We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sula Vineyards

Sula Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 70 things to do in Nashik
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: India's leading producer of wines, Sula Vineyards is located amidst the rolling hills of Nashik overlooking the Gangapur Dam. Come and experience the Sula life at our vineyards where you can go for a tour of the winery followed by a wine tasting session. Have lunch at one of our restaurants and stay back at the stunning Beyond Vineyard Resort by Sula which is located 10 mins away from our winery.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While on the entrance of the place, you’d feel like you are somewhere in Europe wine yards. However, inside picture is something different and has essence of Indian-ness. We visited this place on New Year’s Eve on 1st Jan 2017. The place was crowded but evenly managed. They charge Rs.350/- per person for Wine tour & tasting session (sample 4 wines are provided), and Rs.100/- per person only for Wine tour. Each session last for somewhat an hour. They explain entire wine making process verbally. They accept card payments and they also have ample of in-house parking arrangements.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradnya1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

933 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    406
    135
    28
    18
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is really a unique one and wonderful.
It is bit off track but must visit place..
Entire vinery,processes and techniques used over here are really great
you get to taste 6 types of wines too..awesome..
shopping wine is bit costly but manageable

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank Romit Lad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ambience but the Wine needs sophistication”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well it has extra-ordinary surroundings and the place is really well done especially to enjoy wine in the evenings.

However a little more education of the waiters regarding the wine they serve and the eats to go with could even make it better

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank vilas2053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Average!! ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Way too crowded... my first impression as soon as I enter the premises. May be it was so crowded because we visited this property on 31st December afternoon. No proper place to even stand peacefully. They have recently opened little Italy, another restaurant in their premises. However, both the restaurants had guests waiting. Shops to purchase wines were overcrowded too. And 20mins of looking around, we decided to move on to York vineyards to relax in the afternoon. But before leaving, we managed to pick up our passes for the New Years event.
We visited Sula again for the New Years event at night. While the passes cost 7000 for a couple, The gateway hotel had discounted rates for their guests.
On our arrival for the New Year's Eve, they checked our passes at 2 junctions before we could enter the amphitheater. At both the junctions, the staff sounded as if they were doing a favour by asking us to show the passes. While this happened, I just thought, what a lovely start to the New Year's Eve... finally we entered the amphitheater. Very well decorated, neat and simple. They had arranged for small counters to have vodka shots at 2-3different places, some vodka pani puri, etc. The food counters were located at all different corners to ensure all guests have easy access to it. They also had pop corn counters to keep the children engaged. Overall good options for food... however the taste could have been better. The food tasted average. We then moved on to have some beer.... we had no option here. The only beer available was Budweiser :( while Budweiser may be better than other beer brands, it's always a good thought to include 2-3options and allow guests to select what they prefer. We moved to the next counter to ask what options do we have for whisky or scotch. The bartender informs us that we have only RC and antiquity blue. Someone at The gateway hotel had informed us in advance that Sula has Red label too for their New Year's Eve. So we asked the bartender if Red label is available, to which he replied yes and served us two drinks. I wonder why the bartender didn't tell us that Red label is available proactively. Music.... "Top DJ playing EDM and Bollywood tracks" this is what we read before we arrived. I have no problem with Bollywood or EDM. however, I do have a basic understanding that your songs tracks must be well in sync with your audience. When one song ends and the next one starts... there should be proper transition from one song to another. Who plays ganpati visarjan song for New Year's Eve? I don't recall this D'J was name... however, I do remember he using some political party name in his announcement post the event... Who does that?
Super disappointed with the music....

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank UNNATI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lot more commercial than you'd expect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sula is one of the most popular winery brands in the state or even the country. But unfortunately, with all this acclaim it has become more of a commercial tourist spot than one for wine aficionados.
The property is quite well made, with a great tasting room and restaurants sprawled over the expanse overlooking the vineyards. The crowd at the vineyards is an absolute disappointment as they seem to treat the place as their local bar rather than an experience for learning more about wine.
Coming from Bombay, I have all the Sula wines available at my local wine shop. Why would I then not visit other, lesser known vineyards in Nashik like York, Zampa, Vallonee?

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank nausheen89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sula Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Sula Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing