We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel Ashok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
Palkkad
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Hotel Ashok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

A hotel purely for holidaying. My mistake, we were in a business trip. Finding the hotel is difficult since it is 1.5 Km inside the national park. Free vehicle movement is not allowed. An entry fee has to remitted before entering the gate, since it is inside the park.
The rooms were large, spacious. The toilets were neat.
you will have to pay for the breakfast and food. manual rickshaws are available to tour around the park or to go out of the premises. You can enjoy walking around the park, which has a large area. No disturbance form the road traffic. You can wake up with hearing the birds chirping.
Very peaceful area. Relaxing stay, if you have the time.
Food quality is OK. As usual with government properties, maintenance is poor.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Menons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    87
    54
    19
    15
See reviews for
98
44
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

i had an unduly awkward experience at this hotel. i was at the bharatpur ashok solely due to its location right in middle of the sanctuary and it so turned out that i was lacking cash - in - hand. so i thus tried asking the managers to allow me a net transaction to settle my bills right at the start of my booking, to which i was told that they will raise the issue to the management. i later asked that i must be allowed to understand this as soon as possible. in an hour's time i was informed i can best pay the amount using cash or credit cards or using the net route of depositing the funds in their account. i took note and allowed to day to pass by. i was at the park or inside my room during most of the day. the following day i was to join my relatives at Agra. so, an obvious step was to visit a bank and withdraw the requisite amount. it only turned out that my relatives turned down the visit to agra on morning of next day, seeing this i informed the hotel's reception that my stay has been comfortable enough to allow for more stay and as such my plan to be in agra stands cancelled and thus i will extend my stay at their hotel at 10am, two hours before the checkout was scheduled. and then i was back at the park, till 1130pm. things changed and my relatives asked me to instead meet them at mathura that was close by to bharatpur. i agreed and came back to the hotel in time before checkout. i asked the management to either grant me a late checkout or allow the bags to be kept in a cloak room or a lobby as my relatives will be picking me up from the hotel and i no longer need to hold the room, payments thereof i shall make when they will be here. to this people at reception gladly agreed. in turn of time, the entire staff caused enough embarrassment for they kept on asking - sir, how will settle the bills. to which my single reply is / was that the relatives i am to meet will be reaching at any time, now. in the 3 hours that went by as i sat in the lobby of the hotel, it seemed that the "cash strapped hotel" was seeking redemption through a INR 3000 bill that i was to settle with them. the officials kept on asking questions that were un-needed and out of context. a practice with almost everyone in hospitality industry is to make a guest's stay comfortable. as i remained willing to make room for an internet transaction directly through hotel's website or by a merchant web portal of a travel agent, the officials relented and said this practice was disallowed by their management. as i asked that these days one can book so many govt. services including rail in travel based PSUs like ITDC, then why is your organisation caught up in the past. the management took offense to my feedback for they felt i was criticizing them. instead i carried no such intention, whatsoever. as i walked out of hotel at 3.50pm to meet my relatives at entrance road to hotel (the lodge is inside a bird sanctuary distanced from the approach road) an official began to 'chase me' and i informed him that there is no need to be afraid for all my luggage is inside their hotel. seeing him go back i began to walk outside. my relatives car is what i saw next on the approach road. the frightening scene was when six-eight officials began chasing me using motor cycles. and one of them, a manager went on to accuse that i am trying to emotional fool him in this situation. at this absolutely absurd statement, i was left with no other option but to shout at him in order to lower his voice which seemed to be hitting higher decibels for no rhyme or reason and it was so disturbing to hear him say all he spoke of even as other and more respectable gentleman stayed calmer and quiet. my walking out of their hotel without paying a bill was absurd to them but my understanding of their accusation to have caused emotional damage to their mental make up or otherwise was quite absurd to me by all means for not only it meant the officials mistrusted my word or that of a guest but also it showed lack of trust and communication between the team / staff. the best part was to see them in tatters when i asked my relatives to throw money at their hungry faces and let them be free. i went back to hotel and collected my belongings, parked them inside the car and left disgruntled with the experience.

Room Tip: the hotel is useful to those whom can show their credentials on a piece of paper, a certificate. one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishDSood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I had to give it an extra mark on the ratings just for the humour. It truly is a 1970's throw back. The peas in the Biryani looked like they were also a throwback from the 1970's.

Dirty, tatty, miserable, tired. Very few visitors and consequently over attentive, 'hovering' staff. There are plenty of hotels very close by immediately outside the park. Don't be wooed by the fact it is 'in' the park there are no advantages at all.

If I can add photos later, I will as I had to take some of the filthy door screens in the dining room and that beautiful 1970's decor. Don't do it to yourselves. After our meal there we ended up staying outside the park and didn't regret it for a second.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bharatpur hotels

delhi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We had booked a different property ; we landed up here because that property didnt work out . Amazinggggggggg location. right at the start of the sanctuary gate. not many occupants. food choice was limited; they dont have room service except tea/coffee. but not major deterrants. the place had an old world charm tucked in the middle of the forest. birds/ bees for company.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priyankasaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

After a lot of think and brainstorming, reviews we finally decided to stay in Bharatpur Ashok. The location of this hotel is really amazing. The rooms allocated to us was nice and cozy, with a wonderful balcony. The building from outside looked a bit rusty, however the rooms were nice. The people in reception was nice. However, I was disappointed with the Resturant Staff. The order actually took about an hour. Further, I was informed the continental dishes was available, but the Indian was limited. They informed that the delay was due to lack of people, there was only one cook.

I would have rated this hotel 4 but the experience in resturant was not good

Room Tip: * the rooms with balcony is nice. * take care of resturant timing * no bar facilities available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subratodasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
2.2 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#2 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#9 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.7 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli - An Amritara Private Hideaways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#10 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#13 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#12 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)

Property: Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Address: | Inside Keoladeo National Park, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,142 - ₹ 4,880
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok is located right in the middle of the Keoladeo National Park, A true delightful destination for bird watchers. Come and experience staying inside a National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelGuru and ClearTrip so you can book your Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel Bharatpur
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing