We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very very charming !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Panjim
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very very charming !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at this lovely quaint hotel in the monsoon season and thus got a great price. The moment we entered we were struck by the lovely decor of this place. Loved the antique furniture and the portuguese style of the whole building. They gave us a free upgrade to a more expensive room which was a bonus, Do ask for it in the low season.The rooms were extremely charming and yes old with lovely huge wooden doors and windows .Room was beautifully decorated. This place just exuded charm and beauty.

Coming to the food. Although complementary breakfast was fine ,do not have lunch or dinner here.. its expensive and not great at all.

Dont forget to have a look at their sister concern hotel based on a ancestral hindu home. its equally lovely. The owner is a very friendly guy too !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lov4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

501 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    226
    55
    11
    6
See reviews for
74
208
61
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
180 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked 3 nights at the Panjim Inn in Nov 2011 online, based on reviews, LP and the hotel website which promised a beautifully restored Inn. The owner contacted me after we booked and asked if I wanted airport pick-up, which we agreed to. When we arrived at Goa airport, nobody was there to meet us as promised. We asked some of the other drivers who were waiting.... and three of them told us Panjim never show up! Mmmmm. Not a good start.

Caught a local cab to the Inn. The entrance is around back and we were shown into a rather grubby basement office. No grand entrance here and definitely missing the Wow factor that I have had at other restored Inns I have stayed at. They didn't mention anything about their failure to pick us up, so not being the complaining types we just let that slide.

Our upstairs room was very basic and un-restored. Closet was full of mothballs so unusable. The bathroom was disgusting. Dirty old fixtures, dirty old toilet seat and a hot water tank bolted to the wall in the shower that looked decidedly dangerous. My wife took a shower and walked across the tiled bedroom floor in bare feet and they were black immediately. The floor was filthy! At this point we decided to cancel our 3 night stay and leave first thing in the morning.

That night we discovered the air-con didn't work well, so we put on the fan, but it had worn-out bearings and sounded like a train pulling out of the station. Chuff, chuff, chuff... all night long!
Cheap old foam matress on the bed and worn out sheets.

The breakfast room had a couple of other travellers with miserable faces. One look at the breakfast buffet and I could see why. Very basic and of the lowest quality. The worst breakfast we had on our whole 5 week trip around Southern India.

Next surprise was when we checked out the clerk says... you already paid for 3 nights .. no refund! After some heated complaining he agreed to speak to the owner about it later on when he came in. Maybe, just maybe, he will agree to a 15% charge but only if he can rent the room. We left in disgust.

Later on we got an email from the owner who said he would charge us 15% for the extra nights, and to his credit, when I complained about how disappointed we were with the place,and that I had never been treated like this by any of the hundreds of hotels in 48 countries I have stayed in,... he emailed back and fully refunded our payment including the first night!

Travelers should be aware this place is really poor value for money, It's maybe worth $30 a night at max. Lonely Planet is a joke, they actually recommend you ASK for the un-restored rooms. I guess if you like worn out dirty rooms with original dirty old bathrooms you will be happy? What are they thinking?

The best place to stay in Panjim is the Fidalgo which is right downtown. Same price as Panjim but they give you free airport pick-up and delivery. Rooms are good and they have about 8 restaurants and a nice coffee shop. The clerk knocked 15% off the price when we checked in too. Nice surprise after what we had been through at Panjim.

Room Tip: My tip is find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carpediem77, General Manager at WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give such a detailed feedback twice, the first time via an email to us on the 20th Nov. and presently on 29th January via Trip Advisor. At the outset I would like to say that we are a client oriented establishment and our business comes from happy guests.

With due respect to the reviewer we reiterate that the Panjim Inn is the first of our 3 painstakingly restored Century old Heritage Homes which offers an authentic Goan Experience. We are part of the WelcomHeritage Group which offers 40 exclusive Heritage Hotels in India ranging from Palaces to Traditional Havelis, magnificent Forts and Old Mansions, restored and converted into Heritage Hotels. As part of this group we maintain the quality standards stipulated by them.

Though we are not a Grand Fort or a Luxury palace all our rooms and public areas are tastefully furnished with Antique Furniture and Contemporary Indian Art and have an aura of Old World Goan hospitality. The above will be confirmed by various independent authorities including the Independent and the Guardian of the UK have rated us amongst the 50 best budget hostelries in the world.

We are a small family run hotel having had the Panjim Inn in the family for well over a hundred years first as a family home and presently as a heritage hostelry. For us, our guests are valued extended family whose comfort and well being are important to us and to whom we believe in providing value for money. We look forward to receiving visitors looking for an authentic Goan Heritage experience in a comfortable setting with modern amenities including airconditioning, tea-coffee makers and fridges in the rooms and do not have all the facilities of a large modern hotel of which there are several in town in the newly developed precincts.

We are in the oldest part of the city in Asia's only Latin Quarter of Fontainhas and space is a constraint unlike in newly developed areas.Consequent to our advent as a hostelry 30years ago we are proud to have breathed new life to an old and decaying locality consequent to which almost 200 people are gainfully occupied as a consequence of our efforts at sustainable conservation.

In keeping with our organization ethics of providing value for money and because of the discontent expressed by the guest we refunded full payment back to the guest inclusive of the night he stayed with us and the processing charges charged by the payment gateway even though our cancellation policy clearly states otherwise .

As already conveyed directly to the guest a couple of months back we regret missing the pick-up ( this certainly is not a regular feature) and would like to put on record that the only reason why the front office did not apologize for the same is that they were unaware of it at the time.( Our Fault! )

The room allocated to the guest has a Daikin split and the fan as far as we know is working fine. My colleagues at the front office tell me that they were not informed of issues with the airconditioner/ fan either during the stay or on checkout. The rooms are cleaned but being a street facing room some dust may have entered the room if the windows were kept open.
The old wing has been refurbished around 5 years back and the toilet concerned has a new wash basin with a new Granite counter put in around a year back. The tiling is an intricate china mosaic appreciated by most guests. In the old wing all the rooms have a hot water geyser. Yes, the toilet seat was slightly worn and has since been replaced. The room in question has original art work and antique furniture.

In his e-mail to us the guest mentioned the dining room had people with miserable faces and has attributed it to the quality of the breakfast. At the time of the guest’s stay the majority of our guests were highly educated clinical psychologists, Indian as well as from other parts of the world, who were taking part in a workshop conducted by a UNESCO accredited NGO managed by a well known Goa based Rhodes Scholar. This NGO has booked us for their training programmes for the upcoming year and have told us that the reasons for the same has been the authentic personalised Goan Ambience coupled with the art and furnishings and the quality of food .

Given the tariff we charge we do believe that our breakfast is quite sumptuous as has been confirmed by very many of our overseas guests some of whom have told us that it is the best they have experienced in the country. Breakfast comprises of Tea/coffee, 2 fresh juices, fresh cut fruit, eggs to order, toast, and 2-3 Indian dishes as well as 2-3 continental items. While not as lavish a spread as a luxury five star hotel, it is certainly hearty and wholesome. Furthermore should guests like something different we encourage them to let our staff know about it and we try and meet their requirements.

In conclusion we would like to once again thank the guest for the zeal and trouble taken by him in pointing out our faults and shall try our best to remedy our defects.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CALCUTTA, INDIA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel is in a heritage building full of colonial charm. It is in the old Portuguese area of the Panaji. Really beautiful settings. Rooms are full of colonial furniture. Overall very romantic. We stayed during our Goa trip for honeymoon.

Room Tip: Some rooms are better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SUBIRGHOSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Enjoyed staying in this heritage hotel located in a good area for exploring Fontainhas with its galleries and interesting architecture. There is Art in the hotel and in the gallery opposite and a visit to the Centre for Goan Art in Altinhas is well worthwhile.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoaVicarji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

Good hotel to stay in Panaji. Rooms could be better but considering you are staying in an old posada are clean and comfortable. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank albertxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Panjim hotels
1.2 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
2.6 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
0.1 km away
Afonso Guest House
Afonso Guest House
#2 of 48 in Panjim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Mystique Heights, Panjim
0.4 km away
The Crown Goa
The Crown Goa
#8 of 48 in Panjim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 km away
Ginger Goa
Ginger Goa
#11 of 48 in Panjim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn

Property: WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn
Address: E - 212 31'st January Road, Panjim 403001, India
Region: India > Goa > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Panjim
#4 Business Hotel in Panjim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Panjim
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,697 - ₹ 17,244
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa's first Heritage hotel in a 130 year old family home owned and managed by the same family for over 5 generations.Located In Asia's only Latin quarter of Fontainhas with its windling alleys and quain byelanes.Each room is full of character with period furniture including four poster beds,carved almirahs and contemporary art.To experience the charm and nostalgia of a era long gone in a gracious Heritage mansion, come stay with us at the Panjim Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panjim Hotel Panaji
WelcomHeritage Panjim Inn Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing