We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and bad”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bundi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tarah Homestay and Guest House
Ranked #12 of 23 Bundi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
Reviewed 7 May 2010

We didn't like this homestay for two reasons. Firstly the room was filthy. Secondly Jitu, who is the main host, asked us for an advance of two nights' stay before we had even settled into our room (and had a chance to see the filth). If we hadn't have been so tired from a long overnight train journey, we would have had the sense to refuse to do this. In two months of travel through India, we were only asked for advances on two occasions, and it usually means there is a reason why you might want to change accommodation!

It's a shame because the family are nice, the view of the Bundi palace is great (good for monkey watching) and Jitu's sister-in-law cooks great food.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bradandlucy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
9
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

If you go to Bundi you must stay in Tarah Homestay!! I stayed 4 days there and had one of the most wonderful time with the indian family!
The rooms are very clean, the place is peaceful and relaxing! The night view on the Palace (see picture) is amazing! You will feel like being at home! Jitu is so nice and reliable, he does a lot for you and will guide you in your tour! Go there you will never regret it!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank India86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

We stayed at Tarah homestay for 4 days and loved the homecooked food and the friendliness of the host family. The food was so good that I had a few cookery lessons (free). Whilst staying here it was my husbands birthday, and the whole family really went out of their way to make it special, with great food and surprise cake and fireworks, my husband was also blessed and garlanded with flowers, truly special. And undoubtly the best view of the palace in the whole of Bundi. A special thanks to Jitu for guiding us, taking us on his motorbike and generally looking after us. If your heading to Bundi don't hesitate to book this lovely homestay.

  • Liked — The family and the home cooked food
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank dalyansam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

The Tara Home Stay is an excellent place in Bundi. I was here for a week while exploring the town and countryside on foot and on bicycle.

The family who owns the home stay are very nice and also trustworthy, which is the most important thing for visitors. I've traveled all over India on various excursions for about a year total, and this is one of the best places I've found, with a nice family, good food, and a relaxing environment. Good place, and Rajit does good job here.

  • Liked — family
  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank innepaljan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagoya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2008

Bundi is one of quiet city and this attract many tourists,so Me and my wife was looking for some quiet guesthouse in Bundi. But most of these guesthouse was quite huge we imagine.
Finally we found nice accomodation in Bundi is here,nice lovely family run homestay style guesthouse. We spend 4days there,room was very clean and homemade food was very deliciaous. also we had indian homemade cooking school with their family every dinner!

Last things to tell you that,the view from this guesthouse is the best in Bundi,we can see palace 24hours!!

Do not miss this experience in Bundi,here have only 2rooms!

Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank jetkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bundi hotels
0.0 km away
Dev Niwas
Dev Niwas
#1 of 11 in Bundi
322 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel The Hadoti Palace Bundi
0.0 km away
Rajmahal
Rajmahal
#13 of 23 in Bundi
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Bundi Haveli
Hotel Bundi Haveli
#3 of 11 in Bundi
430 reviews
0.0 km away
Bundi Inn - A Heritage Haveli
0.0 km away
The Ummaid Bagh Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarah Homestay and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarah Homestay and Guest House

Property: Tarah Homestay and Guest House
Address: Nahar KA Choatta | Garh Ki Paras, Bundi 323001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bundi District > Bundi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Bundi
Price range (per night): ₹ 350 - ₹ 500
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Tarah Homestay And Guest House Bundi, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing