We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD GUESTHOUSE”
Review of Sharma Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sharma Guest House
Ranked #54 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
quebec
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“GOOD GUESTHOUSE”
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We found this guesthouse after refusing a lonely’s planet GH just close to. Sharma GH is clean, confortable, 5 mn walk to golden temple. Owner is very helpful. Nothing bad to tell about this place. Ask for a room at backside with view on the garden. So, you can hear the bird’s songs in the morning ...To be recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joellejeancharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    13
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
10
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

This Hotel is perfectly located (3min walk to the golden temple) in an area with lots of other guest houses, restaurants, etc... The staff was really friendly, caring and absolutely helpful in all matters (restaurant tips, travel advice, sight seeing tips, transportation ...) , which we did not expect after we have slept in the dirty, noisy and poorly maintained rooms. Considering the price, service and location it is ok for one night (if you bring your own sleeping bag)!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reise_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharmaGuestHouse, Manager at Sharma Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Dear Reise Daniel,

We are looking into the details and the room you have stayed in.I on behalf of Sharma Guest House apologise for any incovenience you had and we will look into the matter and resolve it to the earliest.

Our motive is to serve our customers the best and we will try that our customers do not face any concerns.

Thanks
Sharma Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Maybe we got unlucky since many of the reviews of Sharma Guesthouse are amazing.

We stayed in a double room with fan and private bath for 400INR. The room and bathroom size were good. The room was not very clean and the sheets looked like they had not been changed in years. The worse was the mattress, which was about an inch thick in spots. We folded it in half and used our sleep sack to get us through the night.

The location however is amazing. A short walk to the Golden Temple and lots of restaurants in the area. We would not stay here again and we from this point on we always throughly inspect the bed before paying for the room!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perugia, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Spent a few days in Amritsar and chose this guesthouse because of the positive ratings, which I can confirm. The guesthouse and the rooms are simple, but they are clean, there is hot water and the staff is friendly. Price range around 500 INR without A/C (which is much too noisy anyway, better use the fan) so good price value. The only thing is that there is no breakfast room, but they serve it in the rooms upon request. The location is perfect, just a few steps away from the Golden Temple, ask for a room on the backside and you will not have any noise.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amritsar, India
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Sharma guesthouse is a cheap, but good place to stay very near the golden temple. We payed 470 INR and stayed in a quiet room at the back side of the hotel. The room had a tv, warm water, fan. And... it was clean! friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repelsteeltje82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#49 of 97 in Amritsar
208 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#30 of 97 in Amritsar
126 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#40 of 97 in Amritsar
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#44 of 97 in Amritsar
175 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Royal Inn
Hotel Royal Inn
#65 of 97 in Amritsar
47 reviews
0.7 km away
Lucky Guest House
Lucky Guest House
#69 of 140 in Amritsar
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharma Guest House

Property: Sharma Guest House
Address: Property No 424/III-9 Mahna Singh Road | Near Jallianwallan Bagh, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 773 - ₹ 837
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sharma Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TravelGuru so you can book your Sharma Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing