We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel-Friendly staff. Ask for all you need prior to your booking.”
Review of Hotel Sunbird

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sunbird
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bharatpur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Good rooms, good garden, friendly staff. Located quiet close to the bird sanctuary-infact, it`s walking distance. The restaurant serves average food - we were not that happy with our food. The only other meal we ate there was our breakfast as it was part of our booking. Would recommend this place for stay only.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivax777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

Both hotel room and food was ok, but nothing special. However, the staff was friendly and the hotel is located only 2 minutes walk from the Bird Sanctuary's Main Entrance.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EagleOwl099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We, a group of 10 (5 couples), spent one night at this hotel. Extremely helpful-from booking the rooms to checking out. We had three cottages and 2 rooms in the main building. Though the hotel is on the main road just a few minutes from the entrance to the Keoladeo Bird Sanctuary it was very peaceful inside. The rooms and cottages all face a garden which has a thatched sitting place in the centre. Nothing fancy but clean and nice. The food was a la carte but they took all our preferences into consideration as they aim to please. Would have loved to spend a few more nights here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mesh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

It is unexpectedly a very good hotel which I can not thing of in place like Bharatpur. The rooms are made like village huts (cottage) and the restaurant is made like forest camp fire place. It is worth having a night there

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

My wife, 8 year old daughter & I stayed at Hotel Sunbird on 31st May / 1st June 2011. We wanted to visit the Keoladeo Bird Sanctuary and this hotel is very conveniently located.

We had booked a double deluxe room & paid for it nearly 3 months in advance through a (well known) travel agency. However, due to a goof up at the end of the travel agency, the payment was not received by the hotel when we arrived to check in. The staff at the reception were not exactly friendly & welcoming! However, when the owner, Mr. Lakshman entered the scene a little later, he was warm & pleasant. The matter was sorted out soon between the travel agency & the hotel...but the initial lack of welcome left a bad taste in the mouth.

We were given a choice of a Bungalow or a regular double deluxe room. We settled for the latter as it was bigger. May - June is the height of summers in Bharatpur & the AC in the room was not as effective as it should have been. There was a power cut in the middle of the night. But thankfully, power was restored about 15 minutes later after we made a call from the room to the reception.

The place, both inside and outside the room was teeming with huge lizards- which made my daughter very 'uncomfortable' to put it mildly. The toilet was ok. It could have been cleaner. The television signal kept going off & returning on its own - so, finally we switched it off.

Mr. Lakshman, the owner, was very friendly & pleasant. I parked my car within the compound of his house at night as I was not happy with the idea of parking it outside the hotel - bang on the Jaipur highway.

The food was a bit of a let down. The soup was very salty. Overall, most of the dishes were salty. The chicken was so-so. The vegetarian dishes were better.

Overall summary - ok place to spend a night or two - if you want to visit Keoladeo. I believe its better than a lot of other hotels in the neighbourhood - but it was not a great hotel experience!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelnama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
2.7 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#7 of 16 in Bharatpur
294 reviews
1.2 km away
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
Laxmi Vilas Palace Hotel
#1 of 16 in Bharatpur
492 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
Hotel Udai Vilas Palace
#5 of 16 in Bharatpur
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#12 of 16 in Bharatpur
25 reviews
1.3 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#15 of 16 in Bharatpur
339 reviews
2.2 km away
The Bagh
The Bagh
#4 of 16 in Bharatpur
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunbird? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunbird

Address: Near Bird Sanctuary Gate, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price Range: ₹ 2,785 - ₹ 3,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sunbird 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Hotel Sunbird we offer you the best of everything - food, comfort and hospitality.We assure you that you will not feel homesick at Hotel Sunbird because we believe in the personal touch in offering you a home away from home. Our Bedrooms are well furnished and spotlessly clean, as are the bathrooms (with hot and cold running water).The entrance to Keoladeo National Park is just a few hundred metres away. Our staff is in touch with the park staff and know the best and most knowledgeable bird guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MakeMyTrip, Yatra, ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sunbird reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunbird Bharatpur, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing