We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful food, sub standard service for the price.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Nashik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Awful food, sub standard service for the price.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The food was awful I mainly had the buffets. The fruit and fruit juices could have been fresher. The cheeses were processed. Poor selection of loose leaf teas. Not up to scratch. They should offer free internet access.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank alisonedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    384
    92
    11
    10
See reviews for
405
176
30
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

Arrived at this simply because of the name, Taj. This hotel reminds me of a visit to the old British raj, as I have seen in movies. Hotel is tired, even the superior rooms on the 2nd floor. Staff are nice, food is shockingly poor, and I concur with one previous reviewer who said it was like a back packers hostel.

They switch the lights of in the evening and have candles every where even in the lobby outside the rooms, something like the Bhool bhylia movie. They switched the lights off in the dinner room maybe because they didn't want us too see the food.

Hotel is okay but not a Taj hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Legaleye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Just come back from India, stayed at the beautful, majestic Gateway Hotel in Nasik. The service is first class, the facilities are excellent, the food is divine. The travel executive will arrange all your travel requirements and very soon this place will feel like home!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yogadiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

This is an outstanding property spread over a very large open area. The rooms are excellent. The hospitality is top of the line. I was there with family over the weekend and was impressed. Breakfast was not upto the mark with slack service. Maybe we walked in at the peak hour on Sunday.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the swimming pool on upper floor and you will see a wide open area as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We've stayed in many Taj properties before and this one is the worst in where we've stayed so far. The service was bad and the food was of very poor quality. The international food was very poor in quality and not fresh. It tasted like hostel food; one where backpackers would often go and eat. The chef clearly has no experience or maybe interest in preparing proper continental food. We complained to the manager who was courteous and removed the worst items from our food bill ie. a rubbery mozzarella, a stale orange juice , a stale salad. The breakfast buffet was okayish..something similar to the buffet of a 3 star hotel. The soft boiled eggs were runny though; more chances of getting salmonella!! We were told by one of the staff members (who looked like an intern) that the Taj took over this hotel 3 months back, some of them are still in training etc. We felt a bit sorry for them so we didn't cause a scene. There are no staff members by the pool except for a watchman. If we needed anything, we would have to ask him to fetch someone. There are no umbrella stands by the way, the sun is scorching hot and pool icy (very icy) cold. My husband almost got a heat attack as he jumped into the pool unaware how icy cold it was. Children may get sick if they're in the water for long. We waited till 3pm to swim as the water would be relatively okay to swim in it.. We checked out of the hotel and were at the bar in the Sula Vineyard when our drinks were interrupted by a peon from the hotel who handed us a charge slip of a bill , they forgot to bill us. We were very embarrassed as people were wondering what was going on. We were confused because we didn't know what was going on. He couldn't speak english properly nor could he understand my husband who was English. We were supposed to be leaving for Mumbai but had to turn the car around, go back to the hotel and settle the bill. The manager was apologetic and offered us tea (after the bill was settled not whilst we were waiting for ages) lol . That also took another hour. We reached Mumbai at 11pm instead of 8pm as planned..My husband is a Taj inner circle old member, he was put off by the whole ordeal. He said it is not like the Taj to be so shabby at their services and quality. After all it is the Taj! So guys please work on this .

Room Tip: The twin beds are tiny so it's best if you ask for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nashik hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Express Inn
Hotel Express Inn
#2 of 52 in Nashik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
4.1 km away
Ibis Nashik
Ibis Nashik
#6 of 52 in Nashik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.8 km away
The Meuse Jupiter
The Meuse Jupiter
#42 of 52 in Nashik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Ginger Nashik
Ginger Nashik
#5 of 52 in Nashik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
11.9 km away
Savana Lake Resort
Savana Lake Resort
#7 of 52 in Nashik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.5 km away
Hi 5 Hotel
Hi 5 Hotel
#3 of 52 in Nashik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik
Address: Midc Ambad Nashik Road | Mumbai-Agra Road, Nashik 422010, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Maharashtra > Nashik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nashik
#1 Family Hotel in Nashik
#2 Business Hotel in Nashik
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,209 - ₹ 15,556
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Nashik
Taj Residency Hotel Nashik
The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik Maharashtra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing