We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing!!!!!!”
Review of Grand Plaza Munnar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Plaza Munnar
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing!!!!!!”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I booked this hotel based on the ratings on Tripadvisor. But this experience assured that the ratings on tripadvisor are genuine. The hotel is not worth being the best hotel in munnar as the ratings are shown on tripadvisor. The feedback on the hotel are as follows:

1. Highly overrated and expensive. Absolutely not worth what one pays for.
2. Very cramped rooms and a bit of stinking smell.
3. Very noisy neighbourhood
4. Valley view rooms are charged higher and absolutely no views that deserves higher price.
5. Not much of choices in the breakfast menu.
6. Not cooperative staff as i needed some help from the kitechen for my 7 month daughter but not allowed to access the kitchen to explain them as what we needed.
7. Any negative feedback is not taken in the right spirit by the hotel management. At the time of checkout, i gave my feedback to the manager but all sorts of illogical defense was given. My intention was to appraise them so that they can improve. Its very impossible to help one who does not want to be helped. i think they are very complacent.
8. The biggest joke of the stay that bill was not provided to me at the time of checkout and was not provided any reason for the same. I requested to talk to the manager but he was not ready to speak and meet me to tell the reason. I was assured that the bill would be mailed to me within a week but i have not received the bills till date.

Consider this review as genuine and would not recommend this hotel to anyone. There are many better hotels than this at a lower tarriff too.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank pawan1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We totally respect your review . We apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. Regarding the points you have mentioned certainly needs the feed back and they are, The valley view rooms as you have said have higher charges becuase as you have said its having the vally, the sound of neighborhood are not because of our self , regarding the smell of the room we are not aware of that though its the smell of the woods in the floor it could be managed by the freshner, we are offering the largest breakfast spread at a reasonable rate and it could be find from other guests reviews, the kitchen is not for the guests during the peak hours though we assisted you with our Chef who prepared food for your child with your guidance,we tried to convince you with such things during the checkout and regarding the bill as you have said we dont have any information because watever the amount you have settled during the checkout as per the final bill the same would be given meanwhile itself. Hope such troubles wont occur during the next trip and we like to welcome you for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    261
    66
    28
    18
See reviews for
392
259
5
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I am very happy to find the hotel close to the city which made us to have the easy transit to the town and other sight seeing places. A standard hotel with an excellent care towards the guest thats what I really felt about this simple property...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarcrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay.We are very delighted to receive such valuable comments from our guests. We are inspired to deliver much better experience to our guests with such motivating responses. Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were staying at a homestay nearby and the food we had was at the Grand Spices restauarant at this hotel. The ambience is really marvellous .The food was extremly superb becuase of which we had our breakfast and dinner buffet at this hotel only...In a very reasonable price good food...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratheeshgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your visit to our hotel. We appreciate the effort you made to express your satisfactin. We like to welcome you during your next visit for the stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Short Review:

Negatives --

1. Food is always served COLD, be it in your room or their restaurant area.
2. The Laundry service sucks.
3. The small park area behind the hotel is unkept and full of dirt from the hotel.
4. The Massage Parlor sucks
5. Money minded can change a service without informing you and will bill you for the same later

Positives --

1. Just before the city starts and currently a peaceful area.
2. The front office staff is good and helpful
3. We were upgraded to a higher category room
4. Room was always neatly cleaned

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnujBhagia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay. We respect your valuable comments. We really apologise for the inconvenience caused to your during the stay. We suspect whether you bring the above complaints to any concerned departments. We are unable to find it from the comments card as well though we will look after the matter and will definitely make sure such complaints will not exist again. We are looking forward for your next visit so we could get the opportunity to serve you with a much different manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I could not have wished for a better experience at this hotel. The staff were courteous and helpful. They made an effort to know us and thus provide a more personalized service. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was also good providing a variety of fresh tasty food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carval05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balajiar, Front Office Manager at Grand Plaza Munnar, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest
Team Grand Plaza is thankful for your stay.We appreciate the effort you have made to help the fellow guests through Trip Advisor. We are inspired throgh such valuable comments from our guests.Looking forward for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
5.5 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
4.8 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
7.7 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
0.6 km away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#37 of 97 in Munnar
475 reviews
0.3 km away
Clouds Valley Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Munnar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Munnar

Property: Grand Plaza Munnar
Address: MSA Road, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Munnar
#8 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,165 - ₹ 5,879
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, Booking.com and TravelGuru so you can book your Grand Plaza Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Plaza Munnar Hotel Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing