We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Awesome experience"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fern Creek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fern Creek
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
coimbatore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Awesome experience"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Best accommodation, The resort truly stands up to all the reviews that had been posted. Best holidays we had and I would like to thank the Manager and the staff of the Fern creek for making our stay memorable. awesome view, Best hospitality the staffs are excellent, The food was good. we had experienced the swiss tent which was the unique moments of the trip. we had campfire in the night which was the best experience. Best place to spend the holidays.Our thanks to Michael and Team for making our trip truly special.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prabaharanCoimbatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    79
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
164
195
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

First of all I would like to thank the Managers and the staff of the Fern creek for making our stay memorable, inspite of an accident (my son fell and got three stiches). The manager went out of his way to help us and took us immidietly to the hospital and took care of eveything and made it very easy for us to cope with the situation.

The resort is well maintained and very beautiful. Perfect for couples as well as famileies. Not at all crowded as it has only seven tents.

The service is exceptional and the staff tries to fullfill all your requests.

The food was great. Overall stay was wonderful, I wished to stay more than two days.

Regards,
Quais Husain

Room Tip: Rooms near to restaurent will save the hike to the top
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuaisHusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

After reading numerous reviews in Trip advisor, we had zeroed in on Fern Creek to Celebrate our First Wedding Anniversary. The resort truly stands up to all the reviews that had been posted in this forum. The resort is one of its kind, and the term "Personal Service" is what this place all about.
The team that interacted with us - Michael (Manager) and the Chefs - Babu, Ajees and the go it all man - Gokul, all of them ensured that we had a truly fantastic and memorable wedding anniversary,
On the D-Day they had arranged a camp fire outside, and had decorated the dining room spectaculary with flowers, candle lights and Babu had baked us a special Caramelized Banana cake for the occassion, followed by a wonderful scrumptious barbecue menu.
The icing on the cake was the special decoration of our tent as well.
We had our share of the Tajs. Oberois, Meridiens, but what sets this place apart from them is the extremely dedicated staff and the personalized Service.

Talking about the food, we were given the option of customizing our menu as well.
Things that you shouldnt miss when you are at Fern Creek
a) Chef Babu's Continental and Italian Dishes - They are truly wonderful and among the best that we have had. Also his desserts are from another place especially the cakes. The Pasta that we had on the last day of our stay was very good.
b) Chef Ajees's Biriyani - The man knows his business and his biriyani tastes awesome.

All in all we are extremely pleased and happy with the stay @ Fern Creek.
Our thanks to Michael and Team for the way in which they make the guests feel truly special.

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 1 and it had a great ambiance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We (A group of 9 family members) happened to book The Fern Creek as a fall back option since our planned hotel in Kodaikanal was not able to confirm our booking for 1 out of the 3 nights. Having looked up The Fern Creek on tripadvisor,we decided to give it a go.Even before we had reached Kodaikanal, the hospitality of the place and people was evident from the fact that Michael the manager called me up and offered guidance for the route ensuring that we reached the resort without any problem.The moment we entered the property, we could not stop admiring the charming beauty of the place.From the location, to the setup, food and staff, everything was excellent and Oh so pleasing! It was our first experience of such an accommodation and I must say that it was worth every second we spent at The Fern Creek. The tents were spacious, clean and very well placed on the property in midst of lush greenery. A dedicated DTH connection was provided in each tent which provided for good relaxation...only if one wanted to give the immense nature a miss for a while. Each tent had it's own balcony where a hot cup of coffee could be enjoyed or just looking around and listening to the birds chirping and relaxing could be another option. The washrooms were also very well sized and were no less in facilities to a leading hotel. A Tea/Coffee electric kettle in each tent could be an added asset. The path leading to our tents was very well maintained and full of various kinds of plants and floral plantings. A bit of maintenance on the bridge leading upto the honeymoon suite could make it more safe and easy to access. Food, which is an integral part of any holiday was also a fulfilling experience at The Fern Creek. We had opted for all inclusive meal plan and I would say that it was a correct decision. While on our way to Kodaikanal, Michael called us and asked us about anything specific we wanted for lunch and he did cater to our request pretty well. The food was simple, the menu elaborate and chef's preparation was indeed delicious. Nothing on the menu disappointed us. The chef asked us to plan our own menu for dinner and breakfast and we got exactly that we had called for and again, everything was up to mark. Cannot end my review of The Fern Creek without speaking about the staff and their hospitality. It was impeccable and something to be applauded. The security guard, the chef, the housekeeping staff and of course Michael the manager, all of them were very polite, courteous and hospitable. Overall a Great place with amazing elements of nature and fit for all kind of travelers looking for one of a kind experience. Families and couples would find the place a must visit and enjoy to their heart's content. My sincere thanks to all staff at The Fern Creek for making our stay a memorable one. We all would love to visit this place again for sure!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuneetSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We ( Suresh & Anu ) spent almost 3 days in the resort, which was really awesome.This is the 1st time, we had experienced staying in swizz tent , which was the highlight of our trip.The room was so clean and neat, felt like heaven.The place was so calm and romantic too. The garden was maintained so lovely ,where we took multiple snaps for recapturing the moments in future. We would like to recommend this resort for family and friends to chill out from regular work.This is an absolute place for couples to start a fresh life. The food provided there was so delicious and mouth-watering meals, which tasted like home made, so credit goes to the chef ( Babu).
Thanks to Michel and Gokul for their excellent hospitality.Overall @ 'Fern Creek' we had a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Suresh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.4 km away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#6 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#3 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.3 km away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#8 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.2 km away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#7 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
4.2 km away
GRT Nature Trails - Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Creek? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Creek

Property: The Fern Creek
Address: Fern Hill Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#1 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,408 - ₹ 12,521
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched and raw, The Fern Creek is a haven for all who yearn for a break. The ambiance is comfortable and refreshing filled with the aroma of eucalyptus, lilies and pines. Designed for utmost privacy, our 7 Swiss luxury tented villas are spread across 1.5 acres of landscaped garden. The in-room amenities are equivalent to a 5 star resort. The property as a whole has plenty to offer to meet your expectations/moods; even more, our all inclusive packages will save you the effort of tying up the loose ends of a holiday. The Balinese spa run by Indonesian Nationals offers the best of international therapies. For the incurably romantic, or the terribly laid back or even the complete workaholic who needs a reason to celebrate – The Fern Creek offers something for each and everyone. The Fern Creek is a holiday waiting to be discovered. Always fresh, one with nature, come and enjoy the glory of life. Welcome to The Fern Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelGuru so you can book your The Fern Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fern Creek Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing