We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
The Island of Chorao
179

Book in advance
from
$25.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Dr. Salim Ali Bird Sanctuary
from $25.00
More Info
from $20.22
More Info
Reviews (153)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveller rating
59
53
30
3
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
59
53
30
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat ride mangrove trees nice boat trip boat man egrets kingfisher birdman adjutant waders govt boatman
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 153 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2015

Nice Location to travel in a ferry to reach the location.
Although it needs little improvement in maintaining the inner most areas ,its a nice place for nature lovers

Date of experience: February 2015
4  Thank Phani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 February 2015

I visited The Sanctuary on 21st January. It is very nice place for nature lovers and photographers. It consists of varieties of mangroves, bird species especially migratory birds. Entry fees is 20rs and the walking stretch is of something 1km pathway.

Best time to visit is during winter and early morning hour. If you visit early morning hour(before 8am) you will get to see some rare sights. Don't hesitate to take private boat which will cost somewhere near 900rs if you reach during early hours, It will be worth it.

But please do take care, in the pathway there are too many mosquitoes.. :P

Date of experience: January 2015
17  Thank Om_Sao
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 February 2015

We arrived late in the day and stayed to watch huge numbers of white egrets flock to the mangrove trees. Quite a sight.

Date of experience: February 2015
3  Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Located on an island , very near to Panjim and easy access by ferry , and which is also a unique experience . The sanctuary is named after India's great Ornithologist Dr Salim Ali and boasting flora and fauna typical of marshland and mangroves . Inside the park , a trail for visitors is made and a government boat is also there but the only thing is that if u really want to watch birds u must adhere to the time which is very early in the morning ,otherwise all effort goes to waste . We tried to go early but still we were just in time as we had kids along with us but the good thing was that enthusiastic kids spotted many different birds including Brahminy kite , herons ,Eagles and many types of kingfishers. While walking , we showed kids different aspects of mangrove vegetation . It even has watchtowers but crabs were easily seen on ground and you might even spot mudskippers as we did . Though, we missed the park boat , still we enjoyed the nature trail.

Date of experience: November 2014
4  Thank SjAwadh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 January 2015

We visited the bird sanctuary in the month of May, we could start the boat ride only by 9am but still it was a very enjoyable experience. Uday took us around for more than an hour and once he realised we were genuinely interested in bird watching, he took special efforts to ensure we saw as many birds as possible. His knowledge about the habits and history of birds in that sanctuary, of the flora and fauna of that area further enriched our trip.
The peaceful boat ride was an enjoyment by itself.
This was my 7th trip to Goa but only my first visit to the bird sanctuary. I hope this place gets more popularity and attracts more tourists which will (hopefully) help in their conservation efforts.

Date of experience: May 2014
5  Thank Ghuremori
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews