We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely stay by the lake” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake View Paying Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bundi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lake View Paying Guest House
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bundi
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
208 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Lovely stay by the lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I stayed here after leaving another hotel that I wasn't very happy with. I took one of their garden rooms. It was basic but clean enough and you can't complain for the price (250 rupees). Hot water worked well. The owner and the family was nice and helpful. He was just a little pushy the following day to get me to leave the room since he knew I was only staying one night even thought I told him I would vacate it around 10 AM. The location is lovely and the terrace on the lake is perfect to chill. The restaurant has good and clean food and the puppies that their dog just had are good entertainment as well. But watch out for the monkeys that hang out in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    12
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
1
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

This guesthouse is highly recommended if a little run-down- the bathrooms are not all very clean. Having said that the guesthouse is charming and the owner is a gem. The best thing is the position at the quiet end of town and opening directly onto the lake. I preferred the cheap rooms for 250 rupees with direct access onto the lake front, and the delicious restaurant run by Tony and Chetna. They all have hot water but you may have to ask for it to be turned on. The rooftop room was also nice if a little cold at New Year. The owner is so amazing... he is 85 sharp as a tack and was born in a prison because his father was a freedom fighter in Ghandis time. The printing press his father bought in Germany in 1915 is next to the restaurant... really amazing... and he gave us as many towels and blankets as we needed. Just a note the owner is very deaf so you have to yell. AND you must eat and do cooking classes with Tony and Chetna- all their food is delicious and they are such a nice family. Also go on a trip with Kukki- rock painting explorer. Tony can help you contact him.

Room Tip: Cheap rooms- 250 rupees next to the restaurant Nice room with a view upstairs good also- 400-500 ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahAndJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We checked many rooms in Bundi, after looking at maybe 15 different places, we found the Lake view paying guest house. We got a room on the top level, which was clean with nice paintings on the wall and ceiling. We "only" had a normal room, which was a great value (300Rp) with windows at three sides (lots of light), but after taking a look at the room next door, we got a bit jealous...it was just amazing with a double bed and a separate matress and lake view and realli spacious. If your budget allows it, take the more expensive one (between 400-500Rp). If we go back to Bundi, for sure we will stay there again. We really loved it!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top level are just wonderful. Take a look at the bigger rooms with lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank saschj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We had one of the better rooms at the top of the property with wonderful views of the 'lake'. The room was basic but had lots of original features and wonderful stained glass windows which cast a beautiful light over the bed in the morning. The family were friendly throughout the stay until the end when, although we were only ever booked for one night because we wanted the second night at Bundi Vilas, we received a bit of a frosty send off! Good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jacs737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2011

What a nice place to stay. This is the nicest spot in Bundi, I think. The haveli has a nice garden with only three rooms, with bathroom and you can ask for hot water. The rooms are not very spacious and they don't look very clean. But it's India, and people only clean with cold water. So if you look it that way it really is clean.
Waking up here is very nice and quiet. You can sit by the lake. In the garden Tony, a very friendly man, has his own kitchen and you can start with a nice breakfast or tea!
The owners, an older man and woman, are very friendly.
Really, a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jossie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bundi
219.5 km away
Dev Niwas
Dev Niwas
#1 of 12 in Bundi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
219.3 km away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
219.1 km away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#2 of 12 in Bundi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Udai Niwas
Hotel Udai Niwas
#88 of 149 in Udaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
219.2 km away
Shivam Tourist Guest House
219.7 km away
Daulat Niwas Bundi
Daulat Niwas Bundi
#2 of 22 in Bundi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Paying Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Paying Guest House

Property: Lake View Paying Guest House
Address: Bohra Meghwan Ji Ki Haveli, Bundi 323001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bundi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Bundi
Price range (per night): ₹ 300 - ₹ 500
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Lake View Paying Guest House Bundi, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing