We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Bharatpur” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
New Delhi
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Trip to Bharatpur”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

After a lot of think and brainstorming, reviews we finally decided to stay in Bharatpur Ashok. The location of this hotel is really amazing. The rooms allocated to us was nice and cozy, with a wonderful balcony. The building from outside looked a bit rusty, however the rooms were nice. The people in reception was nice. However, I was disappointed with the Resturant Staff. The order actually took about an hour. Further, I was informed the continental dishes was available, but the Indian was limited. They informed that the delay was due to lack of people, there was only one cook.

I would have rated this hotel 4 but the experience in resturant was not good

Room Tip: * the rooms with balcony is nice. * take care of resturant timing * no bar facilities available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank subratodasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    89
    55
    21
    15
See reviews for
100
45
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Hotel Bharatpur Ashok is located inside the Keoladeo National Park, Bharatpur, the only place to stay inside the world heritage park. It takes around 25-25 minutes by otto from the rail station Bharatpur. One can also go by car although parking is not directly within the hotel premises. The place is very calm and quiet, those interested in enjoying the day watching birds and birds is sure to find it very beautiful. The day starts early and it depends on the interest of the visitor as to when they wnat to start their day. One should take hats, umbrella, camera, bionocular, water and of course sunscreen lotion for their stroll around the park. A check list on birds purchased from the souveneir shop inside the park may be carried along. The tour around the park can be done on foot, on rickshaw ( the rickshaw wallas have been trained very well to act as the guide), by small buses of the sanctuary. Those who can walk and love to walk shall enjoy the nature walk. We went there in Feb,2012 and our guide said that the time to visit the park should be planned according to the nature or behavior pattern of birds one would like to observe, i,e. the mating or the birth of babies or the training part etc. The hotel is very nice, the rooms are big with 24hrs hot water, room heater, T.V., nice interior. The room had a big verandah with a swing and this was the bonus of the place. In the evenings we heard the cry of jackals and other animals that I don't know. There is no shop within the park, one should carry water if not interested in buying from the hotel. The food is good, well cooked, service is fast and the staffs are well behaved and well informed.

Room Tip: Room with a verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SomaSomnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

My experience of staying at Bharatpur Ashok the 3rd consecutive time out of my past visits was has been memorably the best so far. The positive point about staying in here is that this hotel is located 2 kms from the main gate, inside the forest itself. Barely half a kilometer from the entry check point inside the forest. The hotel has an open air restaurant and garden from where you can spot wild life having your morning tea or breakfast. We could see lot of birds including peacocks inside the garden during the day and in the night we spotted jackals trying to hunt wild rabbits.

All credit goes to Mr. Hari Lal and his team of staff at the hotel. Despite full occupancy being a weekend he went the extra mile to provide us a room against a last minute cancellation and without charging any booking advance, reserved a room just on good faith, turning down all other requests coming up. I am very grateful to Hari Lal ji for this and greatly appreciate the same.

The entire team of Bharatpur Ashok is not only professional but at the same time very friendly, polite & hospitable and made every possible effort to make our stay comfortable despite full occupancy and work pressure.

Now a small word of thanks for each of the staff members who equally contributed to our memorable stay and made us want to come back again. Starting from the reception desk, Mr. Harish with his ever smiling and helpful nature, Mr. Pankaj. always ready to help with his great sense of humour. The food & beverage service led by Mr. Prabhu Dayal and supported by Mr. Manik Chand Verma, Ramesh Ji, and a huge thanks to Mr. Narendra Bhargava --The Chef who made the most delicious fare for lunch and dinner. I would recommend both the buffet and Ala-Carte in the restaurant. Mr Bhargava went the extra mile to prepare mutton curry for us and I would strongly recommend all to request him to make the same if you are a non-veggie fan like me. Last but not the least. Mr. V.K. Meena --House Keeping who ensured that we had all the amenities in the room. Must say the rooms are very well appointed with spotless clean bed & bath linen. Room heater was provided to ensure that room was warm and comfortable in these winter nights. Mr. D.L. Meena who is the maintenance in-charge ensured that all the appliances and hardware was in top running condition. Mr. Khem Singh & Mr. Kartar of the store was also available for any replenishment.

I can summarize it all by saying that this hotel and the staff here will leave no stones turned to ensure the most comfortable and memorable stay for you in the middle of the forest. This forest lodge is the only one which is located right in the heart of the national park.

Rickshaws and cycles are readily available for hire right at the gate of the hotel. The rickshaw pullers charge Rs. 70 per hour, and tips are greatly appreciated as the poor folks really strain and stress going the extra mile to ensure you have a good sighting and photographs.

I have been regular with two of these guys who double up as guides too and have appreciable knowledge about the various species of flora & fauna within the forest. They made extra efforts to ensure I could have the best shots of the birds and animals & reptiles inside. If you are an avid birder and hoping to capture some very good shots then I strongly recommend contacting either of these guys before you plan your visit to Bharatpur and ensure they are available with you through the day. Their details are as below.

Mr. Maharaj Singh [--] --Rickshaw No. 77

Mr. Rameshwar [--] --Rickshaw No. 54

For any other tips on your Bharatpur visit you may call me @ [--] and I shall be happy to help you with any other useful inputs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MysticMinstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is a great base from which to explore the fantastic bird reserve. You can just walk out of the door of the hotel and you're there, rather than having to come up the long road from the entrance as everybody else does. It makes getting round some of the lesser-visited parts of the park much easier - the main drag along which the rickshaws travel can get pretty congested, especially during the day at weekends.

The hotel is very quiet, with apparently only a few visitors. Rooms are nice and a good size, although not always brilliantly maintained. Good enough though.

There are probably more staff than guests, so service is pretty good. Food is fine but not fantastic. Don't expect the 'bar' to sell drinks!

Watch out for the park fees. If you enter before 5pm, you'll have to pay even if you're only going to the hotel. On subsequent days, you pay if you go up the main drag, but apparently not if you walk in along the other paths. Confusing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath_noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

Average hotel. Nothing positive other than the location.
The rooms are too expensive for what is offered.Better hotels available in Bharatpur for less. We checked out a few. Rooms are clean esp toilets but not well maintened.
The hotel has an Old lodge look, and so is the attitude by the staff in the restaurant. Food was bad and so was the service.Menu is limited and on one day we were offered buffet dinner which we were forced to take(not informed earlier). For the buffet(overpriced)- Food was bad, icecream had melted and no one cared.
Room service is only for tea and served withing 15mins. Waking up to birds chirping and in a forest is the best part of our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a North Wing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VijB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
2.2 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#2 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#8 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.7 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli - An Amritara Private Hideaways
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#10 of 14 in Bharatpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#14 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#12 of 14 in Bharatpur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)

Property: Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Address: | Inside Keoladeo National Park, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,815 - ₹ 4,713
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok is located right in the middle of the Keoladeo National Park, A true delightful destination for bird watchers. Come and experience staying inside a National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda and Yatra so you can book your Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel Bharatpur
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing