We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
ZenHotels.com
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
103
45
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
103
45
11
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Awesome experience for us with Philip and Annie, and we were a group of 8 people vacationing in Kerala for a few days mid of June and just returned to the US. We had booked all the 3 premium rooms on the 1st floor with a great view of the valley. It's close to all the other resorts, but this house felt like home. Excellent location. About 50 yards away is also an Ayurvedic massage center which we availed and it was great. We got to the house on the 1st day and noticed that they didn't have the Sony 6 soccer channel and since we were a bunch of soccer fanatics wanting to watch the World Cup matches, and we asked Philip if there was anyway to get that channel....in 30 mins he got the connection for us. Now that's service! Fantastic food...cook Shanthama knows how to make some killer food....kids were hooked to her gobi manchurian dish and that was the most popular request from them. :-) We had breakfast, lunch and dinner from them and we were very satisfied. Premium rooms are pretty good....don't expect resort-like rooms for what you are paying, but they are very nice and comfortable. Power went out often due to rains, but they have a generator to keep the main lights and fans working. We wanted to stay in a house versus a resort. I would recommend this place to anyone with families, solo or couples. Thanks Philip and Annie for sharing your home with us. Wish you all the best and hope the guests take care of your place. Cheers.

Room tip: Get the premium rooms on the 1st floor....far right corner for the best view, sunny, and very spacious.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim_Zac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I went to Kerala back in 2013, and our first stop was munnar and we were staying in this Estate Residency, Must say it is an awesome property. Talking about this home stay, its very affordable and the service provided was more then the money paid. Worth every single penny.
Checkin was quick, the owner of the place Mr. Firoz is very polite, very friendly and helpful. All rooms have misty mountain view which is ecstatic. Food was amazing and can be served according to your wish. There was a decent satellite TV in the room (though i didn't watch it much), hot and cold water was in the shower as promised & beds were comfy.
Overall, a very nice property away from the hustle bustle of the city. I hope the tree house they were constructing is completed by now. I wish them all the best and hope ya all will also enjoy as much as we did

Date of stay: December 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our first homestay experience. We are praised with Philip and Anie's hospitality. Nice location and Standard rooms are good. quality of food was very good, though a bit expensive but it is acceptable. Philip and Anie always stretched their hands for all kind of helps, like the room services and arrangement of the nice car for sight seeing, houseboat etc. It was a life time experience visiting the spice garden of Philip.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sohini M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Our first homestay experience turned out truly incredible. Mr. Firoz and his whole family were very pleasant and welcoming and made us feel at home away from home. A little far from the city but in a relaxing quiet location. The rooms on first floor were spacious having a beautiful view outlooking the window. The meals were in genral tasty though somewhat costly given the portions being served. But that was about the only downside.
Mr. Firoz was gracious enough to take us on a morning walk tour to his cardamom plantation, where he also showed us coffee, black pepper and other plants, and shared his knowledge about the local flora and fauna. The experience has made us open to choosing homestays in future travels.

Room tip: First floor rooms are airy with a great view
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

When we decided to visit Munnar and were searching for a place to stay, most of them were occupied. We were worried that we might not be able to get any place to stay. But luckily one of the places we called up referred Estate Residency. We called up and Mr Philip Firosh answered and informed that they have one room called as "Cave Room" which will be given to us. We were sceptical at first after listening to the name. However, are fears were unfounded when we saw the room. It was beautifully decorated and built like a tree shaped structure. The room itself was located in the "bark" of the tree!!!!

The view from the room was amazing to say the least. You can see the valley below and all the plantations also. The room is sufficient for a couple and very neatly maintained. The food was homely and tasty and there is enough space for car parking.

The place is located 8 km away from Munnar towards Cochin at a place called Pallivasal

The people at the Residency are very helpful which includes both the sons of Mr Firosh and the staff

Overall, a nice and excellent place to stay with very warm staff. Would definitely recommend choosing this place if you are visiting Munnar

Room tip: Ask for rooms in the upper floor
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rayn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EstateResidency, Owner at Estate Residency, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you for writing review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews