We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“tiny rooms, congested outside,” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel CJ International

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel CJ International
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Amritsar
surat
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“tiny rooms, congested outside,”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

we reached there on 17 may12. it has tiny rooms. I have been charged 1.5 times for the extra bed.
but there was no place to put that mattress in the tiny room. car was not allowed to go to the hotel doorstep by the police due to traffic. So with our luggage we have to walked quite a distance.

the rates shown on the website and rates on the hotel reception are different.

no need to go to a hotel near the golden temple. the autos are readily available everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shahSurat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sammythegreat, Manager at Hotel CJ International, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Its requested to all travellers, when travel more than 2 people pls book higher category rooms either super dlx or suites than std executive rooms. STD ROOMS ARE STANDARD with AC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    110
    102
    47
    43
See reviews for
174
76
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southern England
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

I chose this hotel for the location. There is something to be said for my strategy because I wouldn't have wanted the hassle of wandering the congested, confusing streets of Amritsar searching for my hotel- this one is easy to find, as you just head for the Golden Temple- which is clearly visible- and it is right opposite. It was also ideal as a solo female traveller as I could visit the Golden Temple at night without any worry for my security.

The hotel was fine but really nothing special and very overpriced. I paid double the price I paid in other northern Indian cities for similar accomodation. The prices are initially quoted without taxes, which just came across as a bit of a con. My room had windows but no view, and looked quite old and tired. I did see the larger deluxe rooms which have been decorated in a plusher, more modern style but they have a much higher price to reflect this- in the region of 3,000 -4,000 rupees.

Whilst I was there they were refitting the staircase, which involved a lot of rubble and chiselling of concrete- which was dirty and inconvenient. I think they could have instructed the workmen to at least stop while a guest was walking down the stairs. On the plus side, they let me store my luggage and they phoned for a train for me and the staff were generally helpful. Possibly when this hotel is refurbished it will be a lot better; there did seem to be plans underway to improve the hotel. There is a great view of the Golden Temple from the roof, but again the roof is currently in a state of rubble and needs a lot of work- there is huge potential here for a lovely roof terrace so hopefully management will ensure this happens soon.

Finally, Amritsar at the weekend is very busy, even out of season in April when there's no special festival taking place, so wherever you stay, you should book in advance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rubiachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We booked this hotel over the internet because it looked clean and bright, but were very disappointed to find that the room we got was nothing like the photos shown on their website. Don't be fooled by the website which makes it out to be much better than what it is. It is way overpriced for what you get. Apart from the dusty, dingy, musty "luxury" room, they "forgot" to mention that they are renovating (which meant dust, hammering & sawing all day and into the evening and a half-built handrail in the stairwell at ankle level - which would only be useful for small children.) They also "forgot" to mention that there is a massive construction site between the hotel and the Golden Temple, with jack-hammering between 8 am and and 8 pm every day. A simple breakfast of toast and tea on our first day took more than one hour to arrive, and then we had to wait another 10 minutes for the milk for the tea. Apart from one young woman at the front desk, front desk staff were quite brusque. When we enquired about a possible discount because of the renovations which were not mentioned when we booked via email, they claimed that the renovations had only just started (??) and that they had no way of contacting us. Even though we had booked by email ... The manager was unwilling to consider a reduction in the room rate and did not not seem to care at all about the hotel's reputation. Only 2 positives about staying here - complimentary wifi and proximity to the the Golden Temple. We only stayed because we particularly wanted to go to the temple at different times of the day and evening. If you want to stay in this area (ie close to the Golden Temple), check out hotels on the other side of the temple as they are much cheaper and cleaner.

Room Tip: While rooms at the front do have a view of part of the Golden Temple (but not the golden bits), they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4zephyrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stay here if u wish to visit the Darbar Sahib frequently.Otherwise not.Its really close to the shrine,and thats the only good part about it.The rooms are tiny.NO outside view,u cant view anythng,let alone the Golden temple.We had breakfast which was honestly good.They are renovating their building,which does cause troubles when u try to sleep in.Noises and dust here and there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stalin2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We were doing golden temple tour and found this hotel was as close as we could get. Amazing location considering one of my family members cannot walk too far. Staff accommodating and friendly to us. Only probs were some minor renovations but they apologised frequently and sincerely.
We only ate breakfast there but it was very good. We were also very happy with our room was neat and clean.
We received a lot of help from staff with our needs such as booking tours. One staff took the time to help us book a tour in another city which was nice cause you know for sure there is no commission there. Yet he was helpful and patient with all our needs. Great place.great location.

Room Tip: Super delux was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aditi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel City Heart
Hotel City Heart
#29 of 92 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Darbar View
Hotel Darbar View
#42 of 92 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.2 km away
Abode UNA Xpress
Abode UNA Xpress
#20 of 92 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#8 of 92 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
Hotel Heritage Inn Amritsar
#57 of 92 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Le Golden
Hotel Le Golden
#37 of 92 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel CJ International? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel CJ International

Property: Hotel CJ International
Address: Near Golden Temple, Amritsar 143006, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 92 Hotels in Amritsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,827 - ₹ 4,467
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel CJ International 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is closest to the world’s famous Sikh Shrine beautiful GOLDEN TEMPLE in the city of Amritsar named Hotel CJ International providing international standards, maintaining hygiene & cleanliness. We at Amritsar bring the tourist an opportunity to stay & experience the beautiful journey of Golden Temple a come true visit by just staying opposite to the Shrine overlooking with its view from rooms itself. The beautifully designed hotel is a perfect blend of luxury, comfort, elegance & utility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, OYO Rooms, TravelGuru and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel CJ International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing