We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Really good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharma Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sharma Guest House
Ranked #57 of 124 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Guwahati, India
2 reviews
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I stayed for one night with my family in Sharma guest house, peoples are exellent. very helpful. Our train was late, but they arrange a cab for us picking up from Rly Stn to wagha border directly. they made our trip successful. After reaching hotel they told us to take rest as check-in procedure can be done at any time no probs. Rooms are good, AC rooms are new and non-Ac rooms are old but not dirty, its just old rooms.
Golden temple and Jallian wala bagh is very nearest to the Guest House. Just 2 min walking distance

Room Tip: Select AC rooms, just RS 800/Room. Non AC rooms are 600/Room. Room No 33 & 34 (Non AC) are well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
4
10
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
McCloud Ganj
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

The Sharma Guesthouse has clearly seen better days. Some of the rooms look out onto a lovely garden, and the location is good. However, the room we stayed in was absolutely infested with bedbugs. I have spent almost 6 months in India and have stayed in the very cheapest budget rooms in Calcutta and Delhi. But I have never seen so many bedbugs in one room - which are evident also in the smears of blood on the walls. We slept under a mosquito net, and it is quite probable that many people waking with bites think they have been bitten by mosquitoes. After a power cut, the lights came back on and revealed about a dozen large bedbugs on us. We left the lights on all night to minimize the bugs coming out, so we didn't get a wink of sleep. Other than that, the fan 'air cooler' in the room had not been maintained and just blew in dust. The bed itself was partly broken. Finally, the rooftop restaurant has long since closed and is now home to a sleeping man and a foraging rat. On departure, when notifying the staff about the bedbugs, the receptionist smiled, shrugged, and didn't even apologize.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qushta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

quebec
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2011

We found this guesthouse after refusing a lonely’s planet GH just close to. Sharma GH is clean, confortable, 5 mn walk to golden temple. Owner is very helpful. Nothing bad to tell about this place. Ask for a room at backside with view on the garden. So, you can hear the bird’s songs in the morning ...To be recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joellejeancharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

This Hotel is perfectly located (3min walk to the golden temple) in an area with lots of other guest houses, restaurants, etc... The staff was really friendly, caring and absolutely helpful in all matters (restaurant tips, travel advice, sight seeing tips, transportation ...) , which we did not expect after we have slept in the dirty, noisy and poorly maintained rooms. Considering the price, service and location it is ok for one night (if you bring your own sleeping bag)!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reise_Daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharmaGuestHouse, Manager at Sharma Guest House, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Dear Reise Daniel,

We are looking into the details and the room you have stayed in.I on behalf of Sharma Guest House apologise for any incovenience you had and we will look into the matter and resolve it to the earliest.

Our motive is to serve our customers the best and we will try that our customers do not face any concerns.

Thanks
Sharma Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Maybe we got unlucky since many of the reviews of Sharma Guesthouse are amazing.

We stayed in a double room with fan and private bath for 400INR. The room and bathroom size were good. The room was not very clean and the sheets looked like they had not been changed in years. The worse was the mattress, which was about an inch thick in spots. We folded it in half and used our sleep sack to get us through the night.

The location however is amazing. A short walk to the Golden Temple and lots of restaurants in the area. We would not stay here again and we from this point on we always throughly inspect the bed before paying for the room!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orangesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amritsar
0.2 km away
Hotel Grace
Hotel Grace
#52 of 93 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Prems Paradise
Hotel Prems Paradise
#63 of 93 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.9 km away
Atithi Guest House
Atithi Guest House
#44 of 363 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Royal Inn
Hotel Royal Inn
#58 of 93 in Amritsar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 km away
Asha Guest House
Asha Guest House
#41 of 124 in Amritsar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Mercury Inn
Hotel Mercury Inn
#23 of 124 in Amritsar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharma Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharma Guest House

Property: Sharma Guest House
Address: 424 Mahna Sungh Road | Near Jallianwallan Bagh, Amritsar 143001, India
Region: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price range (per night): ₹ 674 - ₹ 876
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Stayzilla and Agoda so you can book your Sharma Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing