We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
545
23
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anil and jeeva wonderful hosts tea plantation home stay evening walk great introduction wonderful homestay wonderful walk three rooms other guests indian hospitality helped us plan cooking lesson his wife munnar town lovely family helped us organise
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

What can I say about our stay with Anil and Jeeva?! We went to Royal Mist on a friend's recommendation, and without a doubt the most beautiful, friendly and welcoming place we stayed during our time in India. From the moment we arrived, to big hugs as we left, we were made to feel completely at home.

We were a group of five friends staying over the Christmas break (myself and my boyfriend stayed for three nights, and our friends for two). We had our own space upstairs with a beautiful view on the balcony where we could eat and socialise. Whilst always around and welcoming if we needed anything, Anil and Jeeva also gave us space to do our own thing and get on with whatever we wanted to do.

Their organised trips were fantastic and they have good connections with guides and drivers to ensure neither party gets ripped off. We did a 4 hour trek into the mountains and had a wonderful time. Anil and Jeeva also do a free "Nature Walk" on arrival which we thoroughly enjoyed (I'm a real bird nerd and was very excited at everything we saw).

Jeeva's food is incredible, and she is very accommodating. After a couple of weeks in India we weren't keen on Indian breakfasts anymore... so Christmas day she treated us to freshly cooked pancakes! I definitely ate more than my fair share, they were delicious. She also made us toast and eggs other day. I'm sure her Indian breakfast would also be to die for! We also did a cooking demo with Jeeva, and I'm very excited to give it a go at home.

My boyfriend had also been suffering from flu like symptoms for several days before we arrived at Royal Mist... as it didn't seem to be going away I enquired with Anil and Jeeva about seeing a doctor. They were wonderful and Anil took us to the local hospital where he ensured Rob got the best treatment possible. He was given antibiotics which helped clear away the infection he must have picked up in Mumbai.

I don't think I will ever forget Anil's contagious laughter, or Jeeva's welcoming smiles... Or Ricky.. the pug! If I'm ever back in Kerala I'll definitely be booking in to go back, and will definitely recommend to any friends going that way.

Room tip: Any room is beautiful!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Experience52835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilJacob, Owner at Royal Mist, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Ida,
Thank you so much for the review.So happy to know that you all had a wonderful time here!.we enjoyed your company and conversations.
Wish to see you again!.
Love & Best wishes
Anil & Jeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

We stayed here in November and really enjoyed our stay. The room was very comfortable, the food was delicious and there is a lovely terrace area to sit on in the evenings. Anil was really friendly and helpful in booking transport and day trips too.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank r0bin86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilJacob, Owner at Royal Mist, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Robin,
Thank you so much for the review.Happy to know that you had a great time here.
Thank you for selecting us for your stay.
Wish to see you again one day!
Best wishes
Anil & Jeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

We stayed here for two nights as a family of five with grown up children so had all three rooms. It was our first stop in Kerala and pure perfection. The accommodation was just perfect, with our own private terrace area to eat breakfast and dinner (the food was delicious every time) and play board games and read books in the evening. Anil and Jeeva really are the best hosts and helped us plan our time, book a five hour walk through the hills (THE highlight of our two week trip) and book a driver to take us on to our next stop. Anil took us for a walk around on our last day and chatting him was so interesting and his admiration for the beauty of Munnar was so charming. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay for longer. We would wholeheartedly recommend Royal Mist, excellent value for money too.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DODOHERTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilJacob, Owner at Royal Mist, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Dear Delia,
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review in spite of your busy schedule! We are grateful to know that you had a great stay here.
Looking forward to see you back here again.
Love & best wishes
Anil & Jeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

This is our fifth visit to Royal Mist and every bit as enjoyable as our first visit some 9 years ago. God-Willing, it will not be our last. Anil and Jeeva a lovely professional couple with two grown up children are the perfect hosts and one reason we keep returning. There is also the ambience of
Chithirapuram which is very green and surrounded by forests and of course the tea estates. This is an ideal chill-out zone. Those coming from a cold country will appreciate the gentle acclimatisation. There is no air conditioning simply because the climate is such that you do not need it. This is an ideal place to arrive and a worthwhile 3-hour drive from the airport at Kochi. Transportation is easy with regular buses or an auto rickshaw. For longer distances, it seems that Anil can 'magic' up a really good driver at any time and even meet you at the airport.
Stay here, tour the area, take some tea, this is probably the easiest introduction you could possibly get if you are considering a trip to India. Try Royal Mist

Room tip: There are just 3 rooms and all are very good
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldakwasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilJacob, Owner at Royal Mist, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Mike & Lana,
Thank You very much for the review. We were indeed honored to have hosted you!
Waiting for your next visit!!
Love & Prayers
Anil & Jeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Royal Mist was the perfect end to our three week trip in India. Anil and Jeeva were the most lovely, warm and genuine hosts and we loved every minute of our stay.

Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, the surroundings were stunning, and our welcome walk with Anil around the tea plantations was a great introduction to Munnar. When we first arrived, Jeeva rang us and asked if we'd like lunch - which was absolutely delicious! Our evening meal and breakfast were also amazing with loads of food and lovely local flavours :)

We also arranged transport with Anil and Jeeva which was easy and meant that we could make the most of our limited time in Munnar. Loved our day trip to the top station and tea museum!

Thanks so much for making this by far our favourite stay in India with the loveliest people. We will be back. Love from Abby and Nick x

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnilJacob, Owner at Royal Mist, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Dear Abby,
Thank you so much for the review.Hope to see you at Royal Mist one day!!
Love & Best wishes
Anil & Jeeva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews