We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of Paradise”
Review of The Padmini Haveli

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chittaurgarh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Padmini Haveli
Ranked #1 of 17 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A slice of Paradise”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Sudhir and Parvati welcome you as wonderful hosts in this small and delightful haveli - a homestay extraordinaire. I was fortunate to go there on my birthday and was treated with exceptional love and care. Parvati and her girls decorated my room with rose petals and flowers and candles and incense. They invited the village musicians to play. All in all a wonderful evening was held.
Sudhir was our guide for the fort and did a great job.. being a good story teller and really knowing his history - after all his family have lived there for generations.
I would have loved to have stayed longer and most certainly will go back.
This small establishment has been carefully designed and all with the welfare of the surrounding village in mind. I was asked politely not to give gifts to the village children so they did not start expecting it and get into begging..but rather to donate to the local school. They have more plans to support the village - and will be looking for volunteers soon to help them with education and other projects. Its a great place. You cannot go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazar_Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierGeneve, Propriétaire at The Padmini Haveli, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
dear Shazar

Thanks for your nice feedback , the objective of this place is that Guest feels at home . Sudhir and Parvati have to do their best so that you have a great experience . Your feedback is very encouraging . Each guest is a special guest . It need to remain so on the long term and i know the team will do its best every day . The citizen ship contribution of the haveli is part of the project and i hope that we will soon have good stories in that respect .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    61
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
62
123
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Fantastic haveli , I went there with my wife on 31st dec. 2011. I stayed there for 2 nights 3 three days! this haveli is located in village inside the fort and that is the most prime location, from there you can easily cover the main fort & treasure of temples and many of stunning palaces.

The rooms are lovely, cosy & different and they designed this haveli in a very beautiful manner. Keeping in mind the traditional Indian haveli, they have blended it with fresh ideas. People mistake it for a hotel but it’s actually a home stay with friendly host and they serve simply nice homemade food.

It’s was a great time which we spent with Sudhir ji & Parvaiti ji and other guests at the haveli.
Equally great was our trip to chittorgarh, we would like to visit again.

Thanks
Amit & Garima, New Delhi

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amits14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierGeneve, Propriétaire at The Padmini Haveli, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Amit , Garima
Thanks so much for your nice feedback , We do appreciate your nice comment on fact that it has to be ¨a home stay with friendly host ¨ . Sudhir and Parvati and the team are doing their best and they know that they will have to constantly improve both the rooms , the haveli and the service (we have new heater since you came and bicycle to visit the fort )
you are most welcome to come back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

It was such a relief to land in this haven after a very hectic week in Varanasi and Agra. We were the only guests in the haveli and were treated like kings and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent, definitely the best we had in all Rajasthan. Thumbs up to the rooftop terrace and the library.
The fort is worth the trip, as it is more laid back and relaxed than the rest of touristy Rajasthan.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulychrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Prime position in probably one of the most scenic places in Rajasthan. the service was great if a little to much at times, could of been the fact that we were only 1 of 2 rooms being used. with very little choice of food anywhere close by the Haveli, making the full board option inviting but we found the food to be well over priced at 800 rupees with only one curry, rice, dal, bread on offer, especially considering breakfast is already included in the price!
Rooms were cosy the heater was a great touch. western style bathroom immaculate! and the family was beautiful, there two children were adorable!
The most annoying thing was we asked for a standard room and was told only a deluxe was avaliable due to peak season, we still have the email to prove it!, but when we arrived we were the only guests in the guest house until late that night, we found this to be deceptive.
The Haveli is quite new and being so i think with time this will be a great place to stay but for how close you are to the sites you cant beat it for location

Room Tip: ask to look at both a standard and deluxe room on arrival and make your own choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chellefro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierGeneve, Owner at The Padmini Haveli, responded to this review, 30 January 2012
Thanks very much for your feedback . We always need to improve and we appreciate your feedback regarding the Food . It is a fact that there is not much alternative for diner in the fort . Therefore and after some other feedback we received we shall most probably include diner in the price of our bedroom for next year (as of this summer) . Actually we are very sorry for the bedroom reservation , we have only 4 bedrooms with 2 beds and 2 with 3 beds , actually the day you came we had a reservation for 2 bedrooms but the customers (despite formal bookings ) did not came without canceling the booking , this is the reason why you had this situation . This being said one of the key asset of this Haveli is that it has to be your home for the one or two nights that our customers will spent in the fort . We do not look for occupancy rates and we will always prefer to have fewer customers who may pay a bit more but benefit of the location and of the atmosphere of the Haveli . This is the reason why we will keep our rates at this level . In return Sudhir , Parvati and the staff will do their utmost to satisfy their guest . It is a bit more expensive but it is nice to be only 2 or 4 guest in this lovely place .At some dates it may be full but this is not the objective , and if a group of friends wants to take the full haveli then this is different . Your recommendation to make your own choice of room is the right one . Thanks again for your visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I had booked the hotel going by the reviews in tripadvisor. Honestly speaking it totally misleads ones idea towards the haveli. NOT AT ALL WORTH PAYING 2800/- A NIGHT..They should charge max 1800/- for the kind for facilities they provide.
Its in the fort complex, the approach to the haveli is pathetic. The car doesn't reach there, you have to leave your car maybe 500mtrs away from the guesthouse. You have to walk through the dirty roads surrounded with pigs, dogs, cow, cow-dung etc.etc. The pictures Camouflage the actual conditions..no flowers, lights..everywhere there are dim lights, when you enter you will feel as if you are entering into a shabby place. On top of it when you reach the haveli you do not get hot water to freshen up. The rooms are very small made of some black stones which do not give a tidy/clean look to the room. I have never seen any guesthouse with toilets having NO DOORS!!! Its totally unhygienic and uncomfortable!!!! We Reached by 7 pm and we had no option left other than to spend our night there. On top of it - They do not serve food (although veg) in rooms. In the bone-chilling cold of December you are forced to have your evening food outside. Totally inconvenient and uncomfortable stay.
Moreover when you advice or suggest they would not accept it....Hah! The only positive sign noticed was good food...Thats it - otherwise there are not other reason to hire this property. I really cant understand how people could write such comments. It is not for people who look for a comfortable stay after a day's tour. THINK TWICE BEFORE BOOKING THIS HAVELI!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olivierGeneve, Owner at The Padmini Haveli, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Dear Sir ,
We would like to thanks you for your feedback , it will help us to tune the service we want to deliver as well as the web site . We paid attention to each point of your feedback . We need to improve the indication to reach the haveli as you may definitely reach it by car within less than 50 meters (toyota innova can do it ) . THe haveli is located (as explained in the web site ) right in the center of the village , which has narrow street as most of the indian villages . Arriving in the haveli and passing by the ruins of the Ratan Singh Palace is anything but pathetics (as seen in the web site ) . We are sorry for the presence of animals in the streets but this part of life in india , and having worked 6 years in bangalore i may say that even there you may see some cows in front of the most modern buildings . You are absolutely right that we are lacking flowers inside the courtyard , and this is because after 2 years of intensive work very well done by the people of the village, we could just do the plantation before the last monsoon. Thanks to the heavy rains flowers have grown , and for sure in the coming years we will change the photos on the web site to show how flowers have grown. ROOMS :Yes rooms are not huge , you need to have in mind that this was on purpose in the architecture of these haveli , it keep warm in winter and thanks to the heater it the rooms it is easier to warm up . The presence of the stones of chittorgarh everywhere is an asset , and all the bathrooms are made of it (as it is shown in the web site ) . This is very unique , and our customers appreciate this authentic local material instead of having ceramic . We are sorry that you did not liked . We have curtains separating the bathroom from the bedroom , we appreciate your remark , as you are the first one to make the point on it . We will question any of our future customers during their stay and will work on the problem if it is one . With regards with how clean the rooms and bathroom are, if you had any issue please tell us as this is an absolute must , and the team is constantly paying attention to this point . Regarding Hot Water , we have installed a solar system from TATA , It takes quite some time to tune it , and we faced some problem , I am very sorry if you had issue with hot water , the engineer came last week it I was told this shall not happen . FOOD IN THE BEDROOM : We do not serve food in the bedroom , and the reason is simple , having done it in the recent past we have been extremely disappointed when we saw the day after what happened to the room . After all the work done by the team to revamp this nice haveli this has been extremely frustrating to see the lack of respect of some customers . This being said , this winter is effectively very chilled and we have a very nice library in which we have a heater as well as in the place where we serve diner we have a heater . Thanks for your feedback , and sorry if it has been cold outside . We need to improve the way we deal with this issue which is part of the life in Rajasthan , we reviewed it with Sudhir and Parvati and we brought answers that satisfy our guests . We are very sad that you did not appreciated the very unique location of this Haveli and its charming architecture , and the very nice family who got it back on track . I had an experience last week in an IBIS hotel for which I paid 7000 inr i had a very sad experience , this does not means that other customers may like . We need to make sure that the experience is in line with the expectation and we will continue to improve . Any INR that comes as a profit will be reinvest to constantly improve this lovely place that was about to fall in ruins when Sudhir and Parvati came with their project . It will not be a palace , it will remains a lovely and charming place in the middle of a nice indian village for guests who are looking for a real indian experience . Thanks again for your stay and your remarks it help us to progress .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
4.6 km away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
126 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Kirti Plaza
Hotel Kirti Plaza
#5 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
30 reviews
38.4 km away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.1 km away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
5.8 km away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
37 reviews
4.0 km away
Hotel Meera
Hotel Meera
#7 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Padmini Haveli? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Padmini Haveli

Property: The Padmini Haveli
Address: Near Anna Poorna Mata Temple Road | Village Fort Killa, Chittaurgarh 312001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,500 - ₹ 4,500
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in January 2011, the Padmini Haveli is a traditional house of Southern Rajasthan that was converted into a nine room guesthouse. Located in the centre of the old village of Chittor within the walls of the fort, it overlooks temples and palaces. From the roof terrace, you have sweeping views of the city and the Aravalli hills beyond the Mewar plain. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Padmini Haveli Rajasthan/Chittaurgarh, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing