We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully done heritage stay”
Review of Mahal Khas Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mahal Khas Palace
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The place is beautiful, perfectly done interiors and decorations giving you a heritage feel to the core, we were a group of 9 people and had a very comfortable stay.
The only negative is the pricing of the essentials, e.g a Mutton dish was for 400 while a single tandoori Roti was for 80, every single facility had a price tag to it, at one point they even refused to boil Milk for my toddler and insisted that we purchase 1 glass milk from their Kitchen even for the baby 1 glass milk was priced at Rs 120 excluding taxes!
Their staff misguided us for the sanctuary visit telling us that we should visit early morning as by 9:30 -10 all the birds take flight, later we came to know they do that to avoid giving free Breakfast included in the tarrif to the guests as the Breakfast ends at 9:30. We contacted their owner Abhayveer Singh Ji and he did resolve this issue for us and asked his team to provide late breakfast to us after our sanctuary visit. apart from the owner i think most of the staff was having an attitude/inclination to squeeze money for any & everything possible e.g. serving food on the roof along with the Bonfire which when corrected would make this place a perfect heritage hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!!!

Thank you for sharing your feedback with regard to your stay at Mahalkhas Palace.

At the outset, please do accept my sincere personal apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay at our hotel. We endeavor to be consistent in ensuring that we deliver excellent service.

I have since addressed the issues with the concerned department heads personally. I assure you that corrective action has been taken and I am confident you will notice a marked improvement during your next stay with us.

While I can fully understand that this might have marred your impression of Mahalkhas Palace, please allow me to assure you that this represents a departure from our normal standards of service and we would greatly appreciate an opportunity to correct your perception.

We look forward to your support and patronage to Mahalkhas Palace and also welcoming you back.

Look forward to meet you during your next trip.

Warm Regards

Abhayveer Singh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (42)
There are newer reviews for Mahal Khas Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Decent rooms with a good value for money. Staff is courteous. The Hotel is strategically located very near to the Railway Station. Rooms are spacious & there is option available for vegetarian food. The courtyard is nice & is surrounded by balconies on all the four sides.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shrinivas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!
We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you had a nice experience at our hotel. Looking forward to serving you again in future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This place is ideal for a quick family trip which is hardly any distance from Delhi especially with Noida-Agra expressway proving to be a BOON for people like us living in the metro.When we reached bhartpur, mahalkhas it was an amazing drive to the hotel and the Old Palace feeling we got when we reached with our children & elders it was an excellent choice, quiet and historic and fun filled evenings with complete family party scene.The waiters are very decent & Quick even being a Big Fort like place they were prompt with all the correct approach for a good service.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are very peaceful & amazing. In the night the terrace bonfire gives an amaz...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BABA_BHAIYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!
We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you had a amazing experience at our hotel. Looking forward to serving you again in future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

There are some places and people that you never forget even after many moons have passed . The Mahal Khas Palace was one of those places the memories of which will always be cherished by me and my family. Mr Abhay Vir Singh and his Lady wife are GREAT hosts. The stay was a real comfort as compared to the other places where you have to suffer the noise of the traffic on the Highway the whole night. A Real Heritage building being beautifully renovated to its original splendor. The clear and majestic view of the whole area is a bonus. The rooms and the bathrooms are spacious and tastefully done. The local touch to the cuisine does wonders to your appetite. But the most important and cherished thing about the whole visit was the personal touch of Mr Abhay Vir Singh and his Lady wife. Hope to keep coming back many more times . Thank you for everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and have something special about them.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank twitaksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!
We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you had a unforgettable experience at our hotel. Looking forward to serving you again in future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Located in the middle of Lohagarh fort - built in 1826 by Maharaja Balwant Singh - is a Mughal architecture. It has 2 large patios, has beautiful murals and sculptures. It offers 4 bedrooms and 4 Deluxe Suites beautifully decorated. The rooms have a private balcony. Indian and continental cuisine available.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abhayveer S, Owner at Mahal Khas Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Mahalkhas Palace!!!
We thank you for sparing your precious time and writing a review for our Hotel. We are extremely glad to know that you had a nice experience at our hotel. Looking forward to serving you again in future.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
0.0 km away
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
#1 of 15 in Bharatpur
443 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
242 reviews
0.0 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#13 of 15 in Bharatpur
230 reviews
0.0 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
331 reviews
0.0 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#6 of 15 in Bharatpur
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahal Khas Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahal Khas Palace

Address: Lohagarh Fort, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bharatpur
Price Range: ₹ 3,579 - ₹ 8,721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bharatpur – The “Eastern Gateway to Rajasthan”, and Lohagarh Fort were built by Maharaja Suraj Mal in 1733 A.D. The Lohagarh Fort, true to its name stood solidly in the face of many British attacks, frosted them to ends. It faced the British onslaught four times and after a long siege they had to withdraw. During the British empire, the state covered an area of 5,123 sq. km. Its rulers enjoyed a salute of 17 guns. The state acceded unto the domination of India 1947A.D. Mahalkhas Palace is situated in the middle of Lohagarh Fort. The palace is a fine blend of Mughal and Rajput architecture built in 1826 by Maharaja Balwant Singh who was a successor to great Jat ruler Maharaja Suraj mal. It had been residential palace of Bharatpur rulers up to 1965. Now it has been converted into a heritage hotel. It has a huge courtyards, beautiful wall paintings and marvelous carvings on sand stone. In its fine dining restaurant, we do serve Indian, continental and Chinese food. All 12 rooms are en suit with ornate pierced stone windows (Jharokas) and have all new amenities. The stay at Mahal Khas Palace will take you in a royal era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Mahal Khas Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mahal Khas Palace Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing