We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel - Modern, Clean with Excellent Service”
Review of Comfort Inn GSK

Comfort Inn GSK
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn GSK
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
London, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Modern, Clean with Excellent Service”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Excellent Hotel - Modern, Clean with Excellent Service

I would definatley recommend this hotel. The only thing that would have "put the icing on the cake" would yhave been a complementary airport pick up (which is usually expected).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank d33_singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIGSK, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn GSK, responded to this review, 6 September 2010
It is indeed a pleasure to make our guests stay pleasant with us. We follow the formula "Ability+Daily Improvement=Excellence". Thus appreciate the valuable feedbacks from our guests. We will definitely consider the Airport Pick Up issue suggested by the guest and decide upon it shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The stay in Comfort Inn was nice and cozy. The ppl out there were very nice, polite and courteous, and always willing to help. The food was good. Except for a few things the stay was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subratodasgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I travelled to Amritsar a over the weekend in July with my family (parents, brother and sister-in-law, my wife & infant kid) for a couple of days. We decided to stay at Comfort Inn GSK consideing that it would be a pleasant stay as it is a world-renowned chain of hotels. However, to our dismay, it turned out to be sheer disappointment. We had taken 3 deluxe rooms for 2 nights.

There are a series of events that I don't think I would be able to elaborate due to space and time constraints on my part. So, let me split our experience in two parts : Poor and Good.

Poor : Extremely bad maintenance - cleanliness was not upto our expectations. On checking-in, bathroom was not cleaned properly (not even basic hygiene level) and some sanitary fittings in bathroom were not working. There was no hot water available and even on asking for it, it refused to show-up in the shower area which obviously was a major problem for us with the infant kid who was unfortunately not well. The refrigerator in any of the 3 rooms that we had didnt have adequate cooling, as a result of which my infant kiddo had to spend a night without any milk since the milk which we ordered from the in-room dining got spoilt in the refrigerator. The lights in the wardrobe area and in the bathrooms were not working (in any of the 3 rooms) whihc were not fixed despite repeated complaints and even after the maintenance guy coming and checking on the problem. The rooms were not cleaned after the lunch that we had in the room despite repeated requests. When our room was cleaned, the housekeeping guys left all everything in the gallery right in front of our room, for which we again complained to the housekeeping manager who was there for a round and all he did was to apologise but do nothing about it. The towel in our room were not cleaned properly and was even torn - something which you would expect to be there in the bathroom for you to use.The upholstery of the sofa chair in the room had huge stains which, to me, was very unhygienic. And to mention the highlight of the stay - camera from my parents room got stolen! On complaining this to the manager and telling him that I would like to see the CCTV footage, it was promptly back in the room within a cuple of hours! And believe me, ithere was no mistake in searching for the camera - all of us looked for it all the 3 rooms just in case, but couldnt find it and on our return to the hotel in the evening, it was kept right in the front in the closet (how could we have missed it during our search). The hotel management didnt share the CCTV footage or the door-entry report during our absence (they had incidentally come and taken the record from the door lock through a machine since it was the electronic door lock with the card-type entry).

Good : Food was very good...we liked it (though the breakfast didnt have too many options and it was ok). The property is very nice from a quality point of view but it is not being kept properly at all...the maintenance is extremely bad and I can bet the hotel wouldn't survive for too long if the maintenace isn't improved. They have all quality fittings and accessories but the way they are being maintained is in a pathetic shape. This is surely a dent on Comfort Inn (Choice hotels) reputation and long-term objective. The existing management doesnt seem to be capable of running it efficiently. The in-room dining service was very good with efficient service - the staff was good but only the in-room dining staff. Rest were not. The deluxe rooms were spacious and with decent quality furniture/fittings but it should have been maintained much better.

In a nut-shell, it's a good property but the maintenance was extremely bad...a huge disappointment!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohitagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIGSK, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn GSK, responded to this review, 5 August 2010
We thank all our guests for choosing our hotel. After investigating on the allegations posted on the above review, following are the facts we found behind the story-

1. The biggest and most important accusation was the theft of the camera from Room No- 401. All our rooms has electronic Door Locks which are operated by Key Card with unique access code for every lock, and this access code changes every time a new arrival is entered in the system for that particular room. And the best feature of the electronic locks are that we can get the door audit report which shows how many times the lock was opened during a period with which key card and at what time. We have already mailed the scanned copy of the Door Lock Audit Report of that particular room for the entire period of his stay. We have marked with Red Rectangle to the part, been claimed that some one entered into the room and stolen the camera and later on kept it in the same place. But according to the report, once the guest entered the room at 13:55:09 hrs on 24th July 2010, the lock was not opened till 22:14 hrs. That is the time the guests came back from the Golden Temple Trip. After that between 22:14 hrs till 23:11 hrs, every time the room was opened by the key which was with the guest!!!!!! The report is with us. Anyone interested can mail us to see the report.

2. Second major allegation was that the infant kid was without milk throughout the night. It is really unfortunate to know that; as we have 24 hours In-Room Dinning Department operating to support our guests from all around the world, 24X7. Apart from that we have 24 hours Coffee Shop (Pavillion) which is very rare in Amritsar City. All the informations related these are given in the Guest Folder present in the Writing Desk of each room. So ordering Food & Beverage any time is just one call away from our guests.

3.Another major allegation is that the Breakfast we serve does not have much options!!! In the Buffet Breakfast, we provide a combination of American and Indian Breakfast. In the buffet we provide 2 types of fruit juice, Cut Fruit Platter, Breakfast Cereals (Corn Flakes, Wheat Flakes and Muesly) with Milk, Eggs To Order, Toasted Bread with Preserves (Jam, Marmalade, Butter), 1 South Indian Dish (Idly, Vada, Poha, Upma, Uttapam, Dosa) with Sambar, 2 North Indian Dishes (Punjabi Paratha, Chhole-Bhature, Poori-Bhaji etc.), Continental Dishes (French Toast, Poridge etc, Grilled Tomato, Baked Beans, Hash Brown Potato etc.), Tea, Coffee. We keep proper breakfast variety in the buffet as lot of our regular guests are from diifeernt Multi National Companies and major Corporate Houses of India. They always prefer to start the day with a heavy breakfast. So we take care of that with the proper breakfast buffet.

4. All our rooms are fitted with international branded furnitures and equipment. All our rooms are wooden floored, has LCD Television, Electronic Locker with Password which is set by the guest so that they can keep their valuables very safely, Tea-Coffee Maker, Iron with Iron Board. Our bathrooms has international branded bathroom fittings. All has Power Showers with Glass Partition to the shower area. And to maintain our standard, all the rooms are thoroughly checked for house keeping and maintenance job after every check out. Our repeated guests and their reviews are the proof of their satisfaction.

Being an International Branded Hotel, we are always on our toes to keep our standard upto the expectation level of our guests from different parts of the globe and we are dedicated and devoted to continue doing so for the long term sustainability.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I had stayed there over the weekend. This place is really very bad and is not fit to be called a hotel. The towels were so dirty and almost black in colour. Half of the lights in the room were not working, there was no drinking water in the room. If you want hot water you need to tell call at the reception 30 mins before so that they can switch on the water heater (well before this experience i though i had to ask for hot water only at a low standard guesthouse and a hotel which boasts to be 4 start should have running hot water). The bed linen was no exception it as dirty as it could be.
Well if i can talk about the corridors, then it appeared that they are wiped and cleaned only once a week as they were so dirty.

All in all i will sincerely advice to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Morereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading(UK)
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Firstly Hotel Location is in good area. Not far from Golden temple and train station.
Hotel staff is very friendly, always ready to support. My family member was not happy with air conditioning, they immediately provided them a new room.
Room Service was very good. Hotel food is good though we enjoyed it only once.
All over we enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — good room
  • Disliked — small hotel
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pryank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.3 km away
Comfort Inn Alstonia
Comfort Inn Alstonia
#24 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.3 km away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.2 km away
HK Clarks Inn
HK Clarks Inn
#21 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#17 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.3 km away
Best Western Merrion
Best Western Merrion
#13 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn GSK? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn GSK

Property: Comfort Inn GSK
Address: 110 Albert Road Near Mall Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,666 - ₹ 3,111
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing