We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet gardens amidst Bharatpur”
Review of The Bagh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bagh
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Princeton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quiet gardens amidst Bharatpur”
Reviewed 1 January 2017

Spend 3 nights in a beautiful room with extensive use of marble; setting is an extensive garden largely comprised of trees with a restaurant at one end. Early evening does have traffic and street noise, but it become quiet at night. Room was clean with ample space for luggage, large bathroom and various lights.
Very convenient for access to the Keoladeo National Park.
Restaurant food: standard Indian fare, good use of regional vegetables.

Room Tip: the end rooms away from the street [located beyond a high wall]
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeropsOrnatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    73
    45
    14
    12
See reviews for
73
79
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017

This heritage hotel spreads out across some 12 or 13 acres of green, lightly wooded area, just about 3 km from Bharatpur’s main attraction, the Keoladeo Ghana National Park. The rooms, the restaurant, and the other buildings are scattered in islands of buildings connected by pretty stone-paved paths under a canopy of trees so dense that the sun doesn't shine through. Our room, in a small palace called Mogra Bhavan, was in an idyllic little section with lovely arched verandahs, marble floors, stone inlay work, a pool of water with a marble fountain, and flowers in a marble bowl. There were also, in the pavilion nearby and in the long verandah outside our room, several comfortable sofas with coffee tables, perfect for evening tea, or for just sitting outside and lazing.

Our room was a very spacious one, with an equally spacious bathroom (with a bathtub and shower cubicle). A large double bed, a single bed on the side, a wardrobe, small TV, and several tables and desks, which allowed us lots of space to keep all our luggage; a chest of drawers, a sofa, a small refrigerator (no minibar, but just convenient storage space for items that need refrigeration). The décor was pleasantly ethnic (though with the occasional flaw—the large day bed/sofa in our room had worn out and threadbare patches) without that sometimes overdone gaudiness I've seen in some other heritage hotels.

I do admit that the bathroom disappointed me. There were rust stains here and there, some stains in the toilet bowl (which, by the way, was fitted with a poor flushing system—we ended up having to fill a bucket with water and use that to flush the toilet). Also, while toiletries (soap, moisturizer and conditioner) had been provided, these were of a rather substandard quality.

The Bagh has a pool and spa (neither of which we used). It also offers room service (a mix of fairly basic North Indian and Western food), and there’s a restaurant called Gulmohar, which offers the same cuisine as room service, but has a far more extensive menu. Our package included breakfast and dinner at Gulmohar, so this was where we ate. The food, which is all mostly Indian (predominantly North Indian, with the odd Rajasthani dish thrown in), proved to be very erratic. On the first day, we found it very spicy. The next day it was far better, with a dal which was simply superb, even. Sadly, however, all rotis, parathas and puris were very thick, mutton and chicken weren't tender, and paneer was hard.

Other than the food and the somewhat grubby bathroom, I found The Bagh a nice, pleasant place. The staff’s attitude is excellent—they were all helpful and accommodating (and we, because of our toddler’s whims and fancies, had a lot of odd requests to make).

Also, for anybody keen on birds, this is a wonderful place to stay, because even without going anywhere further than the verandah outside, we saw lots of birds: plenty of peafowl, tree pies, magpie robins, babblers, and more. If I’d stayed here longer than the two nights we spent, I'd probably also have patronised the fairly impressive library at the reception. This has a very varied collection of books, ranging all the way from fiction to history to religion and travel, with a pretty much exhaustive collection of books in birding. All books can be borrowed for free but must be returned (obviously) before you check out.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhulika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2016

The property is old and needs work but the room was very large and clean and the water was hot. The grounds are park like and there is a pool although we didn't use it. the restaurant serves decent food and the staff is very hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Spent a couple of nights at the Bagh while visiting the impressive bird sanctuary – Keoladeo Ghana National Park. Only 14 rooms set amongst a former orchard. So green, and so cool and quiet. A sanctuary from the noisy, bustling world outside the walls. Food good. Nicely Indian and no large buffets. Just pay for what you eat.

Good pool, and useful library in reception. Collection of vintage cars in the yard. Also a cheap place to get your laundry done. Not luxury but a lovely old place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goreme, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2016

Poor experience trying to contact the hotel to reserve a room. Two of the three telephone numbers did not work. When I was finally able to connect, a completely untrained person took my call and could not understand what my questions were.Could not have a decent conversation to learn more or book a room. So I decided not to go to Bagh.

Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Samiran01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
3.5 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#7 of 15 in Bharatpur
237 reviews
24.7 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
61 reviews
3.4 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#8 of 15 in Bharatpur
230 reviews
1.9 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
279 reviews
6.2 km away
Hotel Sonar Haveli
Hotel Sonar Haveli
#10 of 15 in Bharatpur
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bagh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bagh

Property: The Bagh
Address: Achnera Road, Bharatpur 321001, India (Formerly The Bagh Resort Bharatpur)
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,691 - ₹ 79,862
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bagh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, TravelGuru and Yatra so you can book your The Bagh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bagh Resort Bharatpur Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
Bagh Hotel Bharatpur
The Bagh Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing