We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A peaceful retreat in a beautiful scenic spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eco Exotica Holidays

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Eco Exotica Holidays
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Munnar
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A peaceful retreat in a beautiful scenic spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We stayed in the mud house which was a lovely experience. Not exactly luxurious but a great experience and with our mosquito net around us, we were not worried about any insect invaders in the night! The house was cozy, clean and had a decent bathroom. We found the staff extremely friendly, helpful and genuine. They sorted out a small tour of the local area including waterfalls, bathing pools, wildlife and villages that seemed very personal and not too 'touristy'. When we felt ill, they made sure we had a nice selection of food brought to our mud house. There are beautiful views around the hotel and the gardens are nice. After touring around Kerala and Tamil Nadu, this was one of the few places where we got some peace and quiet and were able to fully take in our surroundings. It was nice just wandering down the road and taking in the views of the hills covered in tea bushes. I would much rather stay here than in Munnar town which to me did not seem that appealing. A little escape from it all.

Room Tip: Mud house is a good experience, it can get cool at night so ask for extra blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Its a nice place with a nice view. There is waterfall nearby for which you can trekk for around 15-20 minutes. Yes, you have to, in fact, you should reach there is daylight else it becomes a problem if you dnt know the exact location coz mobile signals are really a problem there.

Rooms wont be so great but manageable. We stayed in the tree house which was too small but the place is good for nature lovers.. You can easily go for a walk in the morning with tea gardens all around. Staff is really co-operating.
Food they will arrange but you might not have various options. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakshmiSahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011


The location is good but place stinks as tour pocket lures people to this place to tick off munnar off the itenary. Beware.....
If location is all that you want plz check in as it has nothing around it but for pleasure it had horrible rooms and food

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellerdelh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

It was really tiresome reaching this hotel, since we are using local transport and didn't have proper communication on where to land. This hotel is NOT close to Munnar City and is on a hill top :)... We took an Auto Rickshaw to reach there, it was an experience.. The nicest part of this hotel is the silence... It's a very quite place, even the buzzing bee far off would sound as though the bee is very close to you..

The hotel is not very luxurious but good enough to spend couple days with family/friends.

This place gets really cool in the evenings. I am attaching couple of photos one with the dew on the window (early in the morning) and other the stream of water which flows besides the road from the main road to the hotel (alteast 30% of the times).

They rely on the neighbouring hotel for the breakfast/lunch and Dinner. Being a remote place, I think its difficult to find any other restaurants nearby.

It's a big NO to travel in and around this place after 6:00 PM since there are no street lights and it's pitch dark and very scary..

  • Liked — The silence and the location. It's a very romantic place. Will forest and a stream round the corner.
  • Disliked — Food and the distance from the main road. If you have you own car, then there is no issues.
  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surananilesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We had Gone there during our HM, The view was great from anywhere and it was in between the mountain. It had a tree House a Rock House, a Bamboo House, Each a different

It is a bit away from main Munnar City, thus a vehicle is needed and you cannot be very late to reach there as the road is not well lit and a bit lonely....

The only problem is with food, not much variety is avalable.

But the view and the ambience make it perfect for 2-3 days

You can visit the attaraction of munnar from theer and also enjoy your personal view

It has a Swimming Pool which will seem to be on the edge of the mountain,

  • Liked — The view and the Untouched atmosphere
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jyoti2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munnar
19.0 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
23.8 km away
Hotel Saravana Grand
Hotel Saravana Grand
#1 of 2 in Valparai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
6.4 km away
Igloo Nature Resort
Igloo Nature Resort
#81 of 93 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#52 of 93 in Munnar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.9 km away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#19 of 93 in Munnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.4 km away
Bracknell Forest
Bracknell Forest
#8 of 171 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eco Exotica Holidays? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eco Exotica Holidays

Property: Eco Exotica Holidays
Address: Kallar-Mankulam Road Viyayankada, | Vijayankada, Mankulam Distt : Idukki, Munnar 685565, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,000 - ₹ 4,000
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Eco Exotica Holidays Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing