We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip”

Keoladeo National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 72.00*
and up
Full-Day Private Tour to Bharatpur from Agra
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Bharatpur
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bharatpur bird sanctuary is home to over 350 species of birds.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Our whole family loved our time at Keoladeo. We went in April, which is considered off-season, so we weren't sure if there would be many birds, but it was full of so many varieties, including the Saras Crane. The park is very peaceful and well maintained. We wished we would have had a bit more time here to explore.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank akotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    852
    399
    68
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Go there if you like birds”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We chose to visit on the way from Jaipur to Agra and the company sent an ornithologist to guide us round. A bicycle rickshaw did most of the 'walking' for us. April is quietish as most migratory birds have gone but there are still many different and interesting varieties of birds to see so was well worth it. If you are from the UK it seems odd when you are there that our own mallard ducks fly all the way from the Fens to this part of India to spend the winter. For other Europeans there are almost certainly birds from your country which do the sme. A lovely place to spend a while with nature.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank peterindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A must see if you enjoy birds”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

While I am not a serious birder, I do enjoy them and found this to be a real treat. The best way to see the park is to stay at a hotel in Bharatpur so you can go as soon as it opens in the morning, particularly when it's hot - it opens at 6:00 a.m. as of April 1st. I had a bicycle rickshaw driver who was very enthusiastic and knew at least as much as the guide. The guide was fine as well - I rented his excellent binoculars (this was a post-work trip so didn't have any with me) and these were essential. We alternately rode and walked, saw lots of perching, ground, and water birds. Please make sure you get hold of the park's checklist. I went in to the tiny bookstore inside the gate, and found a nice little booklet-checklist with photos and drawings, that indicated the presence or absence of each of the birds in this Park for each month of the year. It was only 50 rupees (about $1 U.S.) - they ought to double the price and use the proceeds to upgrade the visitor center buildings. And they should make an effort to market these books at the entry where you buy your ticket - the tiny bookstore doesn't open until 9:00. The guide pointed it out to me - the cashier didn't seem particularly interested in drawing my attention to anything.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NCJewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A walking Park”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

It is a lovely park to just wander around, due to no tigers you are free to walk within boundaries desinated. We spent approx 3 hours just bird/animal watching and wandering. Time passed so quickly.
The park has a lookout point which when climbed gives you a good perspective of the size of the park. Binoculars are a must to really appreciate the diversity of the wildlife. Do'nt forget that boat ride either, well worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lunislu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“excellent place for birdwatching”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Now that they have water flowing again in the Park has made loads of difference to the number of birds. Next year they are expecting more birds to return so should be even better. We hope to visit again next year.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank lunislu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Keoladeo National Park also viewed

Bharatpur, Bharatpur District
Bharatpur, Bharatpur District
 

Been to Keoladeo National Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing