
Address: 17 / 178 Sivanadi Road, Kodaikanal 624 101, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,174 - ₹ 9,975
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilly’s Valley is a uniquely beautiful resort set amid terraced gardens on three acres of wooded land, ringed by towering eucalyptus trees. Its 21 traditional stone cottages are constructed in the colonial British style, with handcrafted woodwork details throughout. It is the rare resort with an eco-focus and no concrete structures: even the furniture is lovingly made by hand by talented craftsmen! Built in 1982, Lilly’s Valley was the first resort in Kodaikanal. Our stone-and-wood cottages, both free-standing and attached, can accommodate couples, small and large family groups, students, and corporate groups. We are located in a quiet suburban neighborhood exactly 2 km from the center of town and the lake. With a short taxi ride or 15-minute walk, you’ll be in the heart of shopping, boating, horse-riding, roller-skating and other tourist attractions. Our style is low-key and customized to you: you can order simple, tasty Western and South Indian dishes from the kitchen, and hold gatherings in the garden gazebo with your own music and programs. We’ll even arrange a cozy night bonfire! We have special rates for long-term stays of one week or more, up to a 50% discount. Discounts are also available for weekdays. Many repeat customers, both Indian and foreign, have been coming here for decades, drawn back by the beauty, peacefulness, and cozy cottages. One Italian child born in one of our cottages returned 25 years later with her husband to stay in the same cottage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, OYO Rooms, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Lilly's Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillys Valley Hotel
Lilly's Valley Resort Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing