We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to unwind - Planters style please”
Review of High Range Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
High Range Club
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Chennai, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent place to unwind - Planters style please”
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The location is wonderful very silent with abundant greenry. The golf course should be a delight for the golfer. The club is very close to the town, one could walk towards MSA within 10 minutes.

We had stayed in this place during diwali the food is basic the rooms are cosy. The bar is not functional. The club served us one of the best tea's that we have ever had.

The club has its right of admission - one need to check for room availblity and abide by the club rules - SHOE is a must . To me this was okay

Room Tip: The room in the main building is good. But if someone cannot climb stairs, then they have to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeorgePGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
33
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The location is absolutely wonderful, the golf course in the front and the hills on the side....very very scenic but the service and the food were average and the club and the town are fast asleep by 9:30pm. On one of the nights we returned to the club after dinner around 9:30 pm and the main door was locked and all lights out. we had go to the other side and the watchman(security gaurd) let us in through the back door!!!

The room was spacious and clean but gave the feeling of having gone back in time. We preferred to eat our meals outside after the lunch we had there on the first day. Breakfast we did have in the club but it was nothing special.

On the whole was a good 2 days spent there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prernarula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

The High Range Club used to be a club for the colonial plantation owners in the area – now that all the tea plantations are owned by Mr Tata, they’ve turned it into a hotel. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it to people looking for something a little different. There is a dress code especially re shoes, but my husband was able to get away with black socks and a pair of black Keens sandals. The hotel is close enough to walk into town, plus there are lots of lovely walks around the area – up behind the hotel the women were out picking tea leaves in the early morning and were quite happy to have their photos taken. In the other direction I wandered through a very friendly village where I was invited into a home to taste the local BOP tea (Broken Orange Pekoe). We stayed in one of the little cabins (unrenovated) at the High Range Club and, while it wasn’t fancy, we were comfortable enough and you can’t beat the price or the atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank covecutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltaire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Strange place. Well priced, stunning setting, quirky rooms - especially the bar which is fresh out of a scene from The Shining. Management very rude and incompetent. Bring closed toed shoes if you are male - I kid you not! Sandals and 'chapals' are banned from the main building and was forced to eat off the property. Wasn't such a penalty as really didn't want to reward the rude behaviour of the manager.

This place has amazing potential. With professional and modern management it would be a delight. Sadly, currently this isn't happening.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

As you may deduce from other traveller reviews, the High Range Club is not your typical hotel. Founded in 1909, the club has a certain charm that will take you back to the days of the first English tea planters to come to this region. Located on the Tata Tea Plantation at around 2800' in the mountains near Munnar, the club is a blast from the past. Early morning walks in the area offer spectacular scenery... manicured tea plants, mist rising off the river and high grass covered peaks in the distance. Do try and fit in a game of golf on the 9 hole course. Clubs are available for rent and members only use the course on Sundays so the rest of the week you will have it all to yourselves. The course is a bit rough but what a great time! Hire local caddies (RPS 120 per day... that's apx. $2.40) We did and our caddies Jeva and Ganesh were well looked after. Each member of our foursome gave them RPS 500, so they walked away with RPS 2000 each. Their smiles were worth the money! Also, you can buy a nice 100th anniversary cap for a souvenir. Do stick your head in the mens club room and check out the wall decor. Just one piece of advice. If you are in there at night, don't even think about "The Shining", especially if there is a strange man behind the bar!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.5 km away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#37 of 97 in Munnar
479 reviews
3.0 km away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
699 reviews
22.2 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#12 of 97 in Munnar
781 reviews
5.4 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
883 reviews
1.0 km away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#57 of 97 in Munnar
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Range Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Range Club

Property: High Range Club
Address: High Range Club, Munnar, Munnar 685612, India
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,479 - ₹ 4,059
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
High Range Club Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing