We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TaraKapur
Mumbai, India

A bed and breakfast in a 200 year old heritage property well located in buzzy Fontainhas

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 22 Apr 2023via mobile
Stayed there recently when we did a girls trip to Goa! We chose to stay in Fontainhas and discovered this heritage B&B and spent 3 nights here.

Rooms are spacious. We stayed on the 1st floor

Well appointed AC rooms and spacious bathroom with all mod cons. TV, tea coffee maker and fridge in room.

Breakfast is included in the room rate. It was satisfactory. No complaints. The dining room opens onto the garden so Al fresco breakfast is possible.

No other food or drink service is available

Fortunately, it’s very well located in Fontainhas and has Restuarants and cafés all within short walking distance.

The negatives were:

On finding the breakfast coffee had cooled down on the last day, we requested it to be heated, the owner, Roy said it’s past our breakfast time ending 10 am. Not possible.

The tea coffee fridge unit in the room had sharp handles which tore my t shirt. Roy was not bothered much.

Note: There’s no elevator so take a room on the ground floor if you can’t climb stairs. Otherwise, rooms upstairs would be preferable

The best part of choosing this B&B is the location, the spacious rooms in a beautiful heritage property and it’s value for money.
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₹15,635
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Marriott Hotels
  • Expedia.com
    ₹15,635
  • Booking.com
    ₹15,635
2.6 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
₹20,059
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₹20,059
  • Expedia.com
    ₹20,059
  • Priceline
    ₹20,059
4.9 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
₹9,440
₹8,064
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₹8,064
  • Expedia.com
    ₹9,440
  • Priceline
    ₹9,440
0.2 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
₹4,133
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₹3,932
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₹3,490
  • StayForLong
0.4 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
₹8,400
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹8,000
  • Agoda.com
    ₹5,808
  • Hotels.com
    ₹7,200
5.8 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
₹6,188
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    ₹4,892
  • Priceline
    ₹5,271
  • StayForLong
5.9 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free parking
Beachfront
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₹4,368
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₹2,083
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free parking
Restaurant
StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    ₹1,779
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.2 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹18,879
  • Trip.com
    ₹18,584
  • Booking.com
    ₹18,879
4.9 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹12,980
  • MakeMyTrip
    ₹11,800
  • Booking.com
    ₹12,980
3.8 km from Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Panjim
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
267
32
4
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
267
32
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house premium room heritage building charming hotel small balcony latin quarters each morning thoroughly enjoyed our stay the ground floor spacious rooms memorable stay his team roy india goan spread
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2023

My wife, I, and 2 of our friends had a very memorable stay at the Hospedaria Abrigo de Botelho mid-December 2022.

* Property: is a well-maintained beautiful heritage building with Goan-Portuguese architecture, with tastefully curated & decorated interiors. Loved the wooden staircase, the decorated ceiling, rustic lamps, vintage furniture, double-height ceilings, large doors & windows, thick walls, and beautifully tiled floors.

* Rooms: we were accommodated in 1 premium room and 1 executive room on the upper floor. Both rooms were fresh, clean and spacious. The premium room was even larger. Both rooms had beautiful furniture and fixtures, as well as modern creature comforts. The executive room had a small balcony. Bathrooms were clean, loved the bathroom-vanities, loved the brown-marbled floors in the bathroom.

* Location: Nestled within the beautifully picturesque Fountainhas / Latin Quarters on a peaceful and quiet inner lane. Very short walking distance from the famous local bakeries and eateries.

* Host, service and breakfast: A wonderful and smooth experience right from enquiry till check-out. Roy, the proprietor and our host, was an absolute pleasure to converse with! Roy and our group got to know each other a bit more over breakfast, and conversed about various topics while we enjoyed a wide variety of Indian and Continental food and beverages from the fresh, delicious and plentiful breakfast spread at the in-house cafeteria. I got to try the delicious Goan Banana buns (sweet puris) that had eluded me for all my previous meals at Panjim, and loved the fresh Goan Poee (bread) too. The service team too was very attentive and helpful – spotted us and approached to help find a car parking spot when we arrived, helped carrying our luggage up and down between the rooms and the car, as well as during breakfast service.

* Parking: is available alongside the foot-paths right outside the hotel building. We always found parking quickly for our car even in the peak December season.

Though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, but I feel like we didn’t do justice by staying there just one night – will surely love to visit again if Roy’s able to accommodate us!

Room tip: Book early!
Date of stay: December 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank new_gypsies_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2022

We had a lovely 3 night stay here. Roy and his team were very friendly and helpful but the big appeal was the lovely old heritage building. Our room was huge with a wraparound balcony and near some lovely food and drink spots. The included breakfast had a good range of options.

Date of stay: November 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank efay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2022

This heritage property is right in the middle of Fontainhas. Everything about the place is just perfect! I fell in love with the washbasin in my room :).

Roy and Sharon are great hosts. They make you feel at home. While checking in, Roy patiently explained the history of the area, the meaning of the name and marked down the nearby must visit cafes and places in a map. That was such a nice gesture.

Date of stay: March 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaliniBalachandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2021

The place is nice, cozy, with old Portuguese charm. The room was airy, lighted and with a high ceiling. Highly maintained cleanliness and hygiene. But the best was the support of the owner - Roy. He is very knowledgeable and resourceful. He has an answer to all your queries and explains in detail. Roy guided us for sightseeing with the map and even gave a full itinerary on Google maps. Our trip wouldn't have been so fulfilling without his assistance and suggestions. He and his wife Sheren are sweet, smiling and helpful. Would love to visit again. Felt like home away from home.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aaratsarjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 March 2020

We loved this charming hotel. Our room was big, the bathroom charming and functional. The owners, Sharon and Roy, gave us good tips for trips and restaurants. We had breakfast in the garden. Breakfast includes eggs any style, some Indian options, fruit, coffee/tea. Panaji is a great town with wonderful festivals. This year we visited carnaval, in 2018 the Serendipity Arts Festival. We might come back again.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews