We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Charming”
Review of Mahal Khas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mahal Khas Palace
Reviewed 26 February 2017

After a nice trip through Keoladeo National park, we were looking for a place for lunch. Saw Mahalkhas Palace Restaurant on map and decided to give it a try.

Finding the place took a bit longer. Once you enter Lohagarh fort, entry to this place is inside one of the by-lanes. Although it was well marked but since main gate was closed with no one in sight so it took longer.

Once inside we were warmly greeted by the staff who were courteous and prompt in their service. We sat in the verandah inside the old palace. Food was excellent and we had a good time. Thanks to the staff for their hospitality.

This place has rooms to stay as well and we could see people arriving and relaxing in the open court. Note - do not expect a shinning palace when you visit as it is not best kept from outside but has great staff and nice feel about it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amardeep S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Mahal Khas Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2017

Based on the ratings on TA, we booked the Mahal Khas at Bharatpur, for a weekend stay.
The property is a heritage property indeed, with most of the exteriors un-changed. Even some parts inside are in the heritage category.
One does feel let down on account of irritants which include, no shower curtain in the bath, television sets which are also in the heritage category, water pressure in the bath being very low, plug points which need replacement and the lack of staff results in slow service. The staff is extremely sensitive, humble and they are clearly doing their best to cope! Yes, the food is a tad expensive.
Older folks, don’t even attempt this place, steep flight of stairs to be negotiated! Though they are working on some rooms at the ground level.
If some of the basics are put in place, this can be a good place to stay. Considering the owners personal involvement at the property, surprised as to why these things are left open.
Unless one is completely hung up on a heritage tag; the Birders Inn near the Keoladeo National Park seems a better bet. Of course, for bird watchers, the ITDC Ashok, inside the park is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Not much of a choice
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rajivbharathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

Hotel: Palace of maharaja Surajmal located near the heritage walk of lohagarh fort.location is suitable for people willing to stay within the city.not very far from the bird sanctuary .a palace of historical importance.
Look and ambience: the entry to the palace is ok and convenient but the facade is not very great.restoration of the facade is in progress.the central courtyard is beautiful as it gives you a true palatial feel while sitting on those "muddhas". Dining area was nice and clean.overall a cozy place with history embedded in it.
Got a chance to catch up with the owner of the place,he was kind enough to showcase us the property.there are some amazing real gold paintings on the ceilings which he showed us.he also told us the history behind the palace and its significance during the times of Jat ruler maharaja surajmal ji.which added to the charm of our stay.
Rooms: huge rooms and perhaps huge is the understatement while I say this.can be little more furnished but that might perhaps hamper the history.have been staying in modern days hotel all this while so perhaps u find it to be little laid back but if u want to take the feel of a restored haveli/mahal it's just fine.u won't get those spring mattresses but a comfortable bed.the vintage look dressing tables..royal looking beds....led television...study table...couch...almost everything... can easily be called out as a suite room.
Bathroom: almost the size of a hotel room in a metro city....clean washrooms but with very basic amenities.
Services: the "khammagani" and "hukam" styles were nice. Don't expect a five star style of service...its more on a homely side..food is nice and decently priced.
Negatives: not a modern day hotel with modern amenities...facade needs to be restored..
Positive:staff was very courteous n prompt...ownership had no air and are engaged in the hotel which ensures the service standards..lovely food...

Overall it's a worth a visit as the place is not that far from Delhi it's a 3 hours drive...ideal location for a weekend getaway.homely feel...and affordable royalty.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank 391samarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

Loved the place. Great service by staff. Food was above average and they provided cake and balloon for my baby daughter (on request).
The property itself was nicely located although I felt they cud add more activities especialy local shows and keep the guests engaged...

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank melevetil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Arjun
"I just wanted to drop you a short note to thank you both very much for our wonderful holiday. Bharatpur was a million times more magical than I had expected and it has to be the best holiday we have ever had just because of your hospitality. The organization of the trip was just perfect and we were so spoilt everywhere we went.

In the meantime I will not hesitate to recommend your company to everyone that asks us about our trip as I don't think anyone could have been better looked after than we I thank you both very much,with best wishes
And last but not the least thank you Mahal khas we hope to visit you again.

Room Tip: Choose deluxe or sweet room
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arjunsinghmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
0.0 km away
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
#1 of 15 in Bharatpur
443 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
242 reviews
0.0 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#13 of 15 in Bharatpur
230 reviews
0.0 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#6 of 15 in Bharatpur
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahal Khas Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahal Khas Palace

Address: Lohagarh Fort, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bharatpur
Price Range: ₹ 3,579 - ₹ 8,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bharatpur – The “Eastern Gateway to Rajasthan”, and Lohagarh Fort were built by Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733 A.D. The Lohagarh Fort, true to its name stood solidly in the face of many British attacks, frosted them to ends. It faced the British onslaught four times and after a long siege they had to withdraw. During the British empire, the state covered an area of 5,123 sq. km. Its rulers enjoyed a salute of 17 guns. The state acceded unto the domination of India 1947A.D. Mahalkhas Palace is situated in the middle of Lohagarh Fort. The palace is a fine blend of Mughal and Rajput architecture built in 1826 by Maharaja Balwant Singh who was a successor to great Jat ruler Maharaja Suraj mal. It had been residential palace of Bharatpur rulers up to 1965. Now it has been converted into a heritage hotel. It has a huge courtyards, beautiful wall paintings and marvelous carvings on sand stone. In its fine dining restaurant, we do serve Indian, continental and Chinese food. All 12 rooms are en suit with ornate pierced stone windows (Jharokas) and have all new amenities. The stay at Mahal Khas Palace will take you in a royal era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Mahal Khas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahal Khas Palace Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing