We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four Star..really?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Four Star..really?”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed two nights at the Tea County. After a mess up by our travel agent (we wanted to stay at another resort)...we had to chose this place since it was claimed as 4 star and is appreciated by our travel agent. The hotel is pretty small, we took the premium cottages, but the rooms are average. We had a view of the town. The rooms were clean but can be improved for what they charge! Their room service and charges are expensive for what they provide. Customer service is really average and the dining room experience is really below average. The food served at the buffet and al-a-carte was a disappointment. We ordered the veg jalfrezi and could not even start a meal after looking at what was presented, forget about the taste.

I know this is a government venture, but expected more and they can do so much more to improve the experience.

Munnar is beautiful, but I suggest you stay in Chinnakanal at their resorts instead, which is like 30 mins away, but worth the place and views. We drove by the Chinnakanal on our way to Thekkady and wish we stayed there instead. Next time :(

Room Tip: Take a suite cottage with the back hill view if possible, rather than the town view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    297
    90
    20
    12
See reviews for
317
227
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This hotel is built on a grand scale, with beautiful gardens. Our room overlooked the hills and the view from the balcony was peaceful, a good change from the crowded, interesting village centre. The staff were very helpful - sometimes it was a little difficult to get their attention. We had a large room that was very comfortable. The bathroom could have used some updating of the decor but everything worked fine. The buffet had a large variety of Indian foods that I thought were OK, especially the breakfast. I did see some Europeans get a little perturbed about the type of food but really why travel to a foreign country if you don't want to immerse yourself in the experience!

Room Tip: A room overlooking the hills, and on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Munnar is a lovely station interspaced with Tea Gardens all over. Tea County (managed by KTDC) is situated in the hills and offers a nice view. There doesn't seem to be any issue with the rooms on the ground floor as the location is high enough. The staff is courteous and overall the stay was pleasant. Not too may add ons though... there is a functional gym but it is ill -maintained. We being vegetarian had a major issue with food there. The vegetarian dishes were pretty badly cooked and for the prices we pay completely unjustified. Breakfast is good though. In all, a value for money proposition.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GautamV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This place is pretty much of a dump. The rooms are okay--certainly clean enough. But that exhausts its virtues. The dining room is pretty awful--breakfast buffets don't even include eggs--just several pots of different Indian gruel. The "health club" consists of an empty swimming pool, a broken treadmill, and a broken exercise bike. The staff at the front desk seemed pretty clueless--able to keep the place running, sort of, but not of much help with any kind of direction or guidance.

Several other reviews say that this is the "best place" in Munnar, which may be true; we didn;t examine the alternatives.. The quesiton is--are you sure you want to be in Munnar to begin with? The hotel web site says that Munnar "retains the charm of a colonial past." Not true! While it may have been an idyllic hill station decades ago, now it is ridden with traffic and garbage. That may apply to other Indian cities as well, but at least some of those those have a commercial dynamic and/or historic past which makes them interesting. This town is just not worth stopping for, let alone staying in.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric_Hemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Just a kilometer from Munnar town, KTDC's Tea County has a health club, ayurvedic massage, sightseeing tours, currency excchange facility as well as car hire. It is one of top rung resports in Munnar. It can be reached at 04856 - 230969 and it's tariff varies from rs 3,500 to Rs 8,000

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnuandPraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
6.8 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
9.0 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.0 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.4 km away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
5.9 km away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Property: KTDC Tea County Munnar
Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#6 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#8 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,684 - ₹ 7,298
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Yatra, Expedia, Hotels.com and ClearTrip so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing