We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but badly maintained”
Review of Oak Fields

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oak Fields
Ranked #63 of 104 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed 28 November 2012

It is a KTDC property but I failed to understand, why they are not promoting it and why its so badly maintained in comparison to other hotels run by them.
This hotel is approx 10 km from main town of Munnar (There is hardly anything in town other then restaurants). Its located in middle of tea plantations and a small cardamom garden. Place is in natures lap and perfect for long walks. Its so quite in night that you can hear wind whistling and its quite an experience.
Its a multistory and rooms on upper floors have better view.
The really bad things about the place -
Maintenance is bad, specially the bathrooms (There is major flaw in design of it).
Limited food options, just 10 items and you have to order atleast 1 hour before dinner.
Bed sheets were clean but walls and window glass had many stains.
Good things about this place -
Location, location and location, its excellent. In nature's lap.
Food is limited but quality is ok. The best part is crockery and cutlery, its clean and hot dried.
For Breakfast there are no options and items are fixed but good quality. Again crockery used is clean.
They have lift from access to upper rooms.
I wish KTDC can maintain this property better, make some outdoor sitting arrangement (They have space outside for same) and promote it.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sapnakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 156 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked a tour in Ernakulum for both Munnar and Kochi.

For the Munnar part of the trip they booked us into this hovel!

When you walk into reception / foyer you get the impression this is going to be a wonderful hotel full of charm and character........first impressions can be deceptive!

Before I go any further I must say the staff there were wonderful.

We were shown to our room. Our faces and jaws hit the floor.

There was damp on the ceiling, on the wall and around the window. The window look and felt that it would fall out, this feeling was even worse when I opened it!

The bathroom was the worst we,d come across in Kerala.

The bedding had certainly seen far better days, the pillow cases were grubby and when we gingerly pulled the case back to look at the pillow it was digusting! God only knows what the stains were but the blood marks were pretty obvious and gross.

I went in to the corridor and that was even worse. Damp patches, paint peeling and light fitings hanging from the ceiling when they should have been recessed.

We'd been there about an hour trying to decide if to pay to stay somehwere else or risk whatever health hazard this hotel posed when the manager informed us we'd have to stay an extra night due to a strike the next day which would prevent onward travel. This proved to be a saving grace as we used it as an excuse to refuse to stay and said we wantd to proceed direct to Periyar House. We were dubious about what that might be like given this place but we were pleasntly impressd when we got there.

My advice would have to be avoid this hovel at all costs. KTDC should be totally ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ollossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

It's hidden jem. We did not book anything earlier at Munnar and found dufficult a decent hotel with a descent price. Seems evrything is over hyped and over priced there. we took a chance to pay a visit to the Govt tourist place ( though the drive was not keen) and discoverd this as a hidden jem in best located place at Munnar. The Manager was really coardial and same with the other stuff. since the hotel was not fully loaded we got a huge dsicount and was given the best room. with little bit maintainence, the room would be worth double the money they charge now at Munnar. Food was also good there though not much choices due to the occupancy factor. the power went off couple of times but they started their generotr immidiately. we enjoyed our stay there throughly. It's more than value for money.

Room Tip: 2nd floor left hand corner is the best room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManasPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2010

This hotel is on a hill top away from the rustle bustle of the city and by the side of a tea plantation where you can go for a nice evening walk. We stayed in the topmost room of the hotel and its was very scenic from top....it was beautiful to wake up with nice sunrise and being on top of the mountain! Nice book. Only there was problem with hot water but the staff is friendly who helped by providing it. There is a standing shower which is not so comfortable but I think the bigger room might be having better shower rooms...we went for the standard one. In all its a good value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kd123Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I was not sure about the hotel but my travel agent insisted to check the service and he was for sure not let down by the hotel staff

it was a wonder ful experience and we for sure enjoyed the stay, food, and the natural buauty surrounding it

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashok_sv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 km away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 15 in Chithirapuram
133 reviews
0.0 km away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
106 reviews
0.0 km away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#56 of 104 in Munnar
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 15 in Chithirapuram
201 reviews
0.0 km away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
964 reviews
0.0 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Fields? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Fields

Address: Bison Valley Road | Pothemedu Ottamaram, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 104 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range: ₹ 2,863 - ₹ 5,336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
oak fields is situated amid cardamom and tea plantations and it has all the desirable luxurious comforts in 24 deluxe &13 standard rooms under a single roof. it has a spacious lobby with built in fire place, wooden floors and period furniture. the rooms are pampered with american spring beds, and baths with italian cubicle.it has a multi-cuisine restaurant which also serves traditional delicacies of kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, ClearTrip, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Oak Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Fields Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing