We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be great but misses the mark”
Review of The Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bagh
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Once a upon a time this place would have had a majestic feel about it. We chose it because we prefer small boutique style hotels with some style and history rather than a corporate hotel.

When we arrived our greeting wasn't great and was immediately shown to room with no real idea where anything was.

Room could be really grand but needs some work to bring it up to its former glory. Bathroom is large but a little dark and personally I felt it needed a steam clean.

The restaurant was average and the food was not much better. The buffet was not great so choose from the menu and this was average at best.

I don't like negative reviews as everyone needs to make a living but this is a hotel in decline and for it to survive it needs to improve or it will become a low class hotel very soon.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for The Bagh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2017

If you want modern and up to date, this is not the place for you. If like us you're looking for charm, history, beautiful gardens, birdlife, good food and friendly staff - it's perfect! The rooms are large and comfortable with floors made of marble. This continues into the bathroom with marbling on the walls, sink worktop, even down to the soap dish.
The food is tasty and not over priced and the staff are friendly and willing to help. It was a shame we only spent one night here we would have loved longer to explore the gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auntieshaz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We stayed at the Bagh, but were generally disappointed. While the grounds are lovely and its history makes it interesting, it was an outlier for the hotels we stay at in India. My parents were DODDS teachers in Germany in the 80s. The dragged me through a lot of communist Eastern Europe and this felt like that. The room was cold, the heater smelled, the bathroom was unattractive and the hot water was difficult to regulate. The rooms are clustered in separate buildings. Our building had four rooms, and we took three of the rooms in one building and shared the fourth room with a family from Sweden, who had two sick children. Sound traveled, so I was worried that our children would bother them.

On the positive side, the service was great and the food was also nice. Plus, we were there for New Year's Eve and they threw a party. Our girls loved it, although dinner was way past their bedtime.

Generally, my recommendation would be to stay in Agra and make a day trip to Bharatpur and the bird sanctuary (which was great!).

Room Tip: We did not see enough buildings to help with this.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Spend 3 nights in a beautiful room with extensive use of marble; setting is an extensive garden largely comprised of trees with a restaurant at one end. Early evening does have traffic and street noise, but it become quiet at night. Room was clean with ample space for luggage, large bathroom and various lights.
Very convenient for access to the Keoladeo National Park.
Restaurant food: standard Indian fare, good use of regional vegetables.

Room Tip: the end rooms away from the street [located beyond a high wall]
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MeropsOrnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This heritage hotel spreads out across some 12 or 13 acres of green, lightly wooded area, just about 3 km from Bharatpur’s main attraction, the Keoladeo Ghana National Park. The rooms, the restaurant, and the other buildings are scattered in islands of buildings connected by pretty stone-paved paths under a canopy of trees so dense that the sun doesn't shine through. Our room, in a small palace called Mogra Bhavan, was in an idyllic little section with lovely arched verandahs, marble floors, stone inlay work, a pool of water with a marble fountain, and flowers in a marble bowl. There were also, in the pavilion nearby and in the long verandah outside our room, several comfortable sofas with coffee tables, perfect for evening tea, or for just sitting outside and lazing.

Our room was a very spacious one, with an equally spacious bathroom (with a bathtub and shower cubicle). A large double bed, a single bed on the side, a wardrobe, small TV, and several tables and desks, which allowed us lots of space to keep all our luggage; a chest of drawers, a sofa, a small refrigerator (no minibar, but just convenient storage space for items that need refrigeration). The décor was pleasantly ethnic (though with the occasional flaw—the large day bed/sofa in our room had worn out and threadbare patches) without that sometimes overdone gaudiness I've seen in some other heritage hotels.

I do admit that the bathroom disappointed me. There were rust stains here and there, some stains in the toilet bowl (which, by the way, was fitted with a poor flushing system—we ended up having to fill a bucket with water and use that to flush the toilet). Also, while toiletries (soap, moisturizer and conditioner) had been provided, these were of a rather substandard quality.

The Bagh has a pool and spa (neither of which we used). It also offers room service (a mix of fairly basic North Indian and Western food), and there’s a restaurant called Gulmohar, which offers the same cuisine as room service, but has a far more extensive menu. Our package included breakfast and dinner at Gulmohar, so this was where we ate. The food, which is all mostly Indian (predominantly North Indian, with the odd Rajasthani dish thrown in), proved to be very erratic. On the first day, we found it very spicy. The next day it was far better, with a dal which was simply superb, even. Sadly, however, all rotis, parathas and puris were very thick, mutton and chicken weren't tender, and paneer was hard.

Other than the food and the somewhat grubby bathroom, I found The Bagh a nice, pleasant place. The staff’s attitude is excellent—they were all helpful and accommodating (and we, because of our toddler’s whims and fancies, had a lot of odd requests to make).

Also, for anybody keen on birds, this is a wonderful place to stay, because even without going anywhere further than the verandah outside, we saw lots of birds: plenty of peafowl, tree pies, magpie robins, babblers, and more. If I’d stayed here longer than the two nights we spent, I'd probably also have patronised the fairly impressive library at the reception. This has a very varied collection of books, ranging all the way from fiction to history to religion and travel, with a pretty much exhaustive collection of books in birding. All books can be borrowed for free but must be returned (obviously) before you check out.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Madhulika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
1.1 km away
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
#1 of 15 in Bharatpur
443 reviews
3.5 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
242 reviews
24.7 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#3 of 15 in Bharatpur
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
331 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#13 of 15 in Bharatpur
228 reviews
1.9 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#6 of 15 in Bharatpur
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bagh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bagh

Address: Achnera Road, Bharatpur 321001, India (Formerly The Bagh Resort Bharatpur)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range: ₹ 6,493 - ₹ 7,778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bagh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bagh Resort Bharatpur Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing