We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal in all of India”
Review of The Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bagh
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best meal in all of India”
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We stopped here on the way from Agra to Jaipur for lunch in the garden. It was prepared especially for our group, we sat in the garden area. I was in India for 3 weeks and this was the best meal that I had. We had a tradition thali meal with soup and a chopped salad and everything was outstanding. It was such a delight to stop for lunch here.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    73
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
73
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Bagh visiting the excellent bird sanctuary nearby. Whilst the fabric of the place is a little tired the evening meals were a delight and the staff were cheerful and friendly. The buffet breakfasts were fine especially as the chef was very happy to make to order. Great pool facility. We had it all to ourselves for a whole afternoon.

Don't expect TV or internet but the enforced isolation adds to the feeling of calm and relaxation. We'd thoroughly recommend this place as a restful stop-off during a trip through the golden triangle.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Once a upon a time this place would have had a majestic feel about it. We chose it because we prefer small boutique style hotels with some style and history rather than a corporate hotel.

When we arrived our greeting wasn't great and was immediately shown to room with no real idea where anything was.

Room could be really grand but needs some work to bring it up to its former glory. Bathroom is large but a little dark and personally I felt it needed a steam clean.

The restaurant was average and the food was not much better. The buffet was not great so choose from the menu and this was average at best.

I don't like negative reviews as everyone needs to make a living but this is a hotel in decline and for it to survive it needs to improve or it will become a low class hotel very soon.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanton, France
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2017

If you want modern and up to date, this is not the place for you. If like us you're looking for charm, history, beautiful gardens, birdlife, good food and friendly staff - it's perfect! The rooms are large and comfortable with floors made of marble. This continues into the bathroom with marbling on the walls, sink worktop, even down to the soap dish.
The food is tasty and not over priced and the staff are friendly and willing to help. It was a shame we only spent one night here we would have loved longer to explore the gardens.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieshaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at the Bagh, but were generally disappointed. While the grounds are lovely and its history makes it interesting, it was an outlier for the hotels we stay at in India. My parents were DODDS teachers in Germany in the 80s. The dragged me through a lot of communist Eastern Europe and this felt like that. The room was cold, the heater smelled, the bathroom was unattractive and the hot water was difficult to regulate. The rooms are clustered in separate buildings. Our building had four rooms, and we took three of the rooms in one building and shared the fourth room with a family from Sweden, who had two sick children. Sound traveled, so I was worried that our children would bother them.

On the positive side, the service was great and the food was also nice. Plus, we were there for New Year's Eve and they threw a party. Our girls loved it, although dinner was way past their bedtime.

Generally, my recommendation would be to stay in Agra and make a day trip to Bharatpur and the bird sanctuary (which was great!).

Room Tip: We did not see enough buildings to help with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
3.4 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
330 reviews
24.7 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
61 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#8 of 15 in Bharatpur
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#3 of 15 in Bharatpur
304 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel Sonar Haveli
Hotel Sonar Haveli
#10 of 15 in Bharatpur
70 reviews
3.0 km away
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bagh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bagh

Property: The Bagh
Address: Achnera Road, Bharatpur 321001, India (Formerly The Bagh Resort Bharatpur)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,710 - ₹ 80,057
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bagh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bagh Resort Bharatpur Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing