We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“walk in the clouds ...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kolukkumalai Tea Estate

Kolukkumalai Tea Estate
Ranked #2 of 59 things to do in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
UAE
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“walk in the clouds ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

highest tea estate ..great views and refreshingly good tea !

Helpful?
1 Thank Suresh_MistyMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    113
    27
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Really cool to see old-school tea-making. It's a rough road up to estate but you are rewarded with stunning vistas along the way. Well-worth a trip. Make sure you have a good jeep driver!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of its kind joyride... should experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Make sure you sit on the back of the jeep and hold one rod with one hand only...you got to experience it.

The best part was a little stretch where while driving up and down our driver drove it in reverse... the drving back was a little scary if you are sitting at the back.

But beleive me its a kind of drive one should experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank IamOpium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
476 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“More of an Experience than an Attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We hired a jeep and driver to take us to the tea plantation but nothing really prepared us for quite how awful the roads are. The drive is a couple of hours each way through the tea plantations, passing waterfalls, watching farmers tend the tea plants and women cut the tea. The estate is the highest producer of organic tea in the world and the factory sits on the border with Tamil Nadu. IF the weather is good, the views are spectacular but when we went we were driving through cloud and the views were poor. The factory offers tours and full explanations of how the processing works.

The drive is hard - really hard. Don't consider this if you have back pain or other skeletal problems. Numerous times we took off when hitting the bumps in the track and our driver told us this was his 'free full body massage' - to be fair, it hurt less than the massage we had later the same day.

Scenery is wonderful, the production of tea is interesting and even if you can't see a thing when you get to the top, you'll be glad of a clean toilet and a cup of sweet tea at the factory. It's a long hard visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“FANTABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

The drive to Kolullumalai Tea Estate is THE MOST SCENIC drive of my life!
The views are breathtaking! We drove to the estate in rickety jeep I feared the worst as the roads... if they may be even called that!
The Tea estate itself is nothing exceptional, its has British era infrastructure, so if you like history, then excellent!
We didn't enjoy the tea we bought from there, so you may skip that and buy tea from the munnar market.
All said and done, the experience is to die for..at one point on the way you can see Tamil Nadu on one side and Kerala o the other, have uploaded pics so you can check that out.. the waterfalls on the way, the tea covered mountains make it an experience of a lifetime.. MUST GO, MUST SEE!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Disha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kolukkumalai Tea Estate also viewed

Munnar, Idukki District
Munnar, Idukki District
 

Been to Kolukkumalai Tea Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing