We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,247)
Filter reviews
1,247 results
Traveller rating
923
249
49
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
923
249
49
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake view kodai lake magic show boat house place to stay excellent location the general manager table tennis breakfast and dinner indoor games prime location memorable stay buffet spread special thanks courteous staff hill station maintained property
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,247 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2022 via mobile

Keeping the hotel up to standards and offering service with a smile are accepted things for a property like Carlton... And they fulfilled it entirely.

But what makes it special is the support provided during testing times, which is where I will give Carlton the extra star.

We faced a personal loss just on the day we were initially supposed to arrive at Carlton a few months back. Jenefer from reservations was extremely empathetic and helped us with a complete refund considering the nature of the emergency.

I had no question that when we finally came to Kodai, we would only stay at the Carlton.

Our stay was absolutely perfect. The room was spacious and the rollout sofa cum bed for the third person was as comfortable as the king-size, which is not the case in many places.

Carlton wins the location lottery big-time. This was a partly working vacation and it was very de-stressing to work while taking in uninterrupted views of Kodai lake, both from the room balcony and from the two levels of lawns.

The hearth and the dark, earthy tones of the lobby make for a very old world charm while the rooms are light and airy.

There are plenty of indoor and outdoor games, including cycles to ride around the lake. They do have a dedicated boat house, but it's currently non functional.

We had a breakfast + dinner package and every meal was delicious with local delicacies supplementing conventional favourites. There's tea/coffee and biscuits in the evenings, to be savoured at the upper lawns. Also some evening activities, in case you don't feel like stepping out.

Special shout-out to Kanmani, Simson, Safi, and Neelavati, and of course, kudos to the team as a whole. We will be back.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rohan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkumar Raman, General Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Rohan

Greetings from The Carlton, Kodaikanal!

We were privileged to have you and your family staying with us at The Carlton and we are glad to note that you had a perfect stay with us.

We thank you for taking time off to share your compliments on the Hotel, ambiance Location, Charm of the Lobby, View, Spacious Rooms, Warmth, Quality of food, Courteous staff, Service Standards, Indoor games, cycling around the lake and the Hospitality extended by my entire team.

We shall have our boats including Shikara operational soon.

We greatly appreciate you for recognizing Ms. Jennifer, Ms. Kanmani, Mr.Simson, Mr.Safi, Ms. Neelavati and my entire team for the exceptional services.

While we thank you again for your stay with us, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future and assuring you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards

Dr Rajkumar Raman, CHA
Vice President
The Carlton
Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2022

Excellent stay. Very courteous staff and an excellent service. Excellent rooms. Excellent events conducted by Anand daily in the evening. Overall me and family enjoyed the most at Carlton Kodaikanal...

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sankartrip1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkumar Raman, General Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Shankar

Greetings from The Carlton, Kodaikanal!

We were privileged to have you and your family staying with us at The Carlton and we are glad to note that you have enjoyed the most and had an excellent stay at The Carlton.

We thank you for taking time off to share your compliments on the Hotel, ambiance Location, View, Rooms, Events, Courteous staff, Service Standards and the Hospitality extended by my entire team.

While we thank you again for your stay with us, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future and assuring you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards

Dr Rajkumar Raman, CHA
Vice President
The Carlton
Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2022

We were at this paradise on earth from 17/5/22 to 20/5/22 - 3N4D .
Beauty of Nature and its design can be very well seen in pictures ,on website .What me and my family would like to share as a part of memorable trip is their Human resource wealth .
Each and every team member makes a classic symbol of hospitality .Right from security who greets you at the main gate to Reception team , Restaurant Captain and his team , Room service team ,House keeping team,Gift shop lady , Travel Desk Gentleman - every one was passionate about service with smile straight from heart . Everyone wore masks too !
Truly happy with ambience , facilities , choice of menu , buffet spread ( Breakfast and dinner that was a part of package ) , spacious rooms ( we were in super Deluxe room with lake facing large size balcony on first floor ) ,huge area for enjoying nature and beautification around .
Everything - cycling track ( cycles are complimentary from Hotel ) ,walking track around the lake ,Shops with local specialities , Pay and park are easily accessible.
We decided to be just there enjoying intermediate rain, fog ,cool breeze and projection of IPL matches on full screen .
Worth every penny spent !

Room tip: Super Deluxe rooms with large balcony is best, cottages felt quite isolated , rooms in the basement have closest access to Carlton Club .
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 490anmolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkumar Raman, General Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sir

Greetings from The Carlton, Kodaikanal!

We were privileged to have you and your family staying with us at The Carlton and we are glad to note that you had a memorable stay with us.

We thank you for taking time off to share your compliments on the Hotel, ambiance Location, View, Spacious Rooms, Warmth, Quality of food, Choice of menu, Courteous staff, Service Standards and the Hospitality extended by my entire team.

We understand that you have enjoyed the different kinds of weather including rain, for, cool breeze , beaty of nature and watching IPL on full screen.

While we thank you again for your stay with us, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future

Assuring you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards

Dr Rajkumar Raman, CHA
Vice President
The Carlton
Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2022 via mobile

It was an awesome experience. Hospitality was simply superb and Hats off to the management for their excellent Hospitality and service. Hope the management continues their excellent work always without any lapses.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SENTHIL_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkumar Raman, General Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mr. Senthil

Greetings from The Carlton, Kodaikanal!

We were privileged to have you and your batchmates staying with us during the recent Annamalai Alumni Meet held at the Carlton and we are glad to note that you had an awesome experience at The Carlton.

It was indeed a great pleasure meeting you all after the pandemic and we cherished the best moments.

We thank you for taking time off to share your compliments on the Service Standards and the Hospitality extended by my entire team.

While we thank you again for your continued patronage, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future with your families

Assuring you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards

Dr Rajkumar Raman, CHA
Vice President
The Carlton
Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2022 via mobile

Excellent Stay with tasty Food.
Especially in buffet there is vide variety of choice to eat.
Very good Hospitality and well maintained clean rooms.
We felt that as if we are in our Home.
Beautiful location.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Nagalingam_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkumar Raman, General Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2022

Dear Mr. Nagalingam

Greetings from The Carlton, Kodaikanal!

We were privileged to have you and your batchmates staying with us during the recent Annamalai Alumni Meet held at the Carlton and we are glad to note that you had an excellent with us.

It was indeed a great pleasure meeting you all after the pandemic and we cherished the best moments.

We thank you for taking time off to share your compliments on the Hotel, Location, View, Spacious Rooms, Warmth, Quality of food, Courteous staff, Service Standards and the Hospitality extended by my entire team.

While we thank you again for your continued patronage, we sincerely look forward to your next visit in the near future with your families

Assuring you of our best services at all times

Warm Regards

Dr Rajkumar Raman, CHA
Vice President
The Carlton
Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews