We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“I love the food!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oka Open Kitchen

Oka Open Kitchen
Ranked #46 of 353 Restaurants in Amritsar
Price range: US$ 4 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Indian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Contemporary dining in Amritsar's most stylish licenced restaurant/cafe. Freshly made pizzas and burgers share the menu with kebab platters, healthy options, grills and mocktails. While away an afternoon with Amritsar's smoothest coffee and a selection of home-made desserts or ask our chefs to make your favourite dish from our live counter.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I love the food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

I had heard a lot about Oka and went there with friends. The food is awesome.
And the best is that the owner, a young lad Navneet is all there to look after you. I saw him interacting with guests and suggesting the best of the menu. His staff is super and very hospitable.
While leaving we even met his wife who was very sweet to invite us again!
The choice on the menu is fantastic, I love their mustard fish (if I remember the name of the dish correctly); bottomline there's something for everyone.
Frankly I've been there a few times now and loved it everytime.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivarchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic place to eat and meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

A surprise find in Amritsar as it is much more like a Delhi place. The restaurant downstairs (Astoria) is completely different so do not be confused and make sure you go upstairs to this place if you want a more western style environment.
We had a great chat with the owner Navnit who has spent a lot of time overseas and is married to a foreigner so really understood what we would and wouldnot like, which was a huge help when ordering.
The atmosphere is great here with a superb buzz about it. Plenty of people were enjoying the experience as much as we were.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fayb08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe with Bar !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2011

Found this place very cool. We ordered some Fish snacks, and found very tasty.
But they had only one brand of beer. Not so many people sitting there, we found it nice place to spend some time alone.
Food was also good.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dieselman_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Decent pizza in a very odd location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

I went to Oka based on TripAdvisor reviews. I got there for lunch at 12:30 (admitedly a bit early) and the place was empty-it was empty when i left 75 minutes later. And the location-a very odd, half built, half destroyed shopping center. Wait staff was really friendly and attentive-but i was the ONLY CUSTOMER. I ordered grilled vegetable pizza. The pizza did have lots of veggies on it- yellow and red peppers, broccoli, etc., but nothing was grilled and the sauce tasted very much like ketchup or very sweet tomato sauce. However, Oka has the cheapest beer in India- 80Rs for a bottle of Tuborg from Denmark-a great respite from Kingfisher!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NeroNewDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in all aspects!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Oka is by far one of the restaurants that I have visited not only in Amritsar but all of Punjab.
The food served at this urban-chic restaurant is of superior quality and the taste leaves you lip smacking and finger licking. Hygiene, prompt and good service are some of it's other virtues.
I would highly recommend the Oka Cafe and it's definitely worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jamm23466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oka Open Kitchen also viewed

 
Amritsar, Punjab
 
Amritsar, Punjab
 

Been to Oka Open Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing