We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable”
Review of Bundi Vilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bundi Vilas
Ranked #2 of 23 Bundi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Bundi is off the main tourist routes but worth a visit just for this place. Tucked under walls of decrepit place fort the rooftop restaurant gives an unrivaled view. Rooms quirky and furnished with local crafts. Ours had ancient stone pillars. Bathroom all grey slate. We were the only two guests as it was end of season but this place deserves to be full. Food fresh, tasty and cheap.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on reception level. Don't know what others are like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    69
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
37
164
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Spent a single night here in this vertical building. Good excercise getting up to the rooms and roof but worth all the climbing. Comfortable rooms well decorated. Great views up at the fort above and over the towns. Good simple food.

  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

The Bundi Haveli is located near city-centre and due to road width a car must be positioned (then moved further out of town) 200 metres away from the Haveli. In our case, there was some confusion as to where we were and nobody arrived for 15 minutes for bags. The semi-strenuous walk to the Haveli's heights is compensated by a panoramic view of the city and the Bundi fort directly behind the Haveli (250 metres).

The room we booked is on the main level where breakfast is served and I would recommend asking for as other guests said our room was much nicer and more convenient (2nd hand info). The majority of my issues with the Haveli was not with the place per se, but the manager-owner who was out of the dark ages. Aaron hovers over every meal shouting orders to staff (who are likeable but not well trained) giving each meal a feeling of a Draconian training session - maybe due as we received toast after finishing brekkie two days in a row. Note: All meals were very good, timely and enjoyed with other visitors along with great views. Again, the problem is with the manager who turned the power to our lights out and AC off from an external source and didn't tell us until chased up (difficult) 15 minutes after returning. The staff locked the doors after cleaning and took the key and was another 10 minute wait to fid Aaron, who would get upset if you spoke directly to his two young staffers.

Summary: This Haveli is well positioned central to this smallish hill-town if you can handle the walks up and down. Our room was very nice (see earlier note) and the food was good. With these positive comments you can imagine how dreadful the service (manager) must have been enough to warn you. He took the enjoyment out of the place and many of the other visitors (male and female) agreed with this assessment.

My wife and I visited the Haveli directly below (bottom of hill) and found it lovely with spacious rooms, a courtyard and an amiable 70'ish owner and I believe cheaper. Check them out - can't remember their name - 'something' Haveli.

Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SkipBusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We did not overnight here but visited twice. The dinner on the rooftop was very good, with a remarkable view of the night-illuminated palace, which practically abuts the hotel. There is a fixed vegetarian menu that was very well thought out but a bit on the bland side. If you don't like spicy Indian food, this is a good place to eat. The table service was excellent, with cloth napery and attentive staff.

Stayed February 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Lockean360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2016

a town of huge interest and a haveli superbly converted, rooms full of character and beautifully furnished, fine roof-top terrace looking up to the "star fort" terrace, elegant buffet dinner although be warned vegetarian
charming and efficient service, as good as it gets

  • Stayed March 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.4 km away
Dev Niwas
Dev Niwas
#1 of 11 in Bundi
324 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.1 km away
Haveli Braj Bhushanjee, Heritage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
0.0 km away
Kasera Heritage View
Kasera Heritage View
#4 of 11 in Bundi
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Nawal Sagar Palace
Nawal Sagar Palace
#10 of 11 in Bundi
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bundi Vilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bundi Vilas

Property: Bundi Vilas
Address: Opposite Moti Mahal Palace | Bheru darwaja, Balchand Para, Bundi 323001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bundi
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,496 - ₹ 16,688
Hotel Class:4 star — Bundi Vilas 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family home, nestled in the old streets of Bundi, waiting to welcome you. The place has been restored in true Indian style, preserving the essentials like tradition and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Bundi Vilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bundi Vilas Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing