We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful place to stay”
Review of Bundi Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bundi Vilas
Ranked #2 of 25 Bundi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We turned up here during the evening after we were desperate to move from our booked hotel which was awful. The lovely owner sent lads on motorbikes to move our luggage and we were given a really delightful room - comfortable, well-equipped and atmospheric. Best of all, however, is the excellent rooftop restaurant, with home-cooked, family food - no choice, but 700 Rs for four tasty courses - some of the best dishes we've had in India. Charming, helpful, smiling staff really care about the place and we really enjoyed it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Don't bother to eat anywhere else, this is the best Bundi has to offer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank oxonbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017

We spend 2 nights in Bundi and they were one of the highlights of our trip. we felt like we had won the lottery when we saw our charming room. Dinner on the rooftop sitting around the fire pit with the other guests was sheer joy. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. Arun even drove out to collets us when our car broke down 10km out of town. Go now before this charming place gets over run!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Clare G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

This 300 year old haveli is beautifully restored and expertly managed. The food (all veg) is exceptional, locally sourced and prepared in house. With the highest rooftop restaurant in town and the castle as a backdrop the dinner experience is incomparable.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank PSSNH_Tavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We have just spent 2 nights in this establishment. What a lovely surprise... this place has the old world elegance and charm of India. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The staff are calm, friendly and helpful. The manager is always on hand to help or impart information. Eating at the restaurant was also great, the best food we have had so far. I would highly recommend this place. The only negative was the mattress was a to firm but that might suit you. So if you want to spend a few days in a more relaxed atmosphere then I would go to Bundi.

Room Tip: Families will have to get separate rooms. Plenty of choice for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Bundi as a "stopover" between Udaipur and Jaipur as recommended by our agent Ric at Imagine India and boy are we glad we did! As we only had 3 weeks in Rajasthan we were seeing travelling by car and seeing the main cities, but as the drive between Udaipur and Jaipur is a long one we decided to spend 2 nights in Bundi.

By Indian standards Bundi is a small town. What we particularly liked about the town was the fact that you could walk around it and enjoy it at your own pace, although we did have a guide on our first day and thought he was amazing - he gave us a real insight we wouldn't otherwise have had.

Bundi Vilas is tucked up a little side street and appears to be a vertical building - lots of steps to keep you fit! We were immediately taken aback when we saw the entrance - it is impressive and very well kept. We were met by Arun the owner (the property has been in his family for over 300 years) and taken upstairs. Although we didn't see any of the other rooms we got the impression that they are all set at different levels of the building.

Our room was on the highest but one level - on the same level that you eat breakfast, and although not huge, was ample in size for a couple of nights. It was beautifully decorated and very clean.

This old Haveli also has a restaurant (which is open to non residents) which is set up on the roof terrace in the evening. We also popped up early to have a drink whilst we watched the sun set. Without a doubt this is the best view in the whole of Bundi as the Haveli is built almost adjacent to the old Fort walls so you can watch the sun down and admire the floodlit Fort, whilst watching the monkeys go home for the night and the bats fly out - it really is a magical sight! The food is excellent and very reasonable - whether or not you are staying in the hotel you must try the food!

We are so pleased that we stopped over in Bundi (and Bhainsrorgarh - see my other review) to break our journey. Both Bundi itself and Bundi Vilas were wonderful. We only wished we could have stayed another night so that we could have enjoyed this fantastic place for even longer.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Bobblechops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#2 of 12 in Bundi
445 reviews
0.4 km away
Dev Niwas
Dev Niwas
#1 of 12 in Bundi
332 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
1.8 km away
Ishwari Niwas Palace
Ishwari Niwas Palace
#5 of 12 in Bundi
100 reviews
2.1 km away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundi Vilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundi Vilas

Address: | Opposite Moti Mahal Palace, Bheru Darwaja, Balchand Para, Bundi 323001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Bundi
Price Range: ₹ 10,162 - ₹ 10,227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bundi Vilas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family home, nestled in the old streets of Bundi, waiting to welcome you. The place has been restored in true Indian style, preserving the essentials like tradition and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, TripOnline SA and TravelGuru so you can book your Bundi Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundi Vilas Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing