We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Super refreshing place to stay'”
Review of Ambady Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambady Estate
Ranked #2 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Super refreshing place to stay'”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

It’s a wonderful place to stay. Our stay was fully refreshing. Very good hospitality. Very spacious rooms with all modern amenities. Each room has a private lawn in front and the back which gives you added privacy. This is a serene place. Those who love nature and wish to unwind themselves from city’s routine and stress full life this is an ideal place to stay. You can do trekking in the mountains through cardamom plantations which is over 70 acres. It’s an amazing experience as you can see different kind of very old trees, may be more than 200 yrs old. You can also spot different varieties of birds here. The manager and owners ensured that we feel home. We had a memorable stay and would love to visit again :D

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meenakshi_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    46
    19
    1
    4
See reviews for
48
104
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This property is about 15 min from the town of Munnar and is in the middle of cardamom plantations. The staff took us for a 1 hour walk among the plantation, explaining how they harvest and dry cardamom.
The accommodation is huge with some small outdoor areas to relax. The food (in particular the masala tea) was very nice and could be delivered to our room.
We had problems with hot water on the first night (refreshing!) but the staff then fixed it. Nice stay with very nice staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandSCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My mother and I stayed at Ambady Estate over the long Easter weekend. This place is absolutely lovely, about 9 kms short of Munnar so away from the madding commercial hubbub and thankfully so. The villas are delightful, very well maintained (they look spanking clean and absolutely newly done) lots of lawn space in the front and back and each set of 2 villas is set away from the other to give them privacy. The villas are set in a huge cardamom plantation so every morning and evening, I went for long walks up the lush forest through the plantation and that has to be the highlight of my trip there. They practise organic farming- we even bought some lovely organic cardamom. The owner's live in a 90 year old house which was used for cardamom curing as the owner informed me. I wish there were around more during my stay as the manager isn't too aware of the history or other relevant information. The food was the only disappointment on this trip. There aren't enough options and the service is terribly slow. Having learnt the first day itself, we would place our order well in advance sometimes 12 hours and another time a minimum of 2 hours ahead but service was late everytime and the food cold at each meal by the time it was delivered to our room. I would definitely go back to Ambady Estate and recomend it highly for a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: All villas come with the same space and facilities, any one would be a good bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjali T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here in the month of December. We had the whole twin cottage to ourselves, since we were a family of 4, with 2 grown up children. The rooms are spacious and the cottages have their own little garden, very peaceful, the only sound was that of birds chirping. At night we saw an owl on a tree very close to our cottage
The estate is very far away from the city centre and the access road to the estate is bumpy. As a result you have to take all meals at the retreat..
We were on a MAP so our dinner was included. The food is good but not much variety. We were the only guests at the retreat so they cooked what ever we ordered. The helping are small. The dining room staff needs training. May be, they would be serving more variety when they have a full house.
The water pressure in the taps is low, we hated using the bucket for our shower.We found a big roach in the bathroom. It is a family run business and they try to make you comfortable..
We enjoyed our 2 nights stay but it could have been better.....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of March. What a lovely place. We arrived not very well (nothing to do with India more of a British flu type bug) and found the people charming and caring, and we had a wonderful time relaxing watching the birds in our private bit of garden. Anything we needed was provided - we enjoyed tasting lots of different food. The walks amongst the spectacular trees were memorable and the kind and enthusiastic owner was generous with his time in telling us about his spice farm and hopes for the future. Possibly nature lovers or more mature people would get the most out of Ambady as it is not within walking distance of other restaurants, but we thought it was a gem of a place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.1 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
885 reviews
3.6 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
510 reviews
27.5 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.6 km away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
699 reviews
0.9 km away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambady Estate? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambady Estate

Property: Ambady Estate
Address: 3rd Mile, Pallivasal PO | Pallivasal, Munnar, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 163 Speciality Lodging in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,188 - ₹ 10,313
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambady Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EaseMyTrip, TravelGuru, Yatra, Booking.com, ClearTrip and Agoda so you can book your Ambady Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambady Estate Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing