We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harmandir Sahib

Harmandir Sahib
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Golden Temple and Wagah Border in Amritsar
Ranked #1 of 66 things to do in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Kolkata
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

the moment u enter the temple , u just forget what it was a step behind . you are memerised , It is heaven on earth and do take a dip in the holy water

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,954
    513
    49
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pilgrimage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Definitely a must even if it's for tourism. We went around 12 noon, as the Indian sun beats down on you at that time. I would recommend going earlier around 9/10ish or later around 3ish as we queued for over an hour and there is no shade so can get quite tiring and hot. But definitely worth it!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Bina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Its food for the SOUL!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

A trip to the Darbar Sahib/Hari Mandir/ Golden temple, is a must if you are comin to Amritsar. It is something that has a haunting effect on you. The multitudes of people, the sea of devotion, the atmosphere. Steeped in history, it is by far one of the most important seats of the SIKH faith. The thing is that in my experience every-time that I have been there, I get lost in the sea of people yet I am all by myself!!! Something about calming chaos!!!
You have to go pay your respects atleast once - oh yes it helps that the dome and other parts have gold plating and marble to the gurdwara, while the interior was decorated with fresco work and gemstones, with several preserved fresco's still there for you to take in!!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank indian-jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Most Inspiring Place to Spend A Day and A Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We spent an afternoon at the Golden Temple and then came back that night to see it glowing beneath a crescent moon. It was very busy even in the early hours of the morning. We ended up sleeping there in a room with about 30 other people for foreign visitors. We could have slept on the marble in the area around the temple but we didn't have blankets. If you have a mat or blanket or sleeping bag, the area around the temple and lake is a magnificent place to sleep.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pat_e321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mera Sab Kush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Can i rated GOD so it is difficult for me to describe about Harimandir Sahib so many aspect are there but this is matter of religious felling so please donot put HARIMANDIR SAHIB in this type of rating thanks

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Parminder_Kalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harmandir Sahib also viewed

 
Amritsar, Punjab
 

Been to Harmandir Sahib? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing