We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Silver Tips
Nearby Hotels
Camp Noel(Pazhathottam)(Great Value!)
US$ 116
US$ 92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Resort(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$ 38
US$ 35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fog Resort & Spa(Chithirapuram)
US$ 222
US$ 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Munnar Tea Country Resort(Chithirapuram)
US$ 133
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 82
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Spice Country Resorts(Chithirapuram)
US$ 88
US$ 75
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Devonshire Greens(Pallivasal)
US$ 122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 88
US$ 69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$ 95
US$ 69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (818)
Filter reviews
818 results
Traveller rating
441
267
71
22
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
267
71
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmovie themethemed hotelchennai expresstheme basedbased hotelindian cinemacinema hallthe entire hotelunique experiencemorning walkmunnar townamazing hotelbuffet breakfastsouth indianspacious roommain marketvisit munnar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 818 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The stay was very good, got a room facing the football field and a tea plantation hill,
The entire hotel is based on movies theme and if given a chance try to get 2nd floor.
Rooms were clean, breakfast menu was good, dinner buffet was sufficient though not lavish. The place is very accessible to the city(1 km from city main market) and that really saved time.
Tea at this place is awesome really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagmeet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We had lunch at Silver Tips after our visit to the Tea Museum and opted for the a la carte menu over the buffet on offer. Food was really tasty and served by really friendly staff. Lunch came to approx. 900 RUP, which included curry, rice and bread share between us and drinks each. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed at Silver Tips as part of a tour of India. Lovely warm welcome by the young lady at reception who clearly loves her job and is passionate about the hotel. In fact all reception staff were very good. I really liked the hotel and having all different stars for each room and the old cinema equipment around the hotel is a nice touch.
Restaurant staff were not too good. In fact wasn’t very attentive and had to be asked for everything. Too busy standing around chatting to each other. I am sure there are many restaurants around that would offer much better service. The boys in the restaurant really let the hotel down
The hotel had a school trip staying over and the noise level was horrendous. I rang down a couple times and went to reception to ask the teachers to control the children. It was extremely loud because they were running around with no control. The construction of the hotel means that all sound travels but the children were left to run riot. I wouldn’t go again.
I would have scored higher as the room was nice if not for the noise and just the fact that it went on for hours and they did nothing about it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank eye6769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We stayed one night only. The hotel room was adequate, but it was themed in Bollywood style which was a little weird to us as foreign travellers. Not spotlessly clean and old dark furniture but reasonable with clean bedding.

We went to bed early as we were in the middle of two long days. There was a party going on but because there is a top to bottom atrium through the centre of the hotel, everyone had to share it. The party finished between 9.30 and 9 45 which was ok, but we then had guests and their children running through the corridors shouting and screaming so no one could rest. This stopped when someone complained to management at about 10.30. We were then woken in the morning at about 6.15am by extremely loud music coming from the factory site next door which our room overlooked.
Didn’t really like the food. On the plus side, the staff were helpful and attentive.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank J0lly_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

As all the reviews mentions its designed based on Movies. Each room is dedicated to a film and each floor has movie related artifacts. The room that we stayed was based on the famous film "Sholay". And also the house keeping staff mentioned that Deepika Padukone, the lead actress of Chennai Express stayed in our room. The rooms were well maintained and spacious with a small balcony with chairs to sit, and very helpful and courteous staff. The restaurant food was good, but the staff not very active and very slow service.

The WIFI was terrible, extremely slow. And as its in the town, there was a little noise around (and the week we had visited some function was going on in that area so loud speakers were on with music)

And also the facility for the cab/car drivers is very bad - only 1 bathroom for 60 rooms. And also water was not available to clean the vehicle.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dibbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm s, General Manager at The Silver Tips, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Thank you very much for sharing feedback on your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you were happy with the service standards at the hotel. I have noted your specific feedback like Restaurant service, Wifi etc.

We value your patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to serve you better in the near future. Please do feel free to write to me when you are ready to plan your next trip to Munnar, I will be happy to assist with you and ensure you have a seamless and a memorable stay with us.

Thanks & Regrds,

Jebin Jacob
General Manager
gm@silvertipsmunnar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews