We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely poor standards in hoteliering”
Review of The Crown Goa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Goa
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Panjim
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I am very hard man to please especially when it comes to hotel services, usually I always end up finding something to complain about. In case of Crown, Goa, where I stayed for a relatively short trip, I really didnot have to stretch.

Dirty hotel with lost of fleas on the bedside tables and on the bed itself. I was bitten by one when I slept. Food at their in house restaurant Harbor Cafe takes eons to be served, even if it is just a soup. Taste is generally good though. Bellboys and room service staff are not very conversant in English. The receptionists are in a world of their own.

Apart from the location, which is very close to the Riverside promenade and good views from the rooms, there is hardly anything that is worth staying here for.

Room Tip: Try to learn a few generic Hindi phrases, it will help you get better service from the room service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WorldOfTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2011

Previously called the Sun N Sand, this hotel claims to be a 5 star hotel, though it is at best a glorified 4 star one. The rooms are cramped, though well decorated. Cleanliness is not top notch, there were 2 dead cockroaches and 1 dead spider in the room we were allocated. There was live insect too (I could not identify it as I am not an Entomologist). The room had a dank smell too.

Rates are way to high for what it provides. Room service is at best tardy. It took us 20 minutes to check in and 15 minutes to check out, inspite of this being a fully pre paid trip.

On the good side, it has excellent view of Mandovi river from its river facing rooms, excellent food not just in taste but also in the variety it offers. The swimming pool, while not Olympic sized is very decent for its purpose. It has a good spa. Internet speed was decent (it was not broadband speed though). There's WiFi in the lobby and LAN connectivity in the rooms. Location of this hotel is excellent too, almost bang in the middle of the Panaji City market.

Overall this hotel will suit a business trip more than a leisure one.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Askalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This hotel is situated in the heart of Panjim city and provides an excellent view of the river Mandovi.

The rooms are spacious and bathrooms are good as well. It however needs some renovation which I have been told is happening..

However, the management needs to look into improving the services a little bit. Food in the restaurant was good though it took a little longer than the usual time taken.

Overall it was a good experience.

Good for business travellers, family and couples..

Room Tip: Higher Floor, Sea Facing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Happened to stay here on yet another business visits but just a step into the hotel, and I wanted to holiday!
It has some nostalgic feel to it. Rooms are quite spacious and well decorated. The view was awesome from windows. Though the night view scared me a bit, but as a couple, it would have been romantic, i guess!

Just 1 thing, found the bathroom fittings little old! The WC creaked everything a little weight was put on it!

Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
Thank panvisoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

This was our 2nd resort in Goa after staying in a 5 star property in South Goa. The location of this hotel really forced us to stay in this hotel. The access to the hotel by road is bit difficult and you would get lost if new in Goa. But once you are there in the room or even at the pool side you get to see the Mandovi river just in front of you. The casinos in the river really look excellent at night. The food was not that great but still we enjoyed the food in their coffee shop, a bit too small but the decor is excellent.

The pool is on the last floor and it really gives you a very good view of the Panajim city. Staff are always eager to help you out for any need that you have. The rooms are really spacious as compared to other hotels in this category.

We would really think of coming to this place once again, if we visit Goa.

Warm Regards.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay-Mehta-1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Panjim
2.7 km away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Panaji
38.1 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,372 reviews
5.1 km away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
643 reviews
11.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Goa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Goa

Address: Bairo Alto Dos Pilotos | Goa, Panjim 403001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Panjim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Panjim
#5 Family Hotel in Panjim
#5 Business Hotel in Panjim
#5 Luxury Hotel in Panjim
Price Range: ₹ 6,868 - ₹ 24,529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crown Goa 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5* Boutique Hotel with 43 Rooms & Suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ClearTrip, HotelQuickly, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your The Crown Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Goa Hotel Panaji
The Crown Goa Panjim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing