We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good place in munnar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rheinberg Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rheinberg Homestay
Ranked #25 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gdynia, Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good place in munnar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

clean and well equipped room, beautifull garden and nice owners

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katarzyna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    94
    20
    7
    0
See reviews for
51
90
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at Rheinberg in mid-May. For the price it's pretty good, great location above the town and out of the noise. Very nice views. We enjoyed our stay and enjoyed the tour of the region that Shibu helped set up for us one day.

Pros:
Shibu is very helpful and accommodating - he went above and beyond what would reasonably be expected with some of our requests
Location is great - very short walk to main street of Munnar, but nice and quiet - up above it all.
Views are nice and the garden is beautiful
Rooms are spacious and clean (if a bit musty - see below)
Wi-fi works well
The price can't be beat for such a good location

Cons:
Rooms were musty and damp. This would be greatly alleviated if there was even one fan in the room. Probably not like this all year, but again, a ceiling fan could go a long way in such a humid location.
Hot water was only turned on for short periods of the day, so if we wanted a shower outside of that time frame, we had to go find Shibu.

All in all, we would recommend Rheinberg if you are planning a visit to Munnar!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdliAndCindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

The homestay is a best budget option.. we have stayed at rheinberg for 2 nights... its on the top of hill with a nice view of the city and the nature. Though it is near to the town we never get the feel of it. The hospitality and service of Shibu is so nice. Overall we had a very happy stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhurasmrithi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The location is good, right in the heart of the town, very close to the very few good eating joints like Saravana Bhavan. Since the home stay is on the hill, you get a sense of privacy and solitude, even though you are just 5 minutes walk from the town centre.
We went to Munnar for a short two day holiday. The home stay at Rhienberg was clean and neat and so also the bathrooms. The amenities like TV, WiFi, heater etc all worked fine. The responsiveness of the management and also the ever smiling caretaker Shibu was amazing. Shibu even came down to Saravana Bhavan to escort us to the home stay.
Would have expected that the rooms and toilets would be cleaned when we went out, but this did not happen and we returned to unmade beds and full dustbins.
On day two, there was a bandh in Munnar and Shibu was kind enough to warn us on the previous evening itself. He also arranged for a basic breakfast for the four of us. Even though, it was only bread and omlette, we were grateful, since the entire town shut down on that day.
Getting to the home stay involves a steep climb and would not recommend this to elders or for couples with small babies or kids who need to be carried. The pathway to the home stay is somewhat dirty and seems strange for the first time. But, once you get into Rhienberg home stay, you forget about the climb.
Bottom Line - Rhienberg is any time, a better place to stay in than some of the lousy hotels in and around Munnar. But if you are looking for star comfort and luxury, this place will not meet your expectations. Rhienberg offers value for money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RheinbergMunnar, Owner at Rheinberg Homestay, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that you liked Rheinberg by its location, amenities and cleanliness.
About the room cleaning: Usually the guest will give the key when they go out and ask to clean the room (even we have the spare keys, but it’s not fair to open the room without the guest’s permission. Ours is not a 5star luxury hotel, but trying to provide all star facilities at a very budget price)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

Positives - good location, up the hill from the main bazaar so it was nice and quiet with picturesque views. 

We stayed in the blue room which was clean and spacious, with a large bathroom. 

Negatives - the TV didn't work, the shower in the bathroom was a dribble, and the wifi didn't really work, ever! Breakfast was also pretty poor (and very overpriced) and they didn't tell us it wasn't included until checkout, which was very cheeky and annoying. 

The staff organised a taxi for a day trip out to the tea plantations, which was a decent day out and the driver was very funny.

Overall, it's probably one of the better cheap options in Munnar that is close to the city, but we didn't really enjoy our stay too much. 

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globerunner90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RheinbergMunnar, Owner at Rheinberg Homestay, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thanks for your review, a review worth a lot for us no matter negative or positive.

We are happy that you liked our location, room and view – what most traveler like…

Regarding cons:
T.V did not work because of some cable fault and Wifi stikes because of the network problem -both out of our control. Surely we will fix the breakfast and shower complaint.

We try our best to give people who stay at our place a good and exciting time. We also know that it’s impossible to make everybody happy. (But trying hardly for that)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.6 km away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
21.5 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
6.8 km away
Anna Homestay
Anna Homestay
#2 of 16 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Gruenberg Tea Plantation Haus
6.9 km away
The Shade
The Shade
#3 of 16 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.9 km away
Moselberg Riverside Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rheinberg Homestay? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rheinberg Homestay

Property: Rheinberg Homestay
Address: Near Mount Carmel Church | Near St Micheal's town church, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 964 - ₹ 1,478
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rheinberg is situated at the heart of Munnar. Rheinberg offers you to amazing view of town and mountains. It is the perfect retreat for those who want to spend their vacation away from bustling city in the lap of nature. We have 3 spacious and elegant rooms. One carved out of woods, one has its walls stretched in bamboos and a blue shade room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Yatra so you can book your Rheinberg Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rheinberg Homestay Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing