We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience; adjust your itinerary to fit in a stay!”
Review of Fort Begu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fort Begu
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience; adjust your itinerary to fit in a stay!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is not the place for anyone who wants merely to tick off a list of temples, palaces and museums. This is the place to enjoy total immersion in tranquillity, culture, history and hospitality.

We arrived at sunset and, on passing through the imposing fort gate, were immediately captivated by our first view of the inner fort and peacocks strutting through the courtyards.

The spacious suites are beautifully decorated and well appointed with impressive, fully-equipped bathrooms,

Excellent, personal service. The food is fabulous; invariably served by Mr Singh snr and Ajay themselves, and an impressive wine cellar (including some really classy Indian reds and whites).

Fort Begu is undergoing a careful, sympathetic and tasteful renovation and has great potential to be one of the truly grand heritage hotels. The difference here is the family touch. After three days we felt we had known everyone all our lives and were truly sad to leave.

There are enough sights in the immediate area to satisfy a traveller’s curiosity, though the neighbouring village of Begu is rather scruffy, and It’s close enough to Chittor to make a day trip to see the sights there. (as well as being a good stopover between Udaipur & Bundi.

Enough of my hyperbole; experience it for yourself!

Room Tip: They’re all brilliant: we were shown all the available rooms and given free choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MartinSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
86
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Of course the place is pure magic, the food is fabulous, the rooms (suites really) are huge and tastefully renovated, there are no other tourists miles around, but all this is almost beside the point.

The real difference is in the hosts, which I have to say was totally unexpected, and a wonderful surprise. I had looked up the place on travel advisor, looked at the pictures, it looked nice and romantic, which was the point since it was our honeymoon and we wanted a quiet halt after the bustle of Udaipur. I had no idea we would be welcomed by the wonderfully nice and attentive Rawat (ie Maharajha) of Begu and his son and that they would give us such a fascinating glimpse at India's troubled recent history.

Where else would you get the opportunity to talk to somebody who got crowned at 8, was ruling 18 forts and 500 villages, then got demoted by the Indian Government at the Independance, dispossed of most of its properties, got into politics, became in charge of agriculture in the district (which explains why the food is so good, all organic, grown on his own farm), moved out of his castle to thwart political opponents leaving it to crumble during 30 years, before moving back and turning in into a B&B in 2008-09.

His son, a Sharukh Khan look alike, who did business in Dehli before moving back to Begu to help his father, is showing you around like a friend, sharing with you all the stories and all their projects. The crumbling wing the will renovate, the stepwells they will turn into a coffee place, the ruined Summer Palace in the middle of a lake that they convert into another B&B, etc...

It is a romantic hotel, a top restaurant, a castle visit, a history lesson, a real estate project, all rolled into one. So overwhelming your head is spinning, but exhilarating.

Unlike anything else you would do in Rajhastan, India, or anywhere eles I have been for that matter. Go there before the word spreads. There are only 4 rooms.

I almost forgot: the price. Such a great value for a suite in a beautiful castle with all meals and activities included.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biot, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

At Fort Begu you're living in the Arabian Nights. 5 star comfort, 5 stunning romantic rooms, big beds, marble bathrooms. Our room in à turret had original Rajasthani mirror panels. No TV in the rooms but they're so romantic you won't want tyo watch CNN. Every where you look is another beautiful scene. Peacocks, especially in thé evenings. Food is great and every meal was served on a different stunning terrace or court yard. The Begu Family, Father and sons Maha and Ajay are perfect hosts: fun, charming and looked after us like treasured friends. The delightful Arjun is always there to help. He took us on a 2 hour village walk. this is a treat not to be missel. Arjun knows every one and we were greeted with smiles. The family's temples and ruined lake palace are fascinating. Visit the 11th century temples at Mahanal, with beautiful carvings (some erotic). Begu is 30 minutes from Chittorgarh with thé biggest fort in Asia and 2 hours from thé beautiful lake city of Udaipur. To really appreciate Fort Begu do what we did and spend at least 3 nights.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and all are different. Some have huge domes. All have their own private te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I am sharing my experience as an Indian traveler who has immense respect for the Rajputs of Mewar. Rawat Sawai Hari Singh was coronated at an early age of 8 due to circumstances. He has done well to retain this magnificent proper and given an opportunity to the current generation to have a glance at history. This visit reminded me of a period some 4 decades back when a similar attention was given to guests by my grandparents. I will only request Indian travelers to be aware of the fact that Rawat Sawai Hari Singhji is royal blood , He goes out of the way to take care of his guests but that in no way must be mistaken as a business gesture. That is his culture . If he confirms your reservation at the hotel , you will not be a client but a guest. This stay is not comparable to a hotel stay , it is on a different plane. If you are a keen student of Indian History , you will do well to visit Fort Begu This shall be an experience of a life time.. I went to stay here because I had pilgrimage in my mind and I have come back enlightened.

Room Tip: Talk to Kunwar Ajay Pratap . Tell him about yourself . He will be more than happy to guide you in ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pbirla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights, and were enchanted with Fort Begu. World travelers for close to 40 years, the time we spent here ranks as one of our peak travel experiences. If you are interested in stepping into a living history book, Ft Begu is for you. So far the Singhs have renovated 5 rooms with taste and sensitivity, modernizing with an eye to preserving the feel of the 400 year old palace inside a fort. Our room, with its white pillars, mirrored inlay frescoes and big comfortable bed, was delightful, although we did not spend much time there (by choice). Mr. Singh and his son Ajay are charming and thoughtful hosts who are delighted to spend time personally providing tours of the fort, nearby village and summer water palace, as well as an 11th c temple complex. This is a corner of rural Rajasthan untouched by mass tourism, where shopkeepers invite you into their homes and no children beg for pens or candies. The food is fantastic, mostly organic and based on secret family recipes artfully prepared by Mrs. Singh, with breakfast served in a different location to provide a special view each morning. Imagine being waited on at meals by a Maharajah..."let me find you a succulent morsel...!" Peacocks roam the extensive grounds,with its lovely gardens full of scented roses. The staff, headed by the delightful Arjun, is attentive and prompt to respond to any request, and escorted us up the steep stairs to our room every night.
Mind you, this is not a modern 5 star hotel, but the experiences we had here were so memorable that we still can't stop talking about it. If you want more than just another hotel, stay at least 2 nights in Fort Begu.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
16.2 km away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
39.1 km away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
126 reviews
43.6 km away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
41.4 km away
Hotel Kirti Plaza
Hotel Kirti Plaza
#5 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
30 reviews
41.5 km away
Hotel Meera
Hotel Meera
#7 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
54 reviews
23.3 km away
Castle Bijaipur
Castle Bijaipur
#1 of 34 in Chittaurgarh
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Begu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Begu

Property: Fort Begu
Address: Raj Mahal, Chittaurgarh 312023, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Chittaurgarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,305 - ₹ 15,145
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Fort Begu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Begu Rajasthan/Chittaurgarh, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing