We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly welcome”
Review of Royal Mist

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Mist
Ranked #1 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We arrived at the Royal Mist after a long, hot journey and were met with smiles and long, cool drinks. Anil and Jeeva were the perfect hosts, sharing their knowledge of the countryside with a guided evening walk and going out of their way to help us see more of the local neighbourhood. A wonderful, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaylover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
298
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Anil and Jeeva make this place entirely magical. They are the most charming and helpful hosts with whom we spent two days. The accommodation is simple but very comfortable with hot water and a fan in our room, which was more than sufficient given the February temps. There was a portable AC unit if needed. Their house is set overlooking tea plantations and an abundance of spice plants and trees, although it is not in the plantation. It is set about 10km outside Munnar which is ideal, given the abundance of walking trails, at all levels from beginner to more advanced. Anil took us on a wonderful sunset walk explaining every detail of the local flora and fauna, and was happy to advise us continually on what we could do in the area as he is very knowledgeable. Both Anil and Jeeva are very friendly, and we had wonderful homecooked food throughout. We would highly recommend this place -an exemplary homestay!

Room Tip: Take the front room if you can because nice views, and try to wake up early to hear the birds rise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangoandlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Anil and Jeeva were so welcoming on our arrival at the Royal Mist and they continued to look after us very well for the rest of our two nights stay. The food was good and plentiful, with drinks available whenever we wanted. The bedrooms had everything we could, need including torch and polo mints! The view from the terrace was wonderful, and evening walks led by Anil reinforced the magic of the countryside. Anil went out of his way to drive us to the start of a suitable walk and we enjoyed to chatting to his delightful children.
A surprise email on my birthday two days after leaving added to the feeling they gave of us being special and well looked after.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICTORIA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The rooms are Royal Mist are spotless, comfortable, well-maintained, albeit a little small, with an excellent attached bathroom. Anil and Jeeva are friendly, personable hosts with a warm and genuine manner (including their wait staff). Coffee and tea were made available often throughout the day as well as cut fresh fruit as a mid-afternoon snack. When we left, we were handed a bag with bottled water and fresh fruit to accompany us on our way. Sightseeing trips can be arranged as well as transportation to and from the homestay. The homestay provides a good base for exploration in the area. The personal touch Anil and Jeeva provide make this homestay special.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chaufish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, tx
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Anil and Jeeva and their children really made our stay in their home very welcoming. We came to Munnar as a relaxing retreat away from the hustle and bustle of the major cities in Rajasthan.

Room:
Royal Mist only has three bedrooms. The rooms are simple and cozy with everything you will need.

Location:
The B&B is located away from the hustle and bustle of the main town which made our stay all that much more relaxing.If you want to get to town you will need to take a bus or a tuk tuk. which Anil and Jeeva can help arrange for.

Service:
Anil and Jeeva help arrange a pickup by taxi from Kochi and they can help arrange for all the different things to do in Munnar. I recommend doing the simple evening walk with Anil through the tea plantations during sunset which was wonderful.

Food:
The food was terrific. We asked Anil and Jeeva for almost every meal and each one was terrific. All meals can be made veg or non-veg. Nothing beats a home cooked meal to come home to after a day of walking around. All meals are on the outside patio, which we found makes a great spot/time to talk to other guests.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinoyvlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.2 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
866 reviews
2.4 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
1.1 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
948 reviews
27.3 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
2.3 km away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 181 in Munnar
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mist? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mist

Property: Royal Mist
Address: Chithirapuram P.O., Munnar 685565, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,651 - ₹ 6,330
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10km from Munnar town, down winding hilltop roads with spectacular views, Royal Mist Homestay is owned by Mr. Anil and his family. This particularly close knit family with two children aged 13and 18 are incredibly hospitable, welcoming guests as part of the family, whilst allowing them as much independence as they desire. The separate area of the guests' rooms occupies the top floor of this modern house with an upstairs terrace, which looks out onto the valley and hills extending into the distance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Mist Hotel Munnar
Royal Mist Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing