We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
Agoda.com
StayForLong
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
163
66
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
163
66
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews place to stay birders guide sanctuary gh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2019

Rooms, toilets,walkways, corridors are clean and nicely decorated with the pots and plants. Good service. Value for the money. Not very far from the Bird Sanctuary.
Good home cooked food available on choice with prior intimation.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohitS1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2019

This is our second stay at the Iora. It's small and welcoming and is ideally placed for the Park. The owners are making a real effort. Food is good. Bharatpur is much more that the Park and I recommend visiting the town and its museum. it's also not far from Deeg which is stunning!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janee898
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2019 via mobile

Looking at the high rating on various sites, including TripAdvisor, we choose this place for our visit to Bharatpur for a family visit. But I have never been so wrong.
Despite the fact that the behaviour of the staff and food were both good, some things were weird.
For instance, the AC rooms had only 2 lights within the room on power back - not even a fan. Two power cuts during our stay (one scheduled during 6-6.30 am) and one impromptu implied that our sleep was disturbed twice. I raised the issue to the reception but the response was that inverter could only take as much - which was a response I had never heard earlier. A slightly bigger battery+inverter could easily take care of this. I found that only the rooms on ground floor which were both non AC had backup.
Additionally during our stay the cable didn't work. When we asked we were told the recharge was due and will be done promptly but it never worked. Apparently the place was seeing less traffic and didn't want to spend unnecessarily on cable charges on few customers. Among other aspects which were not impressive were that the thin blankets provided were stained and didn't look clean.
On the positive side the food served both at dinner and breakfast were quite good and even tea was quite good. The staff too was polite and was responsive. But given the issues faced, we had to cut our stay from 2 nights to 1 night and which of course ended our Bharatpur trip prematurely.
I won't recommend this place.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nilabhkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iorahouse54, Owner at Iora Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2019

Hello Sir.
Thank you for the review.
I am sorry we didn't matched your expectations. It seems you were expecting a luxurious stay, while we run a small and cozy guest house which has no less comfortable, but obviously not luxurious.
The powercut was scheduled and we can't help it, but we do provide fan facility in dining area.
In this budget we're doing whatever best we can.
You were free to switch to another hotel if you were not liking our property.
And, I personally came to your room and get the TV checked, and switched to the channel you requested.
And, the laundry came just two days prior to your check in, so there's no questions of stains on the quilt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2019

Location – The guest house is located in one of the bye lanes off the Jaipur Agra highway and is about 10 minutes rickshaw ride from the star attraction of Bharatpur i.e Keoladeo National Park.

Guest House – The guest house belongs to Mr. Devendra Singh and is managed by him alongwith his brother. Devendra who earlier has worked as guide and naturalist in various wildlife resorts. Devendra was all help in answering all our queries before the booking and providing advice. The guest house is small and the premises itself is neat and clean. It was surprising that he did not ask for an advance as the time of booking the room and just simply said if you are cancelling the visit then kindly inform in advance.

The guest house has 6 rooms with attached toilets. The guest house is primarily for persons who just want to visit Keoladeo National Park, hence one will mostly find photographers and birders and not the holiday/picnic crowd. The look of the guest house is enhanced with potted plants all over with a variety of colourful flowers which enhances the ambience.

The dining room is on the ground floor next to the kitchen and is well stocked with books. Devendra also helped us in hiring a car for our visit to National Chambal Sanctuary near Dholpur. He had also arranged two richshaw puller cum guides for our visits into the bird park. A good rickshaw puller cum guide is essential to have good time.

They also offer bicycles if the guests want to use it for moving inside the bird park.

Rooms : We being 3 of us, we had asked for an extra bed. On being led to our room on the first floor, I was pleasantly surprised as the room was quite big. I initially had thought that the 3rd bed would be small in size which was not the case. The room was equipped with a double sized bed, TV and a big rack for storing clothes, bags, accessories, etc.

The rooms, bathroom, mattress and linens were neat and clean and there was no musty smell even though it was peak winter.

Food : We had opted for an American Plan and veg food. The best thing is that we can have the choice of our food and not pre-decided dishes by the management as generally is the case. We used to inform Devendra what we wanted for next meal and he would graciously prepare them. In the morning we used to have alo parathas with toast and the lunch and dinner would consist of chapattis, rice, dal and vegetables of our choice. We were never forced to have food as per the guest house’s choice. The food was simple and very tasty and we really relished the food. If required then the guest house can arrange to send breakfast and lunch for the guests who are visiting the bird park. For many this is a boon as visitors mainly the photographers and birders can leave for the bird park early in the morning and return in the evening.

Staff – The guest house has negligible staff as I could just see 2 other people and one being the cook who would also do other chores. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Activities –As the prime reason for visiting Bharatpur is the bird park, there is nothing else to do in the guest house except for having rest after a full day of birding and photography.

However, one can visit National Chambal Sanctuary near Dholpur about (2 hours drive) for a birding mainly for skimmers and gharials though a variety of bird and animal can be seen. Also Fatehpur Sikri is not very far off and can be visited for an afternoon session.

Conclusion – It was an enjoyable and comfortable stay.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gautam_Rathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2019

This is the place to stay in Bharatpur, close to the Park...the owners are absolutely friendly and always have a yes to everything, you are helped with your birding too. The room comfort is Good...Food is like home made and fresh.
Unfortunately couldn't meet Devendra Singh the owner as he was not in town, but his absence was more than made up by his brother.
Take my word there are other fancy looking hotels in Bharatpur but this is the place to stay.

Room tip: all rooms are good
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nizarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews