We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Goan heritage.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Goan heritage.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

For those who like heritage properties, this is a good place to stay in Panjim.

Rooms: Tiny rooms of an old house opening into a living room with typical old world furniture. Rooms are clean and equipped with a four poster bed (wife loves!), AC (a must in Goa during summers), simple water heating kettle and DIY coffee/tea/creamer and a small refrigerator. Beds were comfortable. Small TV hoisted on a wall for those who want to waste a Goa holiday on watching TV. The place has a new wing as well, which both my wife & I didn't take to. While the rooms were nice as rooms go, they were not 'old heritage' which is the positioning of the place.

Property & locale: The property is an old house built in the old goan style. The decor and furniture are old world, but well maintained. Situated in the Fontainhas, a part of old Panjim - this place has loads of character. Narrow streets lined with small Goan houses, it's nice to walk around. Good places to dine in the vicinity are Viva Panjim and Vinete's which are a 2 min walk away. In house dining is nice as well and the breakfast included in the room charge is hearty.

Service: the staff is attentive and very friendly.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kamaths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiriamKS, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback . Our Welcomheritage Panjim Inn has been renovated with a view to maintaining its old world Goan charm and Heritage character.We believe that our Goan heritage hotel gives the charming vibe of the Latin quarter of Fontainhas at Panjim,Goa and the antique Goan furniture makes for an romantic old world ambience of a Gentile Goa of yesteryears. Being a Heritage Building with thick Laterite walls the rooms at the old wing can appear to be on the smaller side .However all rooms are furnished with antique Colonial furniture,contemporary art, and with most of the modern amenities of todays hotels. We are indeed happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your Goan Holiday and hope to have you visit us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    214
    51
    10
    4
See reviews for
72
194
57
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

I stayed in the Panjim Inn for 6 days and had a lovely experience. The staff were amazing and went out of their way to make me feel at home e.g. remembering what kind of food I liked and making sure to include something authentically Goan as an option for me at all times and suggesting places that I could visit. The rooms in the original inn, I felt, were quite small. But the new wing that has just been completed is very nice - the room was clean and comfortable. The surrounding area was also quite safe especially for a single woman traveller. The only negative was the cost of the internet connection (Rs. 30/half hour) which I felt was quite high.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNoronha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiriamKS, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for your review.We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your Goan holiday, stay at our Goan Heritage hotel as well as the Latin quarter of Fontainhas at Panjim,Goa .We look forward to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saint-barnabé-sud
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We share totally the comments of carval 05, sampion and rosie m about the Panjim Inn where we have been staying for a whole week. What we could add is that the fish is always fresh et delicious. We felt at home during all our stay at this marvellous place. For sure, we recommand the Panjim Inn to everybody who wants to experience such heritage hotel.
We also want to mention that the hotel is a art gallery that reflects a lively artistic milieu.

Carol and Alain

Room Tip: It's very pleasant having a room in the poussada. It's nice and still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We appreciated the old world charm of the heritage style accommodation. It is located in a quiet area and is maintained very well. From the time we arrived we were made feel at home and we were given a room upgrade which was a nice surprise. The hotel and its rooms were all clean and comfortable. The food was very tasty and fresh and both the dining room and balcony provide pleasant surroundings in which to enjoy it. All the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. They made an effort to get to know us and provided a personal touch to our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carval05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiriamKS, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are indeed happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Heritage hotel and the old world charm of the hotel and Panjim in general. We try to provide an “authentic Goan Experience” with a friendly informal atmosphere and are glad that you enjoyed it.Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Out of all accommodation in Panjim, this is definitely the place to stay if you would like to experience the true, old charm of colonial Goa. We stayed in the Pousada, the rooms were spacious and well presented. Bed linen clean and crispy white. AC working, TV as well. Breakfast was good as well. You have different selection every day - mostly continental but also Goan food. Staff was keen to help although not all could speak English but this was not a problem. The location was just perfect, short walk to the church and the busy central part of the city and the river casinos.
I would recommend this hotel for any European traveller as you have the feeling like you are staying somewhere in Portugal or Spain but in a unique Goan way.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
0.1 km away
Afonso Guest House
Afonso Guest House
#2 of 48 in Panjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
2.6 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Mystique Heights, Panjim
0.4 km away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#10 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 km away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#12 of 48 in Panjim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Property: WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Address: E - 212 31'st January Road, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
#4 Family Hotel in Panjim
#4 Business Hotel in Panjim
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,250 - ₹ 14,523
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa's first Heritage hotel in a 130 year old family home owned and managed by the same family for over 5 generations.Located In Asia's only Latin quarter of Fontainhas with its windling alleys and quain byelanes.Each room is full of character with period furniture including four poster beds,carved almirahs and contemporary art.To experience the charm and nostalgia of a era long gone in a gracious Heritage mansion, come stay with us at the Panjim Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelGuru, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panjim Hotel Panaji
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing