We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
44
42
33
14
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
42
33
14
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden flooringhouse keepingnature loverspollutionwashroomgreeneryvalley
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked a tour in Ernakulum for both Munnar and Kochi.

For the Munnar part of the trip they booked us into this hovel!

When you walk into reception / foyer you get the impression this is going to be a wonderful hotel full of charm and character........first impressions can be deceptive!

Before I go any further I must say the staff there were wonderful.

We were shown to our room. Our faces and jaws hit the floor.

There was damp on the ceiling, on the wall and around the window. The window look and felt that it would fall out, this feeling was even worse when I opened it!

The bathroom was the worst we,d come across in Kerala.

The bedding had certainly seen far better days, the pillow cases were grubby and when we gingerly pulled the case back to look at the pillow it was digusting! God only knows what the stains were but the blood marks were pretty obvious and gross.

I went in to the corridor and that was even worse. Damp patches, paint peeling and light fitings hanging from the ceiling when they should have been recessed.

We'd been there about an hour trying to decide if to pay to stay somehwere else or risk whatever health hazard this hotel posed when the manager informed us we'd have to stay an extra night due to a strike the next day which would prevent onward travel. This proved to be a saving grace as we used it as an excuse to refuse to stay and said we wantd to proceed direct to Periyar House. We were dubious about what that might be like given this place but we were pleasntly impressd when we got there.

My advice would have to be avoid this hovel at all costs. KTDC should be totally ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It's hidden jem. We did not book anything earlier at Munnar and found dufficult a decent hotel with a descent price. Seems evrything is over hyped and over priced there. we took a chance to pay a visit to the Govt tourist place ( though the drive was not keen) and discoverd this as a hidden jem in best located place at Munnar. The Manager was really coardial and same with the other stuff. since the hotel was not fully loaded we got a huge dsicount and was given the best room. with little bit maintainence, the room would be worth double the money they charge now at Munnar. Food was also good there though not much choices due to the occupancy factor. the power went off couple of times but they started their generotr immidiately. we enjoyed our stay there throughly. It's more than value for money.

Room Tip: 2nd floor left hand corner is the best room there
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManasPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This hotel is on a hill top away from the rustle bustle of the city and by the side of a tea plantation where you can go for a nice evening walk. We stayed in the topmost room of the hotel and its was very scenic from top....it was beautiful to wake up with nice sunrise and being on top of the mountain! Nice book. Only there was problem with hot water but the staff is friendly who helped by providing it. There is a standing shower which is not so comfortable but I think the bigger room might be having better shower rooms...we went for the standard one. In all its a good value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kd123Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I was not sure about the hotel but my travel agent insisted to check the service and he was for sure not let down by the hotel staff

it was a wonder ful experience and we for sure enjoyed the stay, food, and the natural buauty surrounding it

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We had choosen this hotel only because of its location . The property was good and located in a tea garden with cardamom trees here and there. Our room was good , spacious and with all basic facilities . We did not like the blanket they had provided as it was not cleaned well. Hotel staffs were helpful. Roon service average . Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews