We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet, comfortable stay near the railway station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Amritsar
Amritsar, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable stay near the railway station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Near the railwaystation but inside this hotel it's another world. Very quiet, tea watching the green garden. Excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaLover_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    109
    69
    40
    23
See reviews for
32
113
50
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel near the end of five weeks in India and found it to be the worst Hotel of our trip. Reviews in both the Lonely Planet and Tripadivsor meant our hopes were quite high for a nice hotel in a garden setting.
In reality the Grand was very rundown, in the middle of renovations that looked like they would take quite a long time to complete. Our room was the most underwhelming of all we had encountered in India, no character, the bed was much to short for my husband (who is just under 6 ft) and even my feet touched the end (and I am of average height!), TV, which was talked up by the staff and apparently meant we had been 'upgraded' had only one English channel. The bathroom was not very clean, the shower a terrible dribble and took ages to heat up.
The garden, and the whole place really, looked like it needed better looking after. The included breakfast (at an extra price) was not tasty, and not cheap, and when we asked after our first very disappointing breakfast if we could have the rest of our stay without the breakfast included the staff said that was not possible, which really annoyed me. The restaurant prices were very inflated and the food average compared to what we found elsewhere. Internet was not included in the price of the rooms, which were quite high, as we had experienced elsewhere on our stay.
The only good thing about the stay was it was close to the train station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I would stay here again. The location is a minute walk across the road from the railway station, highly convenient when arriving/leaving with luggage! Rickshaws into town are passing right outside the door for very cheap to the main sites.
My room was the most basic/cheapest double. It had a good tv, hot water, a good size bathroom & good size bed. Room smelt a bit musty.. The rooms don't seem to get much natural light or air circulation. The garden courtyard is lovely & the food excellent!!
Staff were always helpful and friendly.
The tour to the border crossing/mata temple/golden temple at night was a great way to see the sites comfortably for 500INR.
You can conveniently pay by cash or Visa card.
There is also free wifi for guests.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amoslandrybasket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Decent and clean, with sizable pleasant courtyard (where meals can be taken) as well as enclosed restaurant (Amritsar can be chilly in the winter). All but the cheapest rooms well insulated from the street noise outside. Unfortunately, in our 2011 visit, fouled up our reservation intended to assure us a room and a hot shower when we arrived very early in the morning (but not the rest of our reservation), though we did get into rooms fairly early that day (and ultimately got hot water). In effect, we were charged for a room we didn’t get. Decided to try them again in 2012 and had no problem. Hotel clearly visible from the northeast entrance to the train station parking/staging area. Easily walkable from there, especially if you use the pedestrian overcrossing over Grand Trunk / Queens Rd. just to the south / your left as you reach the northeast station entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I showed up in Amritsar at 2am off the only train from Pathankot I could find. The staff at Hotel Grand let me in even though they didn't have a room for me, and let me rest in the lobby after a long journey. The next morning they had a very clean and nice room for me, with a hot shower and plenty of space. The green courtyard in the center is a much needed oasis from the craziness that is Amritsar and the business of the wonderful Golden Temple. The food in the cafe located inside the hotel was great. The 500 IR tour of the Indo/pak border ceremony+the golden temple at night was a great deal for anyone looking do go there. Most of all, the owner Sanjay and the rest of the staff were always very friendly and helpful with anything I needed. I'm very glad I stayed here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Grand Hridey
Hotel Grand Hridey
#39 of 95 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Basera
Hotel Basera
#50 of 95 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.7 km away
FabHotel Aay Kay Model Town
FabHotel Aay Kay Model Town
#71 of 95 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Axis Inn
Hotel Axis Inn
#48 of 95 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#27 of 95 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Premier
Hotel Premier
#34 of 95 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Queen's Road | Opp. Railway Station, Amritsar 143 001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 95 Hotels in Amritsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,404 - ₹ 1,738
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hotel 2*
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing