We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE BUNDI VILAS”
Review of Bundi Vilas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bundi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bundi Vilas
Ranked #2 of 22 Bundi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2017

We spent two nights here on a trip around rural India and I have already requested the tour operator to extend that to three (I could happily stay even longer there is so much to do in Bundi). Our little group took up all seven rooms and Arun made our stay memorable from the delicious food he prepared for every meal to our cooking demonstration on the roof top and his desire for perfection in this gem of a hotel. Loved it and loved Bundi.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Bundi Vilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

This boutique hotel is well done. It's comfortable and tasteful. But its ultimate selling point is the view from its rooftop where you can have dinner as you feast your eyes on the illuminated facade of the hillside fort just a stone's throw away! Perhaps the best location in town. Will make for a magnificent evening date! The dinner is a set affair with appetizers and main course and dessert. It's always Indian and good and they make sure you're fed well. However, I'd recommend guests to explore other places nearby to eat out at for a change.


The hotel has only 7 rooms. So it's a missed opportunity that the owner isn't warmer and less businesslike. Yes, he can be chatty and talks sense about how to make Bundi more tourist friendly, but he doesn't go out of his way at all to help out his guests. On two occasions I asked for him as his other staff weren't able to help me out with the local information I was seeking. On both occasions I was kept waiting and he didn't show up. On both occasions, I found him doing things that were in no way more urgent than attending to a guest! He also didn't sound genuinely interested in helping us make plans to visit the local sights. When a British guest's taxi driver called this hotel owner on his cell phone asking him in Hindi to communicate his message back to his British client, the owner simply handed his phone to the British guest to let him deal with his barely English speaking driver.

As you enter and walk out of the hotel you come to a street which overlooks a small patch of land that is quite filthy. Hope the owner pressures the authorities to clean the mess up.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Indiawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We loved Bundi and we also loved Bundi Vilas. It is a beautiful old Haveli with an interesting history, right underneath the fort, but the truly outstanding thing was the food. This was the best food we have eaten in India. It is all vegetarian as the owners are brahmin, and comes from their farm outside the city. There is a set dinner menu of local dishes but completely different from anything we had eaten before and really delicious. All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the owner very interesting on the history and customs of the area. One not to miss

Room Tip: Each room is different, the three that we saw all charming.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We turned up here during the evening after we were desperate to move from our booked hotel which was awful. The lovely owner sent lads on motorbikes to move our luggage and we were given a really delightful room - comfortable, well-equipped and atmospheric. Best of all, however, is the excellent rooftop restaurant, with home-cooked, family food - no choice, but 700 Rs for four tasty courses - some of the best dishes we've had in India. Charming, helpful, smiling staff really care about the place and we really enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't bother to eat anywhere else, this is the best Bundi has to offer!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank oxonbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We spend 2 nights in Bundi and they were one of the highlights of our trip. we felt like we had won the lottery when we saw our charming room. Dinner on the rooftop sitting around the fire pit with the other guests was sheer joy. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. Arun even drove out to collets us when our car broke down 10km out of town. Go now before this charming place gets over run!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#2 of 12 in Bundi
442 reviews
0.4 km away
Dev Niwas
Dev Niwas
#1 of 12 in Bundi
326 reviews
1.8 km away
Ishwari Niwas Palace
Ishwari Niwas Palace
#5 of 12 in Bundi
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.1 km away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
2.1 km away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundi Vilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundi Vilas

Address: Opposite Moti Mahal Palace | Bheru darwaja, Balchand Para, Bundi 323001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Bundi
Price Range: ₹ 9,611 - ₹ 16,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bundi Vilas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family home, nestled in the old streets of Bundi, waiting to welcome you. The place has been restored in true Indian style, preserving the essentials like tradition and design. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bundi Vilas Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing