We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Property but still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of MK Hotel Amristar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
MK Hotel Amristar
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Old Property but still good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This gives a feel of a old hotel but is still maintained well..

The carpeting is old and stained but otherwise a good property overall. Opposite to the same is a market and a restaurant called Kulcha Land which serves delicious melt in the mouth Kulchas as a breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaymohta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    89
    40
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
28
17
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANSA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

i checked in on 8th dec 2011 and as there was huge rush of vehicles i handed over my car keys to hotel staff. I stayed there for 2 days and next day I found my expensive sunglasses missing from glove box of my car. Hotel staff was not cooperating and insisted that they are all old employees of this hotel and its not possible for them to steel anything. There logic of defence was just a joke and it was obvious they were all shielding one another. i have come across many other people who have lost valuables in this hotel. so if possible avoid this hotel , if u cant, keep your eyes open and dont trust anybody in here.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSBMansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

I arrived quite early by train and could check in immidiately .
So this was great.
Put my luggage there, changed and went to the Golden temple
immidiately as there would be strike soon in the old town.

When I was back I checked the room . The view out of the window was as usual to a dump.

The furniture looked quite new and the bed was very comfy (best during my whole stay), new TV. The bathroom was a little bit older but I got immidiately hot shower so that what counted for me.
I tried then to have lunch and went to the restaurant Taal in the hotel.
All waiters looked quite bored especially the main waitor. I ask for his advice what would be a typically dish for Amritsar , Punjab and he was very unwilling to help and gave answers like all good and then I asked to add a started he choose one and at the payment I saw that he choose a full main course which costs of course much more then any of the starter.
I paid around 1400 INR which was totally overpriced compared to many other restaurants I was in. And during my stay in the restaurant the turned off the light next to me 2 x (no black out) and I had to request to turn on the light.
Afterwards I checked my emails in the office space (2 computers for the guests in the lobby)
and then I saw a big group of teenager checking in . I already had a bad feeling.
They were from a famous school in Delhi and they were of course in my floor.
After coming back from the border and trying to get some sleep in the evening , the chance were 0. The whole group seemed to make a party on the whole floor (not in their rooms)
No adults looking after them.
After complaining to the reception at around midnigh, nothing changed.
I doubt they did anything
Also a direct complain to them didnt of course help
So finally after 2 am it was bit less noisy
So I had like 4,5 hours sleep as I had to leave the hotel early.
It was written that Breakfast was available from 7am.
At 7,15 they opened the door to the restaurant but hardly anything was there prepared
Some cold dishes (which were supposed to be hot) were availabe, guess were there since the day before. So finally I got only 2 toast bread and not drink as of course tea wasn´t ready at all.
So I left at 7.30 "fed" up
The hotel is well located and has nice rooms but they must improve in the service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuSanNiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

Good & Spaciuos hotel ... Big rooms ...not very far from Golden temple ... You can book a car from the hotel itself to travel to Wagah border, you may as well book vehicle from outside..

Excellent customer service, Entire booking was done over phone... Very good value for money .. Was recommended by a friend to put up at this hotel.... I recommend this hotel to the readers as well ..

Regards

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lordoftherings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I stayed in this Hotel as it was booked by my company travel desk. Had a warm front office who did check in fast and got into the room pretty quickly. Good food, decent pool. Other biggest advantage of this hotel it is surrounded by good international eateries too. Yo China, Kobe Sizzlers and Thai restaurant too. But only negative point it is an old hotel and needs to be refurbished. (Especially lobbies and interiors too)>

Other wise its a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Merrion
BEST WESTERN Merrion
#13 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.4 km away
Humble Hotels Amritsar
Humble Hotels Amritsar
#25 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
Park Inn by Radisson, Amritsar Airport
2.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
2.2 km away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MK Hotel Amristar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MK Hotel Amristar

Property: MK Hotel Amristar
Address: Ranjit Mall Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,491 - ₹ 5,624
Hotel Class:4 star — MK Hotel Amristar 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As one of the Amritsar’s most iconic hotels, MK Hotel is simply the place to be in AmritsarWhether you are staying in one of the exquisite rooms and suites, enjoying Amritsari cuisine, indulging in an afternoon tea or unwinding at the bar, you will experience the essence of timeless glamour.M.K. Hotel is ideally located in the historic city of Amritsar, 7 kms from Airport, 3 kms from Railway Station and 4 kms from Downtown Area. Amritsar has many claims to its fame. Being the holy city of Sikhs, it is intimately linked with the colourful history of this martial race, its agriculture produce, woollens, spices and dry fruits. It is the showpiece of prosperity and wealth.M.K. Hotel, a Jewel in he Crown of Amritsar, is the favourite choice of many corporates, celebrities, and world leaders. Spacious and elegant, each room features antique furniture, exceedingly comfortable beds and exceptional combination of style and function. The facilities include a multi-cuisine restaurant to satisfy your taste bud, a well-stocked Bar, round-the-clock coffee shop, six banquet and conference halls perfect for every occasion, a swimming pool, shopping arcade, a fitness center and business center, each aesthetically designed to match the ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with OYO Rooms, Booking.com, ClearTrip, Agoda, Yatra and HotelQuickly so you can book your MK Hotel Amristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mk Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing