We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to get Rejuvinated....”
Review of Camelot Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camelot Resort
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Bangalore
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to get Rejuvinated....”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The most vivid travel experiences usually find you by accident, and the qualities that will make you fall in love with a place are rarely the features that took you there, but the essence itself…..Paradise found….. Tucked away in the foothills of Munnar, this haven could well be described as the Garden of Eden

Inspired and named after an exotic flower species, it is a paradise significant of new beginnings and a sense of freedom.

The Camelot resort is spread across a sprawling seventeen acre estate and will entice you with best of Munnar. It’s a place like no other untouched and pure. With nothing but nature all around you.

Positioning itself as a destination of relaxation and rejuvenation, the Camelot resort is a place where you can come to relax and unwind from the chaotic hustle and bustle of city life.


With all the comforts of home and surroundings that resound with peace and calm, the Camelot resort stay makes a perfect holiday or weekend destination of choice.

Camelot is one of the best resorts in Munnar.Camelot is just an amazing resort especially for those people who want to have a peaceful place during the vacations.

Although the resort is 11 kms away from the Munnar town, the resort is a best place to stay.Being 11 kms away, Camelot is surrounded by lush green Tea Estates known as Letchmi Estates.The beautiful lush green surroundings rejuvinate the visitors and give them the unforgettable experience.
The resort has two honeymoon suites,4 luxury cottages,2 deluxe cottages and 7 standard rooms.I booked the Deluxe cottage and it was really worth staying there.The service is quite impressive and the entire staff is quite responding.

The staff is very polite and there is a guarantee of service for what you have asked for.But you need to have some patience.The resort is ultimate in hospitality.

The food is quite tasty especially the non vegetarian food and it's a delight for non vegetarians.The vegetarian food is also good here.

Important Tip:In order to avoid any hassle, try to reach the resort by 5 PM in the evening as the road to resort is a bit challenge.But in order to gain something you have to compromise some times.After reaching the resort one can easily forget the challenges.The road to resort is quite steep and always drive you vehicle in first gear to avoid any dangerous situation.Better calll the resort reception once you reach Munnar town.Ask the reception to send any person to one bridge near the resort.
Last but not least, the Camelot resort is totally out of this world.One of the best place for Nature lovers and delight for those who want some adventure in life.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishan_Lalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    33
    10
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Three of us and my dog recently stayed at Camelot for 2 nights; it has a fantastic location, we were offered a choice of rooms with a recommendation to take the rooms that overlooked the valley and had some of the best views. The service here is absolautely delightful and I have to make a special mention here of Roshan- who heads Front Office and will willingly take you for a walk through the tea gardens and keep giving you little pictures of information or quizzing you through the walk to make it very interesting. Also Selvam who would run between the kitchen and our room day and night loaded with trays of food and cater to every request with a smile. He was quite knowledgeable about the tennis players and backed my friend on the chances of Federer beating Djokovic in the Semis. Very pleasant boys who were a pleasure to talk too. The place is filled with orange trees, they grow their own strawberries, cabbage, carrots, beans, capsicums, etc. and all organically. I had never seen most f these things grow and was quite taken in by the experience of biting into a freshly plucked strawberry on my walk through the grounds. You cannot see another resort for miles. The rooms are nice though rather small, they have gas geysers in the bathroom so you don't have any wait for hot water and you have plenty of it on cold rainy days.
The food is delicious, cooked fresh, they will tell you to let them know an hour in advance which I thought was very reasonable.
What left a bad taste in our mouth however was the way they billed us for the meals. We had agreed on a price per room on bed, breakfast and taxes. So lunch and dinners would be extra. Dileep the owner had also agreed that since he was charging me double occupancy for the room I occupied with my dog (just my dog and me) oen of the meals for my dog/day would be counted in the compleimentary breakfast and I would have to pay for the other. Yet at the time of checkout when we scanned through the bills- they had charged us for both meals of the day for my dog and the explanation given was that since he did not eat idlis and dosas like us but khichdi and chicken, that had been charged. This despite me sending precise detailed mails on what he would need for his meals. It doesn't end there, we had even been charged for the chutney they would serve with our meals. This is the first place I have ever been to in the whole world where someone has actually put chutney under the charge tab. They went to the extent of charging us not by the portions they would serve but how many people ate the meal and this was ala carte not buffet meals. So for lunch we had ordered thoran, sambar and kerala rice and they actually charged us for 3 portions while obviously having served no more than 2 just because there were 3 of us eating it. When we pointed this out, the Chef gave us some lame explanation about KOTs which was meant to confuse us but didn't because of our knowledge of those terms and also the fact that they had only 1 person in the kitchen team and that was the Chef himself so there was no one else responsible for it. Since they do not have a credit card swipe machine at the resort, we agreed to pay at their office in Munnar town and despite having informed them of that earlier, at the time of payment they mentioned that card payments would attract a 3% fee. I thought this should have been mentioned before surely but by now we were tired of arguing about everything so we agreed to a 2% which the owner agreed to the minute he realised we used to work at a Bank and knew what charges card payments entailed. We managed to get all the baseless charges removed but this left a very bad taste in our mouths. It just seemed that they wanted to slip in as many charges as possible hoping we wouldn't realise and would pay up which is very underhanded behaviour.
So go to Camelot because it is a beautiful place with a good team in place but clarify all charges and check all bills before paying.

Room Tip: The upstair rooms overlooking the valley are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anjali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights, and we liked it very much. The staff was very attentive and nice. One day we started a morning walk with Rosham, one boy from the staff and he showed us the tea plantations, other spices and the beautiful surroundings at Munnar. The food at the hotel was always very tasty.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a very beautiful and most memorable 2 day stay in camelot. Camelot is about 11kms from Munnar Bus Station. It has very wide area around in which they have almost all the freshness in munnar. Regarding the Hospitality it was just awesome they care and serve in such a polite way we never expected. Regading Food its garden fresh as they grow all the vegitables needed. Vegitables are cut as u place the order and then cooked so u will never miss the freshness in the food and very Hygenic . Dont Miss: Straberry Garden, WaterFalls, Morning walk and Play area

Room Tip: Except Standard Rooms all the other Rooms like Luxury,Super Luxury and Delux rooms are very exceptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NagaKiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

After having looked at the reviews and ratings for camelot here, we were not quite sure whether to go for it or not. But up on my travel agents recommendation, I went ahead and booked a Luxury room for three nights in Camelot in the month of december 2011. To our surprise we had a lot lot better experince than what we really expected.
The resort people were very responsible enough to call us in the morning to check where we are and if we need any help to reach the resort.
The way to the resort from manali was a sort of adventurous as it was deep in to the hills and the road was not good. As we reached the resort, a hearty welcome was awaiting us. We found the staff over there very courteous enough and were always waiting to serve better. The service was very quick.
Location is the main plus point of the resort apart from the friendly staff. one side of the resort, it's beautiful Tea gardens and on the other side thick forest up the hill.
Apart from a good walks along the tea plantations, we had a very good adventurous trekking too as one of the resort staff accomapnied us. Food was good and the vegetables are grown in the resort itself. One of the resort staff walked us through the resort's vegetable and strawberry garden too.

Room Tip: I booked a luxury room and found it good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trivik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
3.9 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
4.3 km away
Plum Judy - The Leisure Hotel
3.9 km away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
121 reviews
1.9 km away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#21 of 97 in Munnar
324 reviews
6.6 km away
Blackberry Hills Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelot Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Resort

Property: Camelot Resort
Address: Munnar P.O. | Idukki Dist, Munnar, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,381 - ₹ 9,798
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camelot Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome view point and echo point inside the property, wonderful trekking trails inside tea and coffee plantations. Situated amidst nature, away from the hustle and bustle of the town. Organic fruits and vegetables farming, shuttle badminton court, free parking and accommodation & food for drivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelGuru, Yatra, Hotels.com, EaseMyTrip, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Camelot Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Munnar
Camelot Resort Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing